Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a Great Place

Posted Jul 26, 2016
This is a great place to stay unless you're a high maintenance, brat. We were only in town for 4 days and hated to leave. The food in the restaurant is great, not to die for, but it's really good. All of the staff were really nice to us, from the front desk to the maids. The pool(s) and grounds are beautiful and clean. Our 1 bedroom villa was very well designed and comfortable. We will be coming back soon and staying here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice excellent hotel - except food!!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: The restaurant. Either bring the quality up, or the prices down. But charging top quality prices for diner quality food is not so nice.
Very friendly place. you literally feel welcomed. Staff is A to Z just amazing. Everyone is smiling - not a corporate fake one - real smiles:)))) Rooms are comfortable and ACs are working great (which is important when outside is 95.) There is a bbg area which is a great idea I believe - First come first serve - I would highly recommend this place. The only disappointment is food: Food at the main restaurant is really bad. It is not take out food bad but still for the price they are charging it feels like rip off. Overall food is not so great on the island of Kauai. Local farmers cant produce large enough quantities, so the restaurants visit costco very often I was told. I can be okay with food coming from mainland but charging as if I am served 5 star food, does not feel good. - First morning I ordered bagel and cream cheese. I had one bagel and two 1oz cream cheese packages on my plate and the price is $7. Same bagel and two 1oz cream cheese cups are $3 dollars at the cafe next to the restaurant and you can actually buy your food from cafe and sit down at the restaurant. - All kind of juice (orange, pineapple, coconut) is priced as if it is fresh and daily etc. But they are all canned. - One night we ordered risotto and this is the first time, I am served steamed rice as risotto. - Creamy tomato bisque soup was like tomato puree. - Another night we had cheese plate. It was a large amount ok and had 4-5 different types of common cheese. Nothing fancy. $70.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view and location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Need better coordination. Had to check in twice during the stay to different rooms because the owner of the first room is coming and we could only stay one night. The cleaning service comes in late during the day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as the Maui Westin Villas

Posted May 31, 2016
Location is ok, rooms ok, restaurant disappointing save your money . Housekeeping go green option is a joke since it's a free credit for poor restaurant option. When we came from poipu Sheraton the week prior we were in love with Kauai. Staying at the westin just wasn't up to our expectations. Definitely prefer Maui Westin Villas having stayed there several times. While became owners in westin the week before think we wouldn't return to Kauai location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Expect better service from the Westin

Posted May 18, 2016
Expected more for $400+ night. Cleaning rooms is optional and if they miss cleaning your room they offer one free breakfast that expires the same morning. When you are on vacation with two kids that does not work out well. They also put us in a handicap accessible room with a shower that had a large folding chair. An inconvenience if you are not handicap. Save your money, go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Stay!

Posted May 14, 2016
Everyone was so incredibly friendly and accommodating! From check-in, to our servers at breakfast, to our shuttle driver, etc. So nice! Local people are friendly, but I have to say, everyone we interacted with was genuinely really sweet! The room was clean and spacious! I had such a relaxing time! I would definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016
Forced $13 parking fee but no parking spaces in the east lot. Pool is very shallow. Ridiculous towel system.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Get Ready to be Nickeled and Dimed

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Cons: Check-in process
When we arrived to the Westin Princeville, we had come from a long flight and just wanted to get to our room and relax. During the check-in process, the desk staff were trying to upsell us every chance they got for a room upgrade, no cleaning in exchange for brunch (limited to a 3-hour window the following day), and several other annoying upsells. Had we wanted an upgrade, we would have booked a larger suite. Then when we signed up for one of the upgrades, it was so confusing, that we didn't end up using it. It was worthless. I highly recommend paying the extra money to stay at the St. Regis for a superior experience where you're treated as a guest and not seen as a revenue opportunity at every turn.
5 out of 5
by David from Palo Alto

Luxurious and beautiful but constrained.

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Tail end of our visit to Kaua'i, we wanted a few days on the north shore. Place was luxurious and comfortable with great grounds for viewing and nice pools/hot tubs for relaxing. Though right against the ocean, there wasn't great beach access. Moreover, the adjoining golf course did not allow people to hike or run through. So you felt a bit locked in and had to drive to get a full experience.
5 out of 5
by Daren from Los Angeles

Love this place!

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
We love this hotel and plan on coming back in the near future! It's comfortable and classy without being pretentious. The service is great, the rooms are comfortable with just enough of a kitchen to do your own cooking if you desire. There's really only one restaurant on the property, but it's great-- not cheap, but nothing is in Hawaii. Keep in mind that this is not Waikiki, so there is no nightlife in the area at all, but that's hardly the point of going to an island like Kauai. It's all about the outdoor experiences in the day, and getting a peaceful rest at night. My only complaint is that someone had recently vandalized a few of the hallway lamps in our building and I hope the hotel plans to fix those soon, since it's really the only blight on a wonderful property, with only a minor amount of wear and tear. Love the spectacular vista we had of the Na Pali coastline from our room. We really lucked out on that!