Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful on the beach. with pool, laundry.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: cleanliness. staff.
Wonderful view. Nice having a good restaurant and also a concierge right there. Convenient to major road.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haslett, MI.

Nice hotel directly on the beach w/ stunning views

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: 1) The beach and views, 2) restaurant set up and food, 3) well kept grounds and expansive feel to the resort property.
Cons: The rooms are too basic, and a bit dated/run down. Nothing extreme, but new carpet and an update would be warranted to match the setting and price.
Location: Perfect stay for enjoying the beach, and nice food beachside.
This was just a one night stop for us before checking into our resort the next day. The room itself leaves a bit to be desired. Very basic and somewhat tiny hotel room. However, the grounds are very well kept, and there is a lot of spaciousness between the rooms, open grounds and the beach itself. The open yard leading to the beach is amazing. The stretch of beach and views that this hotel sits on are PERFECT. There is also an on site restaurant overlooking the beach that is superb. They had good food, and the sitting is to die for. You can eat inside with the beachside walls open. You can eat in the covered porch overlooking the beach. OR you can eat on patio couches and chairs directly outside beachside for the perfect breakfast, lunch or dinner. The grounds and restaurant make this a lovely place to stay and enjoy Kauai.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Nothing fancy, just friendly and fun.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We had booked a Standard room, but after seeing what the room was like (ground floor, facing a wall) decided to upgrade to a Pool View room (+$20). Much better! Other than that minor glitch, we had a very pleasant 2-night stay. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful, the location was convenient for visiting all parts of the island, the rooms are clean and well maintained, and Lava Lava restaurant is a great place to hang out (but make sure you have cash or a credit card with you, as you can't charge to your room). Good value hotel. Recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Good location to get to either side of the island.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The hotel is an older hotel but has been renovated. The rooms were decent and the Lava Lava Beach Club is nice to have on the property (Although, it is not owned by the hotel). The staff were very friendly and helpful for our entire stay. My only complaint would be that the older wall air-conditioning units struggled to keep the room cool. The older sliding door and windows could be replaced to help keep the cool air in the room. Other than that, we loved staying here as it was a in the middle between the North and South shores which made getting to both sides easy. We also enjoyed the smaller hotel compared to a big resort. Less people and crowding. Mia the bartender at the Lava Lava Beach Club was excellent and provided us with great service and helpful tips for exploring the island. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from caldera

Very nice

Posted Jul 6, 2016
The most beautiful place to have breakfast , plus the food is Absoulty amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danmark

Dejligt, rent og flot hotel tæt på stranden.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Flotte, lyse og rene værelser med god plads. Alle værelser har en god lille terrasse tilknyttet. Hotellet har en hyggelig 'Beach club' nede ved stranden, hvor der er live musik hver aften. Hyggeligt sted at sidde og få en drink. Dog havde vi dårlige erfaringer med maden, som var meget fed, og noget af det var lavet på forhånd. Desuden bliver man ikke ligeså hurtigt betjent, som andre steder på øen. Heldigvis er der en masse lækre spisesteder i nærheden
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Hatten das Zimmer direkt neben der Eis Maschine und den Waschmaschinen (für Gäste und die Hotel eigenen) also konstantes Tür Geknalle und der Lärm von den Waschmaschinen plus die Unterhaltungen vom Personal und das transportieren von den Wagen mit den Handtüchern und co...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Location is good, close to stores and right on the Beach
Pro's: On Beach and near main Road so access to all points on the Island is good Close to stores for any small things you need as well as snacks/food Con's" Surprise Hostess fee Parking is not good Clientele seems to have changed from families to large groups (Many Teens)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Loma Linda, California

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: location as my husband was a Kapaa boy!
Cons: the soap dish!
Location: Seventh-day Adventist Church
The green soap dish was a nuisance as it kept slipping and falling off. Why not anchor it!! Grateful that there was a microwave by the entry. Turned out we had stayed there decades ago. Appreciate being able to print out our boarding class in the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
We had AC problems and they came over to fix it immediately. This was a great place to stay!