Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, very comfortable and clean hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Location is perfect and very central, lava lava beach club is great! Service, staff and rooms are great! Will definitely stay again!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We checked out without staying one night. We were scheduled for 7 nights. The Hotel is older and needs to be remodeled or torn down and rebuilt. The pool is not in great shape.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but not all that!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Good location. Could use new landscape and pool makeover. Restaurant their way over priced for drinks and dinner!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't go back

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Cons: Housekeeping...after 4 days there had to ask for another bar of soap for the bath. The verandah was not cleaned as part of the daily cleaning.
They seemed short on housekeeping staff; returning after a day of touring at 3:30 in the afternoon, our room had not yet been cleaned. Service in the Lava Lava Beach Bar was s-l-o- w...a half hour wait for the night's special drink??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, Or

Updated hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The location and staff.
Cons: Invest in decent beds!
Location: Beach, lava lava bar, beach, close to Kapaa, beach, did I mention the beach?
Very nice location right on the beach. Nice renovations with great decorations and very very friendly staff. Our only complaint was the bed. It was super firm. Very uncomfortable. We woke up around 6am every morning because our back pain wouldn't allow us to sleep anymore. We asked if all the rooms had the same beds and the answer was yes so there was no point in a room change. We simply went to Walmart and bought a mattress pad (1st time we had to do that while staying at a hotel) and it helped a little. On a positive note, being up at 6 or earlier every morning ensured we didn't sleep our vacation away! All in all it was fine. Especially for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Comfortable hotel for a short stay using it as a home base for day trips. limited amenities and no shuttle requires guests to drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hilo on the Big Island of Hawaii

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Room was nice breakfast looking out over the ocean was beautiful..
It was a nice stay, the rooms were very nice and the beds were comfortable there's only one thing that I thought was a little odd, there is an older side that seems to be where the local or kamaaina are put. I'm sure I paid the going rate for the night. Also there are no outdoor grills which there was two on my last stay. I was told that a restaurant was put in, so they took the grills out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, budget hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Location, proximity to beach and restaurant, and basic cleanliness.
Cons: Eliminate the intimidation created by the supervisor dude in sunglasses and the tall manager addressing the servers. Make this a happy, pleasant place
Despite obvious efforts to spruce up things, old is old. The patch-up paint cannot improve upon crowded design in bathroom, for example. Why did they put down new, cheap carpet when in the long run, tile would keep things cleaner and would last longer. Youthful colors are nice. This is not a luxury hotel, but if you are on a budget, it is certainly acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute Budget Hotel with Great Lanai

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Hotel has been refurbished and has a great open general space, very clean rooms and an amazing lanai where you can get your toes in the sand while sipping a Mai tai and ordering a meal. Rooms were clean but the bathroom sink area reminded me of a small room on a cruise ship. Heard neighbors clearly through the walls but thankfully all was quiet after 11 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Aging hotel on beach undergoing renovations

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: New furniture, new paint, pools, friendly service.
Cons: Sound proofing in the hallways. Parking.
Location: Near to airport, shopping, beaches, everything. I recommend renting a cruiser bike and pedaling the .beach path at Kapaa, terrific scenery
Even though they were renovating (to a cute 60's theme), our stay at Kauai Shores was delighlful. They provided good service despite work going on. There were two (handicapped accessible) pools with comfy lounge chairs and tables, as well as our own sandy beach. We would have used the BBQs they said were on the grounds, but couldn't find them. Parking was an issue, because of the construction. The staff was all new and eager to please. All in all, it was better than expected!