Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

波の音で眠り、波の音で目覚める、最高のオーシャンビュー

Posted May 7, 2016
キングサイズのベッド、標準タイプと表示された部屋を予約したが、実際はバスルーム付きのキングサイズのベッドルームが2つ、キッチンもリビングも広くてきれいだった。バルコニーからの眺めは最高。ホテルのすぐ裏のラグーンは透明で、綺麗な魚がたくさん見れた。シュノーケリング、ビーチで必要なものは全て無料レンタルできた。フロントもとても親切で、ゴルフコース、ショッピング、レストランなど教えてくれ、フラのレッスンまで予約してくれた。 ただし、念のため、日本語は通じない。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

condos on rocky coastline

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Quiet and an out-of-the-way location
Cons: Mattresses
Location: Central to either end of the island. Not too much to do nearby, but that is what I wanted.
The condominium I was supposed to stay in had a faulty front door lock. I did get to see the interior and it was on the second floor, and it was clean and sufficient. The beds were okay, looked like they could use new mattresses. The management upgraded me to a nicer unit on the first floor. It was clean and quiet. The downside was that I was uncomfortable sleeping at night with the sliding glass door open, and that was the only window ventilation available with no air conditioning. It was nice. The bathrooms were very nice, laundry in the unit was convenient, and it was certainly centrally located on the island, which is what I was looking for. All in all, I had a nice stay.
5 out of 5
by Brigitte from Hawaii

Kauai

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Erholung pur!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort on the ocean in Poipu area

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: The views from the oceanfront room (#136) were great! The service was good.
Cons: The WiFi while generally ok could be further improved.
Location: The resort is located in a quiet area close to Poipu resort area and old Koloa town. It is very close (walkable) to Baby Beach.
We had a great stay at Whalers Cove over Thanksgiving week! We were very happy with the resort, room and all the staff at the resort. Following are some of the major details. Rooms: The room (#136) was very clean, spacious and well-furnished. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils and the dishwasher, washer and dryer were a big help. The beds were comfortable and the ocean views from the room were great. The owners have done a great job in furnishing and maintaining the unit! Staff: All the staff were friendly and helpful and a huge shout-out to Marianne for all her help and guidance during our stay. She very graciously accommodated our requests of early check-in and late check-out and also gave us lot of tips on sightseeing and activities. Amenities: The parking and WiFi were free and the WiFi was generally reliable. Location: The resort is located in a quiet area close to Poipu resort area and old Koloa town. It is very close (walkable) to Baby Beach and less than a 5 min drive away to Spouting Horn park. Kukui’ula Village and Poipu Shopping Village are very close by too. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Whalers Cove Resort and highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a quiet family time in Poipu.
3 out of 5
by Stefan from Zürich

Alte Zimmer mit guter Ausstattung und Umgebung

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
Wir hatten einen schönen Aufenthalt im Whalers Cove. Die Umgebung, Poolanlage und Aussicht sind absolut super. Unser Zimmer bzw. Appartement war leider etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Dies sah man vorallem bei der Sauberkeit und dem Zustand der Küchengeräte (Kaffeekocher, Kühlschrank etc) in der Küche. Da das Appartement über keine Klimaanlage verfügt, mussten wir die Fenster offen lassen, was zur Folge hatte, dass es die ganze Nacht jeweils sehr laut war.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice water front condo

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great ocean view room. The best part about the room was the amazing view. It was so nice to be able to sit on our balcony and look at the ocean literally feet away (nice hearing the waves at night too). The location of these condos is also great - so close to the great south shore beaches and dining! A few minor cons: - our particular unit was a bit dated in terms of furniture and it also had some old carpeting that contributed to the dated feeling - no shade at the pool so we didn't really get to enjoy it much (since we were traveling with a baby)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo

極上のオーシャンフロント

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: ・1日中聞こえる波の音 ・極上のサンセットと星空
Cons: ・シャワールームが3つあり、各々別々に使えるのですが、如何せんお湯が供給できない。結局使えないこと。 ・宿泊中ラナイの電球が切れて交換を依頼したにもかかわらず対応してもらえなかったこと。夜空をみながらのディナーのムードが半減した。
Location: ・徒歩で行けるベビービーチ ・クルマで直近のショッピングセンター
メゾネットオーシャンフロントに4泊しました。以前家族とオアフ、マウイ、ハワイ島を旅行した時は所謂欧米リゾートに宿泊しましたが、今回夫婦だけで初めてコンドミニアムに泊まりました。いたれりつくせりの大型リゾートとは全くことなり、最低限のサービスで全て自前(コンドミニアムですから当たり前)、ロビーもギリシア宮殿のようなリゾートに比べ小さなもの、プールも最低限でもちろんドリンクサービスなど全く無。そのかわり得られるのは、1日中聞こえる波の音(逆に他の音はない)、極上のサンセットと星空、人間を恐れることなく遊びに来るカワイイ小鳥たち、などなど人口社会と隔離した別世界にいたれます。とはいえコンド内の内装はセンス良いオーナーの調度品で極めて心地よい。拝金主義のアメリカンリゾートに嫌気がさした方、ピュアな大人の休暇を楽しみたい方には是非お勧めです。
5 out of 5
by James from Chicago

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Quiet, clean and comfortable accomodation in a secluded neighborhood but only a short walk to shops and dining. Lush well manicured grounds and thoroughly maintained pool and spa area. We enjoyed our stay at Whaler's Cove and would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and location

Posted Aug 14, 2015
The staff was very accommodating the hotel is located right at the shore in a secluded place. The pool was never busy and always clean.
4 out of 5
by Melissa from Houston

Perfect perfect location if a bit dated

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
We are a family of 5 with three teenagers. The condo was PERFECTLY located -- walking distance from Kukuiula Shopping center (Merriman's restaurants, Lappert's Ice Cream, etc.) about a half mile from the Beach House Restaurant, and maybe two miles or so from Poipu Beach itself (and the Poipu shopping center.) Only about 5 minute drive to Old Town Koloa. Additionally, the condo looks out onto nothing but beautiful water. We spent every morning enjoying coffee on the outdoor chairs, and every evening with beer/wine on those same chairs. Literally two units from the pool, and the snorkeling next to Whalers Cove was some of the best we encountered on Kauai. Things to note: there is no air-conditioning. As long as all the windows were open, there was a breeze and it was okay, but that can be noisy (the surf and the birds) and light early, and not so private. The house cleaning was minimal each day, but prompt. The decor in our unit is a bit dated but very tropical, and the sectional sofa was super comfortable and a nice place to hang out. The second bedroom has two single beds which are a bit tired, but our kids were fine with it.