Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gardabaer Iceland

Nice quet hotel by the sea

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Good rooms, helpful staff. There was a beach just by the hotel and one could snorkel right off the beach.
Cons: Breakfast selection.
Location: Close to the beach. Great beach. Spouting horn close by. We went sunset sailing on a catamaran by a dock close by.
Excellent staff, great beds, close to the sea Very quet rooms. loved almost everything about this hotel. Would probably stay again. The only fault I found was the breakfast buffet was rather limited and coffee was never hot. Also was hard to find driveway to hotel in the beginning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Awesome Hospitality

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Staff was first class! Quiet and smaller property made it epic.
Location: Central location to get to all Island Highlights! Have the Hula Pie at Keoki's Paradise!
The staff at the Koa Kea was outstanding and made stay totally comfortably and relaxing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London,Ontario

Hotel just sold!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The overall flow and design was good at this hotel. The lobby and sitting areas were very nice. The rooms very comfortable.
Cons: The front staff at the check-in and out counters could have been more friendly.
Location: Somewhat isolated you need a car to get to other restaurants.
This hotel was very nice but over priced for what was delivered. The 1 restaurant on site was great for breakfast but not great for dinners. We were giver an ocean front room but we first had to look over the pool area and then a huge lawn before we could see the water. There were ocean front rooms that were 25 ft from the water but we never got one of those. The drinks were expensive as was the food. The girl at the pool bar was very defensive if you questioned her on prices or what were in her drinks.They have no self parking at this facility it's all valet parking so that can be expensive as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kirkland, WA

Great Kauai Poipu side location

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Everything from location, to the room and the food and especially the care we were given our entire time. there. Everyone was wonderful.
Cons: Room needed a little TLC to make it a 5 star room but I would give it a 4.8 overall. I have stay at many hotels and this place was very nice.
Location: On the beach. Easy walk to other hotels and beaches. Its about a mile to great shopping and food and is a easy walk.
Fantastic place to stay. Book it as the Grand Hyatt was full for a conference. Every aspect of the stay was great. Best staff I have ever experienced except at the Four Seasons Hotel in Chicago. You must stay at this place if you can . Easy walking to many locations about 1 mile away. Great spa treatment. Food and Drinks were all wonderful. The staff really knows what they serve so if you follow their recommendations you cannot go wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Koa Kea on beach

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not much
Location: Anything you like to do in HI
Nestled in between two large resort/rentals; luxury facilities, incredibly friendly staff, beautiful rooms and lanai. Open air lobby. Beach is rocky...wear water socks to wade in ocean there. Staff can recommend food options and know a lot. Can't recommend it highly enough! Probably not the greatest for children in 3-15 range. It's for people who want to relax. You can use it for a base to be adventurous as well...Waimea Canyon, all boating, whale watching, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Beautiful Oceanfront Location, Superior Staff

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: The staff and location
Koa Kea is an older, renovated oceanfront hotel on the beach at Poipu. It is relatively small, especially compared to the very large properties surrounding it. We had an oceanview room with a great view although, had I to do it again, I would have paid a little more for the oceanfront location. The best aspect of the hotel is the superior, attentive staff and the personalized service. The only inferior quality was the a/c system, which is older and inconsistent, especially at night. We were not impressed with the restaurant, Red Salt, despite great reviews. However, there are many very good restaurants within a few minutes of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
The staff at this hotel is very accommodating. Wish Hotels.com could get access to the ocean front rooms, but ocean view was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo Anne from Louisville, Ky

A little piece of heaven in Kauai.

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
The Koa Kea was fantastic! The staff was always very helpful, kind, pleasant and accommodating! It was like arriving and staying in heaven. The beds were plush, the room was clean and the staff came in twice a day. The food was excellent. The ocean view was great. The pool was nice. We had a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allison

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels