Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

The hotel has everything you need!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Great boutique hotel right on the water in South Kapaa. Every room has a balcony/ patio, they provide beach towels, two pools, awesome restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and live music at night. They even have free DVD rentals and parking is free and easy. The staff was amazing, I will definitely be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
clean friendly and close to lots of things to do. The rate your hotel survey after the stay is quite annoying though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Met expectations. Clean room. Comfortable beds. Nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sun City West AZ

This is my "go to" place when I visit Kauai

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Not fancy but comfortable. Friendly staff, quiet rooms. Main drawback is limited parking with small spaces. They make up for it with free valet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017
More of a motel than a hotel. Good location and the exterior landscaping is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Centrally located
Great, friendly staff. Bathrooms small but adequate. We would return to Kauai Shores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Overall, a nice little hotel on a beach

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: spacious enough and clean rooms, proximity of a beach and the fact that all the car parking can be managed on your own with available parking spot
Cons: the staff if a bit relaxed and you need to complain at times
Location: Close to the main "highway" and immediately adjacent to a "wild" but beautiful beach. There is an ABC store nearby for your various little needs.
We stayed there for 9 nights and, overall, were very satisfied with the spacious enough and clean rooms, proximity of a beach and the fact that all the car parking can be managed on your own with available parking spots (first come-first serve) being just 50 meters away from the room. Vacant parking spots were always available in such proximity unless you arrive very late at night. For those who do not like self-parking, there is also a free valet service 24/7. During your check-in you will be charged $18 per day for the beach access and amenities (e.g., they have two pools) and wireless Internet, but it is as expected and is clearly stated on their web-site. My major reason for not to give a higher rating is a couple of issues we had. Once we had no room service for the entire day only because their housekeeping activities begin at 8 am and they finish working and leave early. We stayed in our room until 9:15 am (with a "do not disturb" sign posted) and that, perhaps, looked like as "too late" for a maid. We complained and the issue never happened again. The second issue was a malfunctioning (very noisy / strongly vibrating) air conditioning unit in an adjacent room. The neighbor moved in on the next day after our arrival and started using it overnight so that you couldn't sleep. Notably, the conditioner was immediately fixed as soon we have reported it to a very professional receptionist girl. The conclusion is "the staff if a bit relaxed but you still can be good there".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Centrally located, casual hotel, plenty of amenit

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel staff were all friendly and informative. The beach setting was lovely. Restaurant and Bar top notch. There is parking but the spaces are small. Enjoyed my stay, would not hesitate to book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Lots of swimming pools and of course they are right on the beach. Lava Lava Club was a lot of fun. Good location for the hotel. Lots of parking. Staff was very helpful and very nice. I will go back!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Nice amenities, poor soundproofing

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Cons: sound issues
hotel is in a good central location. offers good amenities. sound issues experienced from other rooms, slamming doors, driveway and bar next door.