Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique property!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We just spent 8 nights here and had an amazing time. Beautiful property in a quieter setting without crowds, which was perfect for us! The staff were great, with tons of recommendations for local, off the beaten path spots for dining, beach & activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing, small and Intimate resort

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Great customer service! All staff very friendly and helpful. Small resort giving ample poolside seating anytime of the day. Poolside service for bar and food menu, valet parking, and rooms cleaned twice daily. Overall a great experience and would definitely return to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii Big Island

Great location, wonderful staff, fab restaurant

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The real, tiled showers with proper glass doors. The helpful but not intrusive staff who actually take time to get to know you so they can assist.
Cons: I could wish for tablecloths to complement the great food.
Location: Large lawn with comfortable lay-back chairs opens onto peaceful ocean waves. Beach just to the left, soft yellow sand, no rocks so swimming is great.
This appears to be an older property but it is a most pleasant place to stay. Less touristy, the rooms are nice, the bathrooms with full tiled showers instead of those pitiful over-the-bathtub deals. The room and bathroom were spotless, and housekeeping add those wonderful little touches that make you feel special, like chocolates when they check the room in the evening. The Red Salt restaurant is gourmet food and very lively with conversation with plenty of guests enjoying themselves. The waitress was fantastic--attentive, knowledgeable, kind. My wife doesn't like alcohol, so I had a glass of house white and house red. Unusual to get such terrific quality--I am picky when it comes to wine (well, most things).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel!!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
We stayed at the hotel for Thanksgiving.... and could not have been happier with our experience. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was comfortable and clean. The fact that there were no children at the hotel was a definite plus. Thank you Koa Kea for a great vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Elegance and style with a personable touch.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: A relatively modestly sized resort at Poipu provides a great personable feel from a wonderful staff and management team. The amenities do not offer a huge breadth of offered get found in the larger resorts, but are more than adequate for anyone wanting to not feel lost and still have a great location and experience.
Cons: Cannot say there was much of anything we did not like about the Kia Kea. If anything maybe would like a bit more offerings from the poolside bar food and in room menu. However, really not a problem.
Location: Location is great at Poipu, right on the water. It looks like most rooms have at least partial ocean views, Close to most needs and fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Not just another guest

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Staff treats you special, great location, quiet, clean, turn down service at no charge
Cons: Expensive food and drink. Should have booked full ocean view.
Location: Shopping center with restaurants and shops, beaches nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean. Pristine property. Classic beauty!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Clean room. Friendly staff. Valets your car! Friendly & cozy property. Red salt restaurant in the lobby is a gastronomic adventure! Definitely recommended. Definitely going back!
Cons: Small gym room. Dumbells from 5 lbs to 50 lbs. No cable machines.
Location: Ocean front property. Amazing sunsets. Walking distance to Poipu shops. Eat at Red Salt. Get twisted mojito.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect for a peaceful vacation!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: We loved the small, peaceful, quiet atmosphere, located right at the beach. A lovely boutique vibe just steps from our patio to the lounge chairs, to the restaurant and to the beach bar! The service was impeccable from the Concierge who greeted us, made dinner reservations for us, the valet, who were friendly and the breakfast staff who were always bright and cheery! The food and drinks were fantastic!
Cons: We were very happy with our room, the staff and the food. We would definitely stay again. The only thing I didn't care for was the morning coffee! It was free but not the best tasting. Otherwise, it was fabulous all the way around.
Location: The location itself was just perfect, quiet and steps from the ocean. Walking distance to the shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small resort, but bed WAY too soft!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Nice small-scale resort, NOT for children since there's not much too do there. Rooms were clean and somewhat updated - it seems like they're still working on all the furniture. Bathroom was nicely done and a good size, but the bed was rather broken down and WAY too soft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

A little piece of paradise

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Koa Kea is a fabulous boutique hotel. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is the place to visit !!! The staff are all friendly, gracious, kind and most helpful. As far as the rooms they are well decorated, clean with very comfy beds and great linens. The location of the resort is so that you have easy access to the rest of the Island