Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent value and beautiful location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: The northern part of Kauai is my favorite place to stay, and I prefer to stay in Princeville and drive the 5 minutes to Hanalai for activities.
The Cliffs is a lovely property in Princeville with a gorgeous view of the north ocean. Buildings 6, 8, 9 all have unobstructed views of the water. The pool is small but pretty with a lava rock facade. They offer weekly activities like yoga and a free scuba class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Christie, and mahalo for your review and lovely photos! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 11, 2016
All was great! Bed was great. We opened doors on both ends of the room and let the island breezes blow through, no air conditioner needed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha, and mahalo for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the comfortable trade winds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Relaxing place to stay on the North Shore, Kauai

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: We had a great corner unit in building 7 facing the ocean and view of the hammock and very green lawn.
Cons: Our TV in our unit did not work properly but we temporarily swapped it with the bedroom TV and were fine. The clothes dryer never got hot/never dried.
Location: Nearby restaurants in Hanalei, a Foodland, lots of restaurant options, or you can cook yourself in your full kitchen. Beaches galore, and hikes.
Great location if you're looking for a more quiet spot. Feels like it's for older, retired people but I enjoyed it fine since Kauai is such a small island and we had a rental Jeep. We stayed four nights in Kapaa, so this was pleasant four nights on the quieter side of town. Close to beaches that are somewhat secret and hidden and very lush. The unit we were in was privately owned and had a great view of the ocean with that wonderful ocean breeze. Building 7 was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha A, and mahalo for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated the condo and the convenience of the resort. We're sorry that you had difficulty with the TV and drier; we would have assisted you but you didn't report them to us! We're available on island to serve you seven days a week. We hope you'll stay with us again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view, loads of room in the rental.

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Location, Quietness, the on site craft fair, and the birds.
Location: Hanalei bay is great for beach time, and the town center is great for restaurants! We also spent time in Kilauea at their shops and farmers market.
We loved the ocean view and the space in the rental. Having two bathrooms was great. This was a private rental, so we had some things like beach chairs and beach towels that other rooms might not have had. We made use of the kitchen to take a break from eating out. We did use the hot tub and pool and found them refreshing and uncrowded. We rented bikes from the desk and rode to a remote beach. Great location and property!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Jonathan at Oceanfront Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Kelly, Mahalo for your comments! We're very happy that you had a pleasurable stay with us, and that you enjoyed the amenities of the condo and the convenience of its location. Hanalei's incredible beach and restaurants, and the plantation-era charm of Kilauea are both just minutes away from Princeville. We hope you'll consider staying with us again to further explore our beautiful island!
4 out of 5
by Michelle from New York

Great condo stay

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
This is a condo/timeshare and not a hotel, meaning that different rooms/apartments will be different depending on the owner so my experience may not be the same as someone who stays in the same development. I stayed in 5201 and the owners provided a lot of cool and handy things for people staying to use (beach chairs, snorkels, boogies boards, beach towels, travel guides for the area, etc.). There was a pool, fitness room and gas grills available for everyone in the development to use, and the development also offered different activities (watercolor painting, hula lessons, having a taco truck into the development). The development grounds are really beautiful but it's just important to remember you're in a condo and being prepared for that (i.e. no room service or daily cleaning; you're in someone's home not a hotel). The one downside in my mind is that Princeville does not seem to be an actual town - it's more like a collection of condo developments surrounding a golf course.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Jonathan at Oceanfront, Hotel Management
Aloha Michelle, and mahalo for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the amenities in the unit and complex. Princeville is also a community of private homes as well as being the only Visitor Designated Area on Kauai’s north shore. We hope you’ll visit us again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room 4202 needs some help

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived and door was open, shower had used soap from prior visitors. Just to name a few...living room blinds have lots of mildew, bathroom vent is nasty, kitchen cabinets stick closed, oven vent needs painting, fridge is rusting. Have pics, but looks like this review site doesn't accept them. Have stayed at Cliffs before with no problems - this room (4202) is just not up to par.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Jonathan at Oceanfront, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your comments. Check in at this unit is at 3PM and you had arrived early while the cleaning was still in progress. When we contacted you we explained that the cabinets were sticking due to humidity and that the owner was made aware of the problem. You hadn’t informed us about the dirty blinds and vent; we would have sent a housekeeper to clean those, but you had already told us that we needn’t send anyone for cleaning. It is our priority to ensure the comfort of our guests. We regret that you had not contacted us directly with your concerns to allow us the opportunity to address them while you were here. We have staff available by phone during business hours and an emergency line 24 hours every day.
1 out of 5
by James T. from San Jose, CA

Very disappointed.

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointed in this place. It is a time share community with some private ownerships. We couldn't check in because the reception desk is for timeshares only and we assumed this was a hotel property. This place is not a hotel! Upon insistence on our part, the person in the reception area directed us to the privately owned condo. It was unit 7201. We couldn't get into the unit and had to call Oceanfront Realty for assistance. The condo we were put in is very dated as is the whole complex. The wifi system in the unit we stayed in needs an upgrade; it was intermittent at best. The living room tv remote didn't work. The bedroom one did, so had to watch tv in there. The unit does not have air conditioning, and yes, you do need it when those tradewinds aren't blowing. No privacy on bedroom lanai; it faced the parking lot. The other lanai off the living room had a great ocean view. This condo is for sale and listing was on display. The owner doesn't want dirt on carpeting, so requests that shoes be removed. The carpeting has stains and spots around coffee table. All-in-all this privately owned condo needs to be gutted out and brought up-to-date. Hotels.com should do business with hotels only and not real estate companies. We would never return to this complex.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Jonathan at Oceanfront, Hotel Management
Aloha James, and mahalo for taking the time to write your review. It appears that you had many misconceptions about this vacation rental unit and I apologize for any confusion. It is a privately owned home in the Cliffs resort complex with a full kitchen and laundry facilities, and is not a hotel room. Your check-in instructions were emailed to you three weeks prior to your arrival which included complete driving directions to the complex as well as lock box instructions for accessing the unit. Very few homes on Kauai have air conditioning, and we don’t advertise the unit as having any. I apologize that you were uncomfortable but the average nighttime temperature during your stay was below 70 F. It is common courtesy in all homes in Hawaii to remove your shoes before entering, not just for this unit. Your comments regarding the condition of the unit has been brought to the attention of the owner. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Perfect second honeymoon location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Extraordinary view and gorgeous grounds. Beautiful suite with living room, kitchen, spacious bedroom and two decks, off living and bedroom.
Cons: A few more days there.
Location: Ahnini beach just 5 minutes away; great for swimming and snorkeling Hanalei and its beaches just 15 minutes away.
My husband and I discovered the most relaxing spot on earth--The Cliffs on Kauai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2015 by Jonathan at Oceanfront Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Jean, and mahalo for your review. We're thrilled that you had such a good time with us at the Cliffs. We're glad you enjoyed the condo and its location near the beautiful beaches of Kauai's north shore. We'd love for you to visit us again, so please let us know when you are ready to return!
3 out of 5
by Darin from Minnesota

3 Night December Stay

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
The location was great and the property appears to be kept up well. Our unit was a bit outdated and could use some updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Jonathan at Oceanfront, Hotel Management
Aloha Darin, and mahalo for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay and are glad that you appreciated the location of the property. We will relay your comment regarding updating the unit to the owner.
3 out of 5
by Andrew from Cliffs


Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
unit that we stayed in needs some renovation trash collection was not well designed and difficult to use