Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great location, great facilities, right price!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Lava Lava Club and the beach next door.
Cons: Everything is fantastic for the price. It would be great to eventually upgrade the main pool to be bigger/lagoon style :)
Location: The location was perfect. It's lovely being right on the beach and having the Coconut Marketplace right next door. It's a short drive into Kapaa.
We were extremely happy with our stay. The hotel is older but has been recently renovated. The rooms are very comfortable and all of the staff were incredibly helpful and polite. Our favourite was the Lava Lava Beach Club where we had breakfast most mornings as well as dinner a couple of nights. There is a fantastic protected beach right next door to the hotel that you can access from near the beach, unfortunately we found it on our last day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Good for a short stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Good for a short stay...couple of days max...if you're staying for a couple of weeks go with a resort. That is just our opinion though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice Reno. .Still in the works.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Air conditioner very old and noisy, and leaking outside making porch look dirty. Would have felt safer with a safety chain on inside of room doors. Room decor is nice a little dissappointed with how dirty screen doors to deck were. The landscaping was gorgeous and the pools well kept All in all not bad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scottsdale, az

My Bday vacation

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The A/C vent was loud so it was hard to sleep. The restaurant didn't value the people that where staying at the resort. They where more interested in locals and people outside of the resort. It's probably because lava lava beach club is renting the restaurant out from Aqua. It's not the same company. My time spent on the island was amazing though
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super hôtel coloré et bien situé

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Très bel hôtel au goût du jour. Personnel courtois. Il y a des prestations au redtaurant de l'hôtel le soir. Nous avons eu la chance d'être présentes lors de la fête du village à Kapaa le samedi et nous avons vraiment adorées. Food trucs, petits spectacles, marchés. De plus l'hôtel est super bien situé à mi-chemin entre chaque extrémités de l'île.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Spent 2 nights as a single traveller and felt safe and completely at home. Staff were amazing, room was good size and clean, location was perfect and I happily stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Great!! Need coffee refill spot in lobby for sunrise watchers :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kauai Shores experiment

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: I mostly liked the ease of access in and out of the hotel, but the most surprising experience is the excellent WiFi not only for your devices and TV.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower, a trickling rainfall doesn't cut it.
Location: Other beaches, shopping, restaurants, grocery and all personal needs very close by, most within walking distance.
Good value for the money. Although the beach is close by, it's a rough sea at this site, but there are other family friendly beaches nearby to meet easy swimming, snorkeling, etc., needs. All of the staff was great, the only issue was the shower did not meet my needs at all, barely a slight "rainshower" with minimal water pressure. Everything else was fine. The room has a wall unit A/C and it eventually did the job nicely. Easy access from parking lot to room, property upkeep was great. Shower water pressure problem reported several times without any feedback or closure to the issue, I just gave up. Several places to dine and shop within walking distances and the only traffic issues are those mostly during rush hours where cones block some left hand turns onto the highway and you have to go North then find a way to enter the highway to go South. All in all, the value of the hotel stay and the staff, especially the housekeeping, was excellent and I would recommend this hotel for those looking to spend the money saved on other activities. The Lava Lava restaurant on property has excellent food, and other fine restaurants are within walking distances, including breakfast, coffee and bakeries. Enjoyed my stay, Aloha and Mahalo!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lihue, Kaui

Lovely! nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Very nice hotel. Staff very friendly. Hotel located a few feet from the beach. Valet parking wonderful staff. Centrally located. Definitely will return. Not enough time to explore the whole island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Small hotel on Coconut Beach

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Very nice small hotel right on the beach. Staff was wonderful! Restaurant & bar a little pricey, but so is everything in Kauai. You do need a car. Loved it!