Ratings based on 912 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Beautiful. Very relaxing The staff was helpful and very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Close to nice beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Pool, hot tub, beach
Cons: Rooms are tiny, fridge is useless unless storing a few cans of beer, carpets are stained and dated, hair dryer and clothes iron are terrible quality.
Location: Excellent beach and ocean for beginner surfers, body boarding, etc. Great restaurants on resort and within walking distance.
Hotel is located along an excellent beach. Pool and courtyard are beautiful, but hotel and rooms look very dated even with the recent renovations. Roof was undergoing repairs which was a surprise to us, and disappointing due to the early morning noise. Our standard "none view" room was tiny and literally had a view of the lower rooftop and was located right next to the mechanical room which was very disappointing, so even though they were cheaper than the other rooms with views I don't recommend booking these rooms. Also being that it was our honeymoon, we figured that they would be willing to upgrade us to a nicer view away from the construction noise, but the hotel was very reluctant to upgrade us to anything better than a room with partial view for an extra $80/ day (US). The $30/ day resort fee was a surprise to us as we thought all taxes and fees were included in our already over priced room. Overall the Hotel has nice amenities (pool, hot tubs, restaurants), and a nice beach area, but for the price I would look for a more modern hotel or condo instead in a less desirable area (ie. east coast).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Would Stay Again

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Pool area, beach
Cons: The breakfast buffet was $30 pp which we thought was high but decided to try it anyway. We were disappointed that the food was cold (scrambled eggs).
We chose this hotel as it was close to the airport. We stayed one night until our condo was ready on the southern side of the island. Staff was very pleasant, hotel was gorgeous, and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. My only issue was there was some dirt / sand in our tub but I just rinsed it out well before showering. The pool area is beautiful and plenty of chairs to pick from - same with chairs on the beach. The beach is walk friendly - close to pool and a nice surface for morning walks along the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ck

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
We stayed only one night and it was terrific. Very nice and clean hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arkansas

Nice beach, activities, friendly staff but..

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Nice place to relax, plenty of chairs amenities on beach and pool. Only complaint we had is that we found roaches in our room on 2 occasions. Nothing extreme but when there is 1 there is more, we also noticed very large ones on occasion through the hotel and on other places besides the hotel around the island so maybe they are just a problem in Kauai in general. The room view/balcony was awesome place to sit in the evening. Always got room service promptly and set up was awesome. I'd go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Mitchell, AL

Kauai Marriott Resort

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Beautifully decorated
Kauai Marriott Resort offers beautiful views of the surrounding mountains overlooking Kalapaki Beach. The central south island location renders it convenient to visiting other locations. The only real negative is the 30.00 USD plus tax charged to access the amenities, which is basically internet, towels for the pool/beach, and workout room as far as I could tell. Enjoyed the stay. Kauai and its people are wonderful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing location close to the beach; dated hotel!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The location was great, but the hotel was dated. The food at the restaurants was ok, but nothing to write home about. The staff was also OK, but nothing special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Paradise!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Cons: Better pillows to sleep on.
Location: We enjoyed JJ's Broiler for football games and Dukes was a must while we stayed. We also had a blast going water tubing.
We had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights and it was such a great decision. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and the staff were all very friendly. The pool was amazing! Never felt crowded since it was so big. And to also be able to enjoy the beach just a few steps away was perfect. Our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the partial ocean view was relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything. Nicest place I've ever been.
Cons: Pool is too cold.
Location: Plenty of activities and shopping nearby.
2nd time back, and I'm always impressed. Stunningly gorgeous place. Scenery, pool, beach, restaurants - it's just so easy to want to hang out at the resort all day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Good Central location, nothing spectacular

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, Koi fish feeding time is fun, especially if you have children with you. Close to Dukes restaurant which can be fun.
Cons: Cleanliness, positive customer service training for staff overall from front desk to waiters, etc...
Location: Great central location! 30 min. to awesome snorkeling in Poipu, 40 min. to our fav place Hanalei & 22 mile Kalaulau trail for hiking. Waimea Canyon.
This is the third time I have stayed at this Marriott and pretty much the same experience each time. I like the central location allowing one to head to the north shore or south shore within a reasonable amount of time as this is where most activities are and it is close to Kapaa (Best Tacos at Tiki Tacos, Verde, Hemingways Art Cafe), etc.. and Lihue (Airport/Conveniences like Costco & Walmart) The Marriott has permanently closed down one of their main pool/beach area bar/food locations so service was extremely slow. So slow we never got service after three times at both beach and pool area. It was annoying as you have to get up and go get what you want and it's enough of a distance that it's a hassle if you are just wanting to lay there and relax which after all, that's why we were there. Rooms are decent but again, nothing spectacular and just very basic cleaning. When booking you will want to be very specific about your view as a beach view may be one you have to stand on the corner of the balcony and lean over and maybe see a lil of the ocean. I do like that they have kayaks and other water gear available for rent on site. Kayaking is fun in the bay there, however a lil too calm during December this time. I usually go in October, June or April when there are some waves to ride in and have had a blast there. Good place for beginner surfers as well. It is close to a very nice golf course and the walk around the golf course is beautiful.