Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, A Gem

Posted Jul 23, 2016
My wife & I love the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. This was our 7th year in a row & we can't wait to go back. It is conveniently situated in Kapaa & sits on lovely beachfront property. We always get a suite & love the opportunity to do our own cooking. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very nice hotel on the water and centrally located

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Very large room that was very clean. Hotel was right on the water's edge and centrally located.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kauai Coast Resort. The room was reasonably priced for Kauai at this time of the year and had a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, large bedroom, and large bathroom. The room was very clean when we arrived. The hotel is just outside of Kapaa town and centrally located on the island and 15 minutes from the Lihue Airport. This made it much very easy for us to drive to each side of the island and to get to and from the airport. They do have a nice bar and restaurant but we chose eat out in town. We were surprised by two aspects of our stay. During our check-in, we were directed to see a person away from the front desk to get some additional information. The person was very pleasant and gave us the information we needed. She then offered us discounts to several activities and began a fairly high pressure pitch to have us attend a presentation. It turns out that this is a time share facility and our room had been rented out by an owner. She was trying to get us to attend a marketing presentation. . We declined and it was not a problem but it did catch us off-guard. The other surprise was that there was no room service like in a normal hotel. New towels were available on request so this did not present any problems for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Great honeymoon

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Excellent from top to bottom. Centrally located, terrific staff, wonderful rooms! A+
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HI

Nice hotel close to beech

Posted May 31, 2016
Beautiful sea shore, but too short. Room is big but AC is weak. Not well cleaned when checked in. Only one bag of coffee for multiple days' stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Old, tired room.

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The staff and housekeeping staff were pleasant and very cooperative. And, the hotel grounds and pool area were very pretty.
Cons: See above.
Location: The location is very central to Lihue, Wailua and Kapaa. You needn't go far for dining or shopping either one.
We were under the impression we were staying in a condo - with a kitchen and bedroom. We were given a regular "hotel room" without a kitchen - only a small fridge and microwave. The room has not been updated or maintained well since probably the 80's. The carpet was old and very stained. The light bulb in one of the lamps was loose from the socket with exposed wires. We could have gotten electrocuted. The lighting was limited and very poor. The bathroom had a dull fluorescent (not CFL) light over the sink - barely enough light to see yourself. We got pressure from the concierge to buy a timeshare unit, but we would never consider one at this facility if all the units were like ours.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland, or

Loved it!

Posted May 2, 2016
We love staying in Kauai to enjoy the quietness and this hotel was perfect for our little vacation. Way bigger than what you'd pay at other places, based on our experience, and comfortable and big. Free parking plus all the utilities you need, couldn't have asked for more!
4 out of 5
by Norman from Seattle

Kauai trip

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was great. We have stayed here before. This time we had a room on the pool side. No problems. The hotel is a timeshare site, they only asked once if we were interested in going to a presentation.
5 out of 5
by Jim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
En recepción nos atendieron estupendamente pero de ahí te envían al mostrador de actividades para que te faciliten la clave de la Wifi. El hecho de que llevásemos todo organizado por nuestra cuenta no le hizo mucha gracia al personal ya que no pudieron vendernos nada. No obstante ninguna queja pero sí que es cierto que el resort necesita una reforma y las zonas comunes como escaleras a las habitaciones estaban siempre sucias.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Staycation

Posted Apr 20, 2016
It was a staycation for us and enjoyable to get away to a place we're from. Clean, accessible, and great amenities!