Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB. Canada

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 7, 2016
This hotel was clean, close to the beach, and well appointed. Finding it at night is a little tricky as street signs are hard to see. From airport, turn right at far end of Coconut Market and hotel lobby is to your left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Timeshare, timeshare, timeshare

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Nice hotel, convenient location, and the staff was very pleasant. However, the overeager timeshare nonsense will keep us from ever going back. Upon check-in, they will send you to the "concierge"/timeshare sales rep before you can even get a WiFi code or parking pass for the usual "for just a quick 90 min of your time, we can get you a free helicopter ride / gift certificate to the restaurant." DO NOT BE POLITE!!!! If you do not give them a firm no, they will harass you throughout the entire stay with incessant phone messages, notes on your door, and even lovely "prescreened" loan offers in the mail two days after you arrive home, asking for your SSN if you want to opt-out. Shell Vacations Club ought to be ashamed. My recommendation, after a decade of visiting Kauai (Kapaa specifically): stay at the Islander on the Beach or Courtyard Marriott next door...both wonderful hotels sans the timeshare-sales nonsense, but make sure to book a reservation at Hukilau Lanai (the restaurant at the Beachboy). It's truly a fantastic restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Ocean view units

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Stayed in units on 4th and 2nd floors. Both were very clean and well equipped. The views were spectacular, especially on the 4th floor. Short drive to conveniences. Definitely would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The OG Coconut Beachboy Hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The central location of the island go go to the west or to the north from this location which is exactly in the middle..
The bartenders at the Beachboy pool bar are very personable and actually comedic and make your stay just very refreshing...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec Canada

Bien situé au centre de l'île

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Près des services,supermarché,restaurants et de la mer. Nous n'avons pas profité de la plage de l'hôtel,mer trop agitée avec des rochers. Les chambres sont belles et équipées pour se restaurer mais pas " insonorisées". À notre arrivée ,à la réception,il y a de la sollicitation de participer à une présentation de " Time sharing " afin d'obtenir des tours à prix réduits.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Our room had great amenities, everything we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura, Ca

Great location on the Beach

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Rooms are spacious and the resort has a fabulous restaurant for dinner !
Cons: The bathrooms could use a remodel.
Location: Walking distance to almost everything - Must check out Lava Lava restaurant on the beach !
Great location in Kapaa on the beach close to restaurants, stores, and friendly staff !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Home Away from Home

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The people, the room, and the beach view.
Cons: Wish the pool was deeper, it was only 5 foot deep.
Location: Perfect location and very centrally located for all the activities and excursions we booked.
This hotel was perfect for my husband and I to share our honeymoon! Very comfortable and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It doesn't get better than this.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The feeling like the room had been put together by a perfectionist AND it honestly felt like we were it's first occupants. That good.
Cons: There were a few free Hawaiian shows that we didn't know about. I would have liked a heads up. My fault for not checking. Yes, picky.
Location: Great central location. In two days we leisurely did the Waimea Canyon, Kauai Coffee com, Fern Grotto-wish we had one more day to do the north shore.
I travel with my job. I frequently stay in 4/5 star hotels - and better. This is as close to that rating as you can get. This condo was obviously extremely well taken care of by someone who CARES. It was like moving into a perfectly designed living space and we were the first ones to enjoy it. I don't know about any of the other condos but the one we had was absolutely perfect. Four days, three nights and if I could have stayed longer I would gladly have done so. Two of the best eating places (fancy) within walking distance (one in the hotel itself). Staff was totally courteous and well informed. Very centrally located. Everything is close by and you can pack a LOT in one road trip without overdoing it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ray mi

Not much to say. Kinda boring.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Central location
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Lots of things and tours nearby
Ocean view was not really a view. No elevator and after 12 hrs of travel was not a happy camper. Pool and hot tub close at 10. Ac leaked in our room so we had a bucket to catch the water. Dishes were not clean when we arrived. Was not excited to stay here.