Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Touch of earlier times on Kauai

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Hidden away not far from the cruise ship dock in Nawilili Harbor. First hotel on Kauai. John Wayne used to stay there. Relaxing and modest amenities. All we could ask for. Very convenient home base for tourism in both directions around the island. Seven minutes from the airport. Not on the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Beautiful, jungle feel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Had a great experience here, mountains in the distance, quiet, the free "breakfast" was fruit and toast... But better than nothing. They had free beach chairs and boogie boards for us to use which was nice!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poland

Optimum stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast. Easy parking.
Location: Location not suitable to go to the beach by food but good for escape in all others directions.
Good location for short stay within budget traveler expenses. Nice breakfast with fruits. Possible cafe and water all day. Nice views and well kept infrastructure. Good green area for relaxing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zürich

perfekt

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Tolle Lage, sehr freundliches Personal und Concierge (Bud), bequemes, grosses Bett, sehr sauberes Zimmer, typisch Hawaiianische Ausstattung und Einrichtung. Sehr zu empfehlen! Besonders weil es in Familienbesitz ist, familiär geführt wird und mir <50 Zimmern eine überschaubare Grösse hat. Ich hab mich sehr willkommen gefühlt!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Das "Motel" hat mit B&B nichts zu tun.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Die Außenanlage war sehr hübsch und gepflegt. Der junge Mann an der Rezeption war sehr nett und Hilfsbereit Schöner Ausblick auf die Berge.
Cons: Alles etwas schmuddelig. Kein Zimmerservice. Frische Handtücher haben wir uns selbst geholt. Das Mobilar vom Flohmarkt zusammengetragen. Ganz schlechtes Continentales Frühstück. Kein Käse oder ähnliches. Keine Cornflakes oder ähnliches.
Location: Außerhalb von Lihue am Hafen. Schwer zu finden. Unternehmen kann man in der Nähe nichts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Weekend Trip

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Close to the Nawiliwili Harbor where the Cruise Ships dock. Very nice walkable Shopping/Restaurant Plaza & The Menehune Fish Pond are closeby too.
Kauai Inn is an older 2 story type Hotel very quiet with a small pool, not a luxurious type hotel. We had a Queen Room upstairs with 2 Queen Beds; big room with A/C & comfortable with a view of the Nawiliwili Harbor. The rooms include a Continental style Breakfast every morning and a help-yourself soft drinks & coffee all day long and lots of free parking in their lot. There is no elevator, a little challenging for older people who cannot walk up the stairs.. A very nice Handicap room with roll in shower located downstairs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel close to Lihue Airport.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Great value. Older hotel next to pier. However, it was in a quiet neighborhood, was very clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darwin

Best staff in a hotel ever!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Staff could not be more helpful, handy location with a homey feel. Would definitely stay again if we returned to Kauai
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Hotel was beautiful. Friendly staff, beautiful views and very clean rooms
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Quaint little motel like inn.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Away from the crowd
Cons: Windows in bathroom
Location: Close to restaurants and stores.
I liked it. Felt like old school Hawaii. I stayed alone and felt a little insecure because of the windows. It was quiet and had a small town feel. Close to food and stores.