Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not up to St. Regis caliber.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, natural beauty
Cons: Hotel is in disrepair, fresh paint sorely needed
Location: Excellent location on more relaxed and rural side of the island
The location of this hotel is amazing, consisting of a somewhat small beach area and beautiful view of the north side of Kauai. Unfortunately, this is the hotel's only saving grace. The hotel is in great need of updating and repair and all the hotel staff knows it as well. My wife and I found the restaurants and menu's to be very poor as well. We planned to stay and eat at the various restaurants for the whole trip initially, but after trying them all we had to go off-site after the first few days (Breakfast buffet was the only exception, but breakfast is easy). I'm very surprised that a brand like St. Regis would allow a hotel of this condition to remain in its portfolio and taint the reputation they have earned for quality and luxury. I would stay here again, but only when the rates are "on sale", never full price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

St Regis Hotel Princeville.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The service was very good
Cons: The hotel needs to be updated, particularly the grill. People like outdoor access from their rooms.
Location: Lots of beaches to visit nearby plus the botanic gardens. The village of Hanelei has some good restaurants.
Only a few rooms have access to a terrace or deck. We needed to take 3 elevators to get down to the Beach. The grill is dark, dated, expensive and without a view. The food was good but not excellent and the portions very small. The service was EXCELLENT. The staff very helpful with suggestions of restaurants and excursions and in making reservations. I wouldn't recommend the north of Kaua'i in the winter and the water can be turbulent. However, the sun chairs on the beach were very comfortable and the pool was a delight
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
No complaints whatsoever--beautiful property, excellent staff and service, wonderful amenities, gorgeous views, perfect sized beach and pool--we cannot wait to return for our next stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Paradise

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The large bedroom & bathroom, the beautiful pool area, the ever changing mountainous backdrop & the impeccable service
Cons: The pillows in the bedroom. Would have been nice to have had a pillow menu & a stocked minibar
Location: Stunning location with many activities nearby which the concierge can help you with
A luxurious large room & very comfortable bed & Lovely large bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Great experience! The staff were all so kind and helpful. It was nice to have the pool and small private beach right there. The only complaint is that the food was bland and over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional staff!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness, the turn down service :)
Cons: A daily luau show, like at the Hyatt. A beach that was more swimmer friendly. Honestly, this is the reason we probably won't stay there again!
The evening sunset on the patio was amazing, just not enough area and too many people. Maybe make more seating available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness!
Cons: Beach area is rather small! Not really a complaint but probably the one downside
Location: The location is amazing, very close to hanalei bay and a short drive up to the na Pali coast, lits of small shops and food within 10 min.
This hotel is very nice, it was maybe too nice for myself! If you are on a budget you may consider something else, also I am not one to dress up and other than breakfast the restaurants are pretty fancy. Not like suit and tie fancy but khakis and collared shirt fancy,( not my thing) that being said I would stay there again, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is very nice. It is in the best location you could be in in my opinion right on hanalei bay!! And their pool area is very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful views and great beach

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: almost everything
Cons: Needs some upgrades as it is showing some age
Location: Close to golf, town and many beaches
Enjoyed the views, loved the pool and the beach is wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Great service and great view. Close to golf course is an great asset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Views!!!! Sunsets
Cons: wifi needs to be improved and reduce parking fee!!! Better breakfast coffee please.
Expensive Parking $35 a day. Wifi not very good extremely slow. No spa availability week I was there. Dining is very over priced and so is the breakfast for what you will be getting. Coffee is very bad!!!!