Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful, relaxing environment

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Prime location, beautiful view of the river from every room, excellent food.
Cons: Freshening-up the interior of the rooms and onsen baths.
Location: Enjoying the river and the onsen, hiking on the Kumamoto Kodo pilgrimage routes, visiting Nachi Taicha and the beautiful Nachi-noTaki water falls, riv
I stayed at this onsen with my husband and two teenagers during the hot and sticky month of July. Swimming in the river and relaxing in the natural, warm hot springs was pure joy after long days of hiking and sight seeing. This place has a peaceful aura and is one of the most relaxing experiences I have ever enjoyed. The hotel facilities are ageing a little and could be freshened up, the carpets in the room was quite dirty and the onsen baths in need of a good refresh. Having said that, the true magic of this place resides with the location, the beautiful river and the out of this world food! We really enjoyed it and would recommend it without hesitation.
5 out of 5
by WENTING

Traditional Onsen hotel with great view

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
We have enjoyed Kawayu Onsen Fujiya so much. The stay was so pleasant, the staff was very nice and helpful( though English wasn't their strength). The dinners for three nights were exceptional, a great variety of Japanese food and local produce. The lady serving dinner was so observant and dedicated to great service. The manager( the man in grey suit) even saw us off waiting for the bus with us and helping with luggage, he can speak some English. They helped us find the timetable for the boat trip and gave us a lift to save our waiting time for the bus. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back if I visit that area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hm

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The hotel looks abit old but is very clean and quiet. The staffs are very helpful too. They are able to make the vegetarian meals for my sister! You can also go to the open air onsen in the river just next to the hotel. The bus stop is just right in front of the hotel and you no need to drag your luggages .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not As Advertised

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
This place was pretty expensive, but we booked because it was advertised as being close to Nachi Falls. In reality, it was over an hour and a half bus ride away, and in the middle of absolutely nowhere. Nobody spoke English at the hotel, and there was no bed in the room (this was probably my own fault- it was advertised as "Japanese Style"). The room was dirty and had spiders in it, and the lobby area looked like a crummy 80's motel. The river in front was beautiful, but it was virtually impossible to walk to any stores or restaurants because there were none in the area. The wifi also did not work.
4 out of 5
by Tak Hung from Hong Kong

Great hotel for relaxing

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Nice river view. River Onsen only available in winter. Limited dinner time slot available. I can only choose either 5:30 or 7:30 even I arrived at the hotel by 4pm. Suggest to reserve the dinner time before arrival.
5 out of 5
by EUGENE

Great Hotel Great Location

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
Spent 1 night in Hotel Fujiya at Kawayu onsen. Nice secluded locality where a huge outdoor hot spring dug by the side of the river is the main attraction. Truly enjoyable experience to soak in its warm waters with the cold winter air in your face. The hotel was nice. A bit old but nice and clean. The room I got was newly renovated though, and had its own private onsen bath (but it came at a price). Only minor complaint was that the kaiseki dinner was a bit rushed.
5 out of 5
by LAI from Macau

Great stay

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful place with quiet and clean condition. Good food and good services.
5 out of 5
by SATIT from Bangkok

Surrounded by nature, far from city

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to relax but a little far from city
5 out of 5
by JARUWAN from Thailand

Nice place for relaxation

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, love the river infront of the hotel