Ratings based on 2,169 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

Great staff in a well-maintained hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Staff Beach Pool
Cons: The Lava Restaurant needs some improvements to its menu and staffing. The Rum fire Restaurant is hardly ever open...odd, given it is high tourist seas
Location: Lots to see in the area and good restaurants abound.
The staff are tremendous. When we had a problem with a room, they were able to arrange a change for us that worked out well. The pool and workout facilities are excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BB

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Loved our oceanfront room for prime whale & sunset viewing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Clean, close to the beach, good bar, nice exercise facilities, affordable
Clean higher end hotel close to great beaches for snorkeling and relaxing in the sun. Recently remodeled pool & bar were awesome. Walking distance to some good eating and souvenir shopping. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel, close to beach

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We spent 9 nights at the Sheraton, the staff was friendly and hotel was in a great location. No complaints!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Overpriced and in need of renovation

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Dated hotel in need of renovation. Way overpriced considering its condition. Bathroom had 1990 potato brown tiles that rocked and wobbled when you walk over them. At half the price, it would have been a good value. This sour experience makes me rethink what 4/5 star means on this website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from michigan

Very nice stay 10 days in early Feb 2017.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
I read many reviews before arriving both good and bad. I feel those that rated it poorly were high-maintenance nit-pickers. We stayed two nights in garden, bldg 6, 2 dbl beds (told same broken record story "no king avail") , and, true, room and bathroom small but still very acceptable. Upgraded to bldg 1, 3rd floor, facing ocean for 6 nights. Spend it and don't settle. Not only is the room & bath so much larger.... hearing waves crash, sunset from balcony, whales every day all day long in view, so close to ocean, quiet and peaceful, close to self-parking... spend the coin and book ocean front Building 1. The only thing deserving of poor rating is the carpet in the rooms. So what, wear your slippers. The "resort fee" is just another way to get more money out of you but you will have that everywhere in all industries. So, take the free classes offered or realize it is all part of the game.....and you are on vacation after all... in Hawaii... were everything is 3X more expensive than it should be for the quality/value you receive. If hotel was at capacity you would not know it. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing the entire time. No lines, no waiting, no bugs, pleasant/clean grounds, friendly employees. Rent the beach "cabana"... 2 partially covered (adjustable) cushion wood lounge chairs.....equates to less than $10 hour for the day....well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location , location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
We arrived later than our booking due to weather delays and the staff was most accommodating and helpful. We were close to the beach, shopping and concierge was helpful with any arrangements. The staff were all friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Across street from beach, did not pay up for ocean

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: pool close to beach
Cons: could use a more casual bar by pool.
Resort has road inbetween room with out ocean view in between beach. Feel it is misleading when booking. Hotel was more like staying in Grandma's condo across street from beach. once across at main reasort, it was very nice. Pool has view of beach and very nice area. Hot tub is to hot, can't stay in for very long time. Staff was very friendly and did a nice job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The oceanfront rooms are well worth the price... we got to see whales from our balcony every day of the trip! The whole staff is amazing as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

price gouging in paradise

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The views from our room.
Cons: Do not go there unless you want to empty your wallet. We stayed in a very nice little bungalow for less money during the second half of our stay.
Location: Beaches, snorkeling
had a beach view room on fourth floor above the pool of great sunrise views but very noisy with kids during the day and drunk sat night with no apparent quiet time policy being enforced. We payed 350 dollars a night and still had to pay 30 dollars more for beach, pool use, beach chairs, expensive restaurants, etc. The hotel is a gouger.