Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A little piece of paradise

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Koa Kea is a fabulous boutique hotel. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is the place to visit !!! The staff are all friendly, gracious, kind and most helpful. As far as the rooms they are well decorated, clean with very comfy beds and great linens. The location of the resort is so that you have easy access to the rest of the Island
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京


Posted Oct 14, 2016
派手さはないけど、居心地の良いリラックスするにはとても良いホテルだと思いました。 空港からも近く、そばにはショッピングや食事が出来るエリアもあります。 今回初めてのカウアイ島という事で毎日いろんな所へ足を運んでいましたが、次回はkoa keaでのんびり過ごす日もあったらいいな。 是非再び泊まりたいホテルです。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful retreat away from the crowds

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Great location, quiet setting, beautiful views, friendly staff
Cons: The cost of meals and alcohol at the resort restaurant were so prohibitively expensive that we ate elsewhere just about every night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Great hotel and staff. Look forward to returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Review of the Koa Kea - September 2016

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Some nice touches included thick large oversize soft towels, very comfy bed, a Nespresso maker and complimentary daily water were all very nice.
Cons: The lounge is closed during the day while the pool bar is open. The pool bar closes at 5:30 which seems a bit early and precludes a sunset cocktail.
Location: Plenty to do including Waimea Canyon, Na Pali coast trips, snorkeling, surfing, beautiful beaches, waterfalls galore.
This turned out to be a nice surprise as we have previously stayed at the larger resorts in Kauai (Grand Hyatt). This was a much more intimate experience and was a pleasant change. We would highly recommend paying the extra for the ocean front rooms as they are so close to the actual water (unlike the definition of ocean view at the larger resorts). The garden view, while adequate, is a little claustrophobic due to the proximity of the neighboring Marriot timeshare resort. Housekeeping was also excellent. The Red Salt restaurant was excellent for dinner and they serve a great cocktail. The breakfasts while good were certainly not world class On the con side the service was not the typical "Aloha" spirit we come to experience at the other larger resorts. While sometimes this is hoaky and can be overkill it's absence it was missing. I could have been at a Caribbean Island resort as far as the check-in/check-out went. That being said the bell staff and valet were very accommodating and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: ロケーション。落ち着いた雰囲気、客層。
Cons: バスタブ設置部屋の増加。
3度目の利用ですが素晴らしいクオリティ。RedSaltも相変わらず良い。 オーシャンフロントのロケーションの素晴らしさを体験すると中々他の部屋タイプに移れません。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable beds nice view and friendly people

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Free valet parking, pool and spa opens all night. Right next to the beach. Very comfortable beds with an amazing comforter. The people were very nice as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles


Posted Sep 4, 2016
I needed to get away on my own. This was the perfect place for me to isolate but have the option to be social too. Everyone was so kind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

1st class hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Wonderful experience. One of the best hotels we've stayed in. First class service and intimate place unlike the really big hotels where the personal touch is lost. I couldn't say anything bad about this hotel. I'll definitely come back to this hotel anytime. Thank you for the wonderful experience and service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dortmund, NRW

Die Ruheoase mit guter Lage die Insel zu erkunden

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Ein kleines ruhiges Hotel direkt am Meer und Zugang zu 2 Stränden. Der Service ist sehr aufmerksam und zuvorkommend! Das Personal sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. An manchen Stellen sieht man, dass das Hotel nicht gestern erst gebaut wurde, aber mich persönlich hat es nicht gestört. Ich kann nur jedem dieses Hotel empfehlen! Das Frühstück ist sehr reichhaltig und preislich fair! Im Restaurant selbst kann man auch sehr gut essen zu hohen Preisen, wobei das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis stimmt! Es war sehr lecker! Wir wünschen allen viel Spaß und genießt euren Urlaub!