Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent value and beautiful location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: The northern part of Kauai is my favorite place to stay, and I prefer to stay in Princeville and drive the 5 minutes to Hanalai for activities.
The Cliffs is a lovely property in Princeville with a gorgeous view of the north ocean. Buildings 6, 8, 9 all have unobstructed views of the water. The pool is small but pretty with a lava rock facade. They offer weekly activities like yoga and a free scuba class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Christie, and mahalo for your review and lovely photos! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Oct 11, 2016
All was great! Bed was great. We opened doors on both ends of the room and let the island breezes blow through, no air conditioner needed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha, and mahalo for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the comfortable trade winds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Relaxing place to stay on the North Shore, Kauai

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: We had a great corner unit in building 7 facing the ocean and view of the hammock and very green lawn.
Cons: Our TV in our unit did not work properly but we temporarily swapped it with the bedroom TV and were fine. The clothes dryer never got hot/never dried.
Location: Nearby restaurants in Hanalei, a Foodland, lots of restaurant options, or you can cook yourself in your full kitchen. Beaches galore, and hikes.
Great location if you're looking for a more quiet spot. Feels like it's for older, retired people but I enjoyed it fine since Kauai is such a small island and we had a rental Jeep. We stayed four nights in Kapaa, so this was pleasant four nights on the quieter side of town. Close to beaches that are somewhat secret and hidden and very lush. The unit we were in was privately owned and had a great view of the ocean with that wonderful ocean breeze. Building 7 was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha A, and mahalo for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated the condo and the convenience of the resort. We're sorry that you had difficulty with the TV and drier; we would have assisted you but you didn't report them to us! We're available on island to serve you seven days a week. We hope you'll stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long lsland , NY

Great spot for family or couples.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Enjoyed this condo. Well stocked and clean. Access to many near by attractoions , stores , beaches and golf courses. We had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view, loads of room in the rental.

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Location, Quietness, the on site craft fair, and the birds.
Location: Hanalei bay is great for beach time, and the town center is great for restaurants! We also spent time in Kilauea at their shops and farmers market.
We loved the ocean view and the space in the rental. Having two bathrooms was great. This was a private rental, so we had some things like beach chairs and beach towels that other rooms might not have had. We made use of the kitchen to take a break from eating out. We did use the hot tub and pool and found them refreshing and uncrowded. We rented bikes from the desk and rode to a remote beach. Great location and property!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Jonathan at Oceanfront Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Kelly, Mahalo for your comments! We're very happy that you had a pleasurable stay with us, and that you enjoyed the amenities of the condo and the convenience of its location. Hanalei's incredible beach and restaurants, and the plantation-era charm of Kilauea are both just minutes away from Princeville. We hope you'll consider staying with us again to further explore our beautiful island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Perfect second honeymoon location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Extraordinary view and gorgeous grounds. Beautiful suite with living room, kitchen, spacious bedroom and two decks, off living and bedroom.
Cons: A few more days there.
Location: Ahnini beach just 5 minutes away; great for swimming and snorkeling Hanalei and its beaches just 15 minutes away.
My husband and I discovered the most relaxing spot on earth--The Cliffs on Kauai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2015 by Jonathan at Oceanfront Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Jean, and mahalo for your review. We're thrilled that you had such a good time with us at the Cliffs. We're glad you enjoyed the condo and its location near the beautiful beaches of Kauai's north shore. We'd love for you to visit us again, so please let us know when you are ready to return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cristine from Vermont

Amazing condo

Posted Dec 16, 2013
This was a stay in a beautiful one bedroom 2 bathroom condo. No time share sales pitches like we've had before in similar situations. Near the shopping plaza.
2 out of 5
by Mark from San Diego

Excellent except for the head concierge

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Location, most of the staff were very nice.
Cons: Toilets don't flush very well. Other things as noted above. Avoid loud lawn care equipment, or at least minimize. Guy mowed same lawn 2x in 4 days
Location: Hike, snorkel, explore towns, shops, farmer's markets - tons to do in the area.
It was very good overall, but the concierge (the main one there, apparently) was NOT helpful and really extremely unpleasant. She was the most unpleasant people we've run into on several trips to Hawaii, and one of the most unpleasant in that position we've encountered in decades of international travel. She gave the distinct impression that it was all about selling us day trips, and she really didn't care whether or not we enjoyed the rest of the trip or not. Other people there were much more helpful and very pleasant, but she left a dark nasty stain on the entire trip for us. It was also very weird that the trips she sold us had very strange receipts that made no sense to anyone we asked, making us wonder if they were deliberately opaque. We could have gotten better rates and had a much nicer experience but NOT working with the concierge. It is not supposed to work that way. Normally, they negotiate a discounted rate with the day tours, keep part of the savings as commission and share a bit with the guests. Not here. The location of this place is very nice and the unit we had was pretty good, although there were a bunch of things that didn't work right - e.g: original key we got worked only slightly better than a hairpin for opening door. We called about that and got it replaced, but wanting to avoid the nasty concierge we didn't try to do anything about the other items (entry light out, screen door that would either stick or pop off rail entirely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large units perfect for a stay in Hawaii.

Posted Nov 10, 2013