Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eau Claire, WI

A.MAZ.ING

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: We loved everything about this hotel! Our room, the pools, the resort itself, the drinks, the view, the staff, the fitness center...
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: The resort was easy to find, and there was plenty to do! Laying on the beach/swimming, shopping, eating, and sight seeing, to name a few!
I must admit that when I had read other reviews about the construction going on at the resort, I was a bit worried. Apparently I had missed the fact that there was construction at the time I booked our stay! However, upon our arrival we were completely blown away by the beauty of the resort. Our stay with Koloa Landing was nothing short of amazing. Our room was wonderful! It was clean, had a washer and dryer, and the bed was beyond comfortable! The staff was so friendly and helpful. Chris makes the most awesome pina colada I have ever had the pleasure of drinking! The pools were clean, and the additional of the new pool is exciting. It will be amazing when it's finished, so I can't wait to go back and see it! As for the construction, we would have never know it was going on if we didn't walk past the new pool every day on our way to the fitness center (which by the way was really nice, and overlooked the ocean. Who wouldn't love that??). For any parents reading this, we had our children along (ages 15 and 8), and they absolutely loved this place as well. Koloa Landing also offered an itinerary of markets, and various activities such as lei making, music, and s'mores! We couldn't have asked for a more amazing place to spend our vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

l

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Do not want to say more. Staff was nice. There is a big pool construction project going on. So no pool available now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tillamook, Oregon

Excellent staff and resort! Ready to go back.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great experience, have traveled to Hawaii several times now and was not planning on going back. I changed my mind after this trip, we will be going back to koala landing. Wonderful staff, room was perfect. Yes they are in final phases of building a new pool (completion should be March of 2017) that will be one of the best in hawaii but that did not effect us at all. A family of three with a 14 year old son, can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Jessica Castillo, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Bryan, Mahalo for your thoughtful review. It was an honor to serve you and your family during your stay at our Poipu Beach paradise. We are delighted to hear that you have a different outlook on Hawaii because of your positive experience at our resort. We love to see families enjoying Koloa Landing Resort and we are so pleased to know that you loved our luxury guest villas as well as our dedicated staff. As you mentioned, our expansion process is in its final stages and we are so glad to know our construction process did not affect you in away way during your stay here at our tropical Poipu Beach paradise. We appreciate your kind words and we are excited we will have the honor of serving you and your family again on your next adventure to Kauai! Mahalo, Jessica Castillo Guest Services Manager Koloa Landing Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CANADA

GREAT PLACE TO STAY, VERY COMFORTABLE AND SECURE

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: LUXURY AND COMFORT, FULLY LOADED SUITES.
Cons: MORE RESTURANTS
Location: CLOSE TO BEACH AND SHOPPING AND RESTURANTS.
WE REQUESATED AN EXTENTION OF OUR STAY BUT THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO EXTERND THE STAY. I AM AND HAVE BEEN THAT HOTELS KEEP SOME ROOOMS OPEN FOR POTENTIAL GUEST. THERE WAS NO RESTURANT ON SITE OTHER THEN MORNING BREAKFASTS. OVER ALL I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THIS PLACE FOR FAMILIES AND HONEY MOONERS AND PEOPLE WHO JUST WANT TO RELAX.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Jessica Castillo, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Kero, On behalf of my team here at Koloa Landing Resort, I want to extend a sincere mahalo for your considerate review! We are pleased to know you enjoyed the quality and luxury that our Poipu Beach paradise has to offer. Many guests are pleased with our central South Shore location - as you mention we are very close to the family-friendly Poipu Beach as well as the Shops at Kukui’ula Village. We are currently expanding our resort into a Marriott Autograph Collection Resort which will include a poolside bar and grill so that guests such as yourself can have a relaxing Hawaiian dinner. Our expansion will be completed in March, which will also include a 350,000 gallon pool, over 200 brand new luxury guest villas and over 12,000 sq ft of meeting space. We do apologize for not having the ability to extend your stay due to that particular week being very busy, but we truly enjoyed having you as a guest and we hope to have you back after our expansion is complete! Mahalo, Jessica Castillo Guest Services Manager Koloa Landing Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely rooms -- just not right on the beach...

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The mini suite I stayed in was nicer than my house.
The rooms are very nice. Many of the rooms are suites aimed at families that want to stay together. On the down side there is currently quite a bit of construction going on that they downplay when marketing. Also, you pretty much end up driving down to the nearby beach which is a bit of a hassle. Also, since I have 1200 characters to work with here and fewer below I will make this point here. I have the sense that when I book a place through Expedia or Hotels.com I end up with less nice rooms than if I had booked through the hotel directly. This is, of course, incredibly annoying. Once again I have that sense of things in that my room looked out over a parking lot as much as it looked out over the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Jessica Castillo, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Traveler, On behalf of our team here at Koloa Landing Resort, I would like to extend a sincere mahalo for your in-depth review. As you mentioned, Koloa Landing Resort is currently in its final stages of an extensive expansion and re-branding phase to become a Marriott Autograph Collection resort this March. We never want our guests to be surprised by our current expansion which is why we include verbiage on our website as well as our online travel agencies stating the details of these processes. We are actively doing everything in our power to ensure our guests are not disrupted or disturbed by the construction and we apologize if this process hindered your stay in any way. You can drive to the beach, but one of the best things about our central South Shore location is that it gives guests such as yourself the ability to be within walking distance of the family-friendly Poipu Beach as well as The Shops at Kukui’ula Village. We do apologize that the view from your lanai did not meet your expectations, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our luxury guest villas and the world-class amenities including our fully-equipped Gourmet Chef’s Kitchen, en-suite washer/dryer and expansive lanai. We hope that you choose to visit us again after our construction is completed so we can serve you at an even higher level with all of our brand new luxurious amenities! Mahalo, Jessica Castillo Guest Services Manager Koloa Landing Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Apartment like accommodations centrally located

Posted Feb 9, 2017
This complex is still under construction so we got a great deal. We didn't mind, in fact it was rather fun watching them build the gigantic salt water pool. Bigger than a football field. Should be wonderful when finished. Housekeeping staff has a ways to go. Comes late, out of towels, forgets coffee, and never cleaned bathroom or changed sheets that whole week. There's no formal restaurant, buffet breakfast and a deli style bar, with Starbucks coffee , thank goodness. Expect Hawaii prices for food. Milk cost more than gas!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Jessica Castillo, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Carol, We appreciate your thoughtful review. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your time here at our tropical haven in Poipu Beach. As you mention, our resort is undergoing an expansion that is due to be completed in March. It is very exciting to be able to watch our massive 350,000 gallon salt water Lagoon Pool being built. Our brand new colossal pool will feature cabanas, a swim through grotto and waterfalls as well as a 130-person signature poolside bar and grill - it is going to be a breath-taking addition to our sunny South Shore resort. Our cleaning service typically does a superior job up-keeping our luxury villas and we truly apologize for the lack of towels, coffee and cleanliness of your room. This is not the standards of service we train all of our employees to practice and we are investigating this incident further to ensure it does not happen to another guest. As I mentioned above, once our expansion is complete in March, we will have a poolside bar and grill where guests such as yourself can enjoy a delectable Hawaiian dinner. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future at our newly expanded Marriott Autograph Collection Resort! Mahalo, Jessica Castillo Guest Services Manager Koloa Landing Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kauai

Koloa Landing Resort and Spa

Posted Feb 2, 2017
We had a tiny narrow dark room facing the parking lot and a huge construction site. The room was 10 feet across, and was described as a studio. The construction site was noisy and dirty. We complained to the Front desk staff, and the manager four times. Not until we checked out where we informed that the daily resort fee had been waived on account of our complaints. Why should the resort fee have a large daily fee anyway, in addition to paying approximately $400 Canadian per night for the room? The resort is not on the ocean. Very few rooms have an ocean view, because the ocean is across a busy street where there is no beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Lovely grounds, but avoid because of construction

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Lei, bathroom, cleanliness, room
Cons: The construction project means the hotel should be avoided until completion.
Location: Plenty of lovely beaches, though it's very popular and busy.
We were happy when we arrived. The staff was lovely, and presented us with a fresh lei -- our first of the trip! The grounds seemed lovely. The ocean view room we booked did indeed have a full ocean view, but it had power lines in the way, and looked over a badly kept personal property. That can't be avoided I suppose. They are currently working on a huge construction project (which was supposed to be completed in December, prior to our trip), which takes out the entire central pool. This makes a HUGE area of the resort unavailable, and really marred the entire resort, in our opinion. With so many other properties in the immediate area, I would chose another until the project is finished (which won't be soon), and the pool area returns to service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not really Four Star...

Posted Jan 22, 2017
No valet staff. Front desk personnel was not rude but was not enthusiastic. The way they handle beach towels is like motel style. Rooms are new and nice, but we did find someone else's HAIR in the drawers. Kinda nasty. Toilet ran unless we took of the lid. Housekeeping should have taken note and informed maintenance. We were only there for three nights so we dealt with it. No bathroom at the adult (tranquility) pool. No cocktail service at the pool... so this is why I don't think this place is four stars. If you have none of these expectations and get a good rate it's worth the stay, but also it's not on the beach either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pleasing experience

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: pools, workout room and cooking facilities
Cons: Light cleaning of rooms on a daily basis
The staff here was great. Ikaika, the very friendly and helpful front desk gentlemen, was especially accommodating. Fresh ice tea in front lobby was fabulous and the workout room was excellent. Pool areas are beautiful and well maintained. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed the once a week yoga. We found the small kitchen area very useful and well equipped. I was a little surprised that we did not get a light cleaning everyday. I did not want the sheets changed but would have appreciated a cleaning of the bathroom floor and surfaces on a daily basis. For the price of the room and extra charges this should be included. Overall it was a good experience.