Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton ab canada

Close to the beach nice location for sunsets

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Nice location comfortable enough not ritzy. Great for budget travel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

hotel close to the airport

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: close to airport for last night
Cons: gut bathroom where shower area is and update.
Location: close to restaurants and airport
the hotel has had some updating, however it still needs more. It is an old 70's motel style. It had everything we needed though and did the job. I didn't find that the shower/tub was very clean. Pool was very basic but also did the job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor service

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We stayed for 6 nights, had to call cleaning service almost every day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for your feed back on Plantation Hale Suites. I am not sure what happened with the cleaning service, but it seems as we fell short which I can assure you is not the norm. I will share your feedback to the Housekeeping Manager so that she can share your feedback with the Housekeeping staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option near Coconut Marketplace

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Cost effective; good location
Nice place in a central location if you can't stay in a big resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, I am glad to see you enjoyed the centralized location and the great deal you received for your one bedroom suite. Look forward to seeing you in the near future. Mahalo, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Spacious suites with useful amenities

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Size of rooms.
Cons: Nothing, all fine.
Location: One block walk to pleasant beach, probably swimmable in some seasons. Grocery and drug stores, as well as restaurants within easy walking distance.
Nice place, very large rooms, bedroom, bath. Full kitchen is great with pass-through to dining area. Also very big deck with doors from both bedroom and living area. Worth paying extra for the ocean view rooms as there is some traffic noise from the main highway just behind the property (although traffic noise not unacceptable as there are few heavy trucks or noisy motorcycles). Nice grounds, well-maintained. On-site security patrols all night long for the faint-of-heart although I can't imagine Kauai has much crime. Staff friendly and helpful. Overall, very pleasant place to stay at a reasonable cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for the review, we appreciate the 4 star rating. I was glad to see you enjoyed the large spacious rooms with separate living room and fully stocked kitchen. I will share your positive feedback with the staff. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Mahalo, Eric N.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Loved our stay.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Same as above
Cons: beach access blocked, sidewalk opening would be better to walk on and wheelchair access.
Nice clean, roomy, and quiet. Close to shopping and restaurants. Easy access to airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thanks for giving us a 5 star rating. I am glad you enjoyed the nice clean spacious room. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster PA

Convenient, affordable, amenity-filled

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Spacious units, comfortable beds, well-equipped kitchens. The decor was nice too.
Cons: On our visit the hot tub was hot, but the jets weren't running.
Location: Convenient to lots of places - the downtown strip is a short drive away. We ate at Tiki Tacos - SOO good.
We were camping most of the time in Hawaii, and on my last night I decided a hotel might be best to just gather our bearings and, let's be honest, get clean... beach camping only offers outdoor showers... Ha. This was more than a hotel; it was more like an apartment/condo community. From our paperwork and signage, it appears some units may be privately owned, while others rented out to travelers. No matter the logistics (I was just curious), it was a great place to spend our final night. The beds were cozy - so many pillows! The place was roomy - enough room for these two campers to finally get some personal space! A kitchen, big bedroom, living/dining area, large lanai.. and the bathroom had a separate vanity room which was so convenient for two people to use. It was later in the evening by the time we settled so we didn't use the pool ( a bit chilly), but we did use the hot tub. It was nice. The property was well-kept. Since we arrived in the early evening and were leaving early the next day, we didn't get to use this room's (or apartment, rather) full potential! The kitchen was SO well-stocked, but we didn't get to use anything except the coffee pot. This would be GREAT for extended stay. There is beach access as advertised, but it's quite a walk--and across an access road, so just keep that in mind. The advertisement is accurate, but it's not as close as you'd think. (We didn't need the beach access, but just sharing because others will.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for the great review and the 5 star rating. I was glad to see that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the suites, fully stocked kitchens. We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip to Kauai, Mahalo, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: easy access to everything, clean, quite and friendly staff...
happy with the stay, easy access to everything, clean, quite and friendly staff...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, with great and friendly staff.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Greeted by friendly staff, like Crystal! She's the best. Suites are conveniently located near the beach and stores. However I do believe the rooms need to be updated with some new appliances and furnishings. Such as new beds (which were a bit on the firm side, so sleeping on the couch was a little more comfortable than the beds), blender and carpet. The cubbies were a bit dusty and rooms had a musky smell so we needed air fresheners. However the rooms were nice, well kept, there's 3 pools available and most time it was empty so that was a major plus. Laundry rooms were clean and available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and affordable

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: Centrally located to travel the whole island! In walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Make sure to request a king size bed and building A ! Great suite and much more quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Eric N.