Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

a great Mountain View, fantastic autumn view

Posted Nov 17, 2017
It is a long historical building, we stay in a room with fantastic Mountain View! Autumn leaves are so colorful just outside our windows! Dinner is delicious, staffs are very helpful and friendly. Very peaceful area. Very convenient to get to the hotel. You can wondering around the neighborhood villages, beautiful countryside, We love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Authentic, friendly, quiet & relaxing, great food

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We wanted a traditional Ryokan experience, with onsen, gardens, 10-course private dining and our own set of rooms with mats and a view and futons. This place really delivered! The outlook and setting was wonderful and relaxing, and is only a minute from the train station. The food was wonderful, quite approachable for a fussy westerner, and the staff were so friendly. Arrive early (3 pm) to make the most of the facilities – we had a long onsen experience (you look out into a wooded area), wandered the small but beautiful garden in our yukata, had a two-hour 11-course meal, then slept wonderfully on futons. The next morning we had a full Japanese-style breakfast before catching a convenient train back to Osaka. We plan to re-visit in 5 or 10 years time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Friendly staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location: Mount Koya was beautiful. An amazing cemetery on the mountain.
One of the staff members tried to teach me to use chopsticks. He was really patient. I loved the onsen. It was a really interesting experience..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wish I could stay longer.

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The place is easily accessible and super close from the Amami station. Some staff was able to speak English so we didn't have any problem communicating. The place was beautiful and it felt like we had the whole area (including the gardens) to ourself. They lent free yukatas for us to wear after our onsen. The onsen itself was very clean even though it was a shared bathroom and we were lucky that no one was there while we took a shower since it was both our first time and we were quite awkward having to bathe with other people. When we were there, they upgraded our room since there was an available vacancy. Yet they didn't treat us as if we paid a cheaper price than the others. The staff are always friendly, smiling whenever they see us. The food were great and the room was very comfortable, it had the vibe of a traditional Japanese ryokan room. The only complaint I would have is the general check-in time that Japan hotels have which was 3pm. We felt like we weren't able to spent more time there as we had to check out by 10 AM of they would charge us with an hourly rate. If you want to fully enjoy this place, you should at least stay for 2 nights. Even so, having a 1-night trip still allows you to enjoy the ryokan experience. Ps: take a walk around the garden at night as they provide a flashlight.
3 out of 5
by MAtthew

Trip

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
The onsen is not as big as expected. Air conditioner was not working
4 out of 5
by Jason

Loud like a city, but near nothing

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
great hotel.. but area was terrible. loud from a train, and can't walk anywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ryokan at Amami Station

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very convenient to travel to, and it's a minute walk away from amami station. We booked it mainly for its onsen and meals. The pictures for onsen looked more beautiful then it is. There's no outdoor onsen but you can slide the large frame windows open for the cool air. The amenities provided in the onsen area were rather basic. The quality of breakfast and dinner to be of average. The room was comfortable. There is no toilet in the room. Basins and toilet bowls are in common area outside of the room. While the overall place is rather well-kept, the garden that's attached to the room needs maintainence. Service from most of the staff was good. There were English speaking staff on duty all day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Old hotel, not as good as it discriped.

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Classic style
Cons: More dishes in the Kai sake dinner and breakfast. More spa facilities, beauty and skin care lotions should be provided.
Location: No activity near by.
Kai sake dinner was not very fulfilling. Breakingfast was not the best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Ryokan Experience

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at this Ryokan. Our room was cosy with a garden view. The Onsen was good and the meals superb. Service staff was prompt, considerate & helpful. The location of the ryokan is just a short walk outside the Amami Train Station. Very convenient. There is also a beautiful garden within its compound. It will be good if the ryokan provide a better map with prominent landmarks and estimated walking time to key places of interest in the local area. This will enable visitors to venture out on their own without fear of getting lost. It was difficult to ask the local people for directions as they were not able to communicate in English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special Hotel with Onsen inside

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The hotel have traditional Japanese elements. the hotel is about one hour from Osaka. very close to Amami station. We slept on futons. There is nothing close to the train station or to the hotel. it's special experience for one night.