Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Marie Louise from France

A nice place to be

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly welcome - Amenities - Ocean view from the breakfast lanai -
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old B&B, newly acquired by very nice couple.

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Comfy bed
Cons: Bath tub dangerous,too high for elderly and no grab bars. Better breakfast choices. Coffee good
Location: Must drive to next town on very windy,narrow road to get to nearest restauranr,food store. About 10 miles.
House on very windy road, steep driveway. Very nice view of ocean. Unfortunately not near any beach and backyard is zoo like. Wild pigs,stray cows,chickens and roosters roaming on path right near house! Ok if you like the farm life. They will wake you up early (5am)! And don't forget the geicos, they will join you on the patio for breakfast. Cute? Breakfast ok, but limited in choices. Owner greated us every am with plate already prepared. Sometimes home made and sometimes cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Quiet relaxing B&B.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Wonderfully quiet place on the very edge of wilderness. Very nice hosts and the breakfast was more than ample.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pueblo West, CO

Nice location. Close to beaches and Kona area

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: The private lanai was relaxing after a long day of site seeing.
Cons: The stay was nice.
Location: Beaches withiin easy driving distance. Whether going north or south, location is good.
Mary and Bob were very helpful and gracious with knowledge of area. Breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful.
4 out of 5
by Neal from New York

Short stay on the Big Island

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very relaxing and beautiful view from the room. Hosts were a joy to spend time with - perfect balance of giving me my space but also sharing their island experiences. Rustic - but you knew that already! Highly recommend and I will stay there again when I go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Pedro, CA

Couldn't have been better!

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The personal warmth of our hosts.
Away from noisy crowds, Hale Ho'ole was surrounded by nature. Fruit trees, flowers, fragrance. Our room was very clean and comfy, with a private lanai to relax. Our hosts, Bob and Mary were charming and made us feel like old friends. Bob was kind enough to recommend the Keei Cafe for dinner, which was a great choice. Mary, herself, was quite the chef, serving a hearty, delicious, and healthful breakfast. We truly recommend her quiche!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A homey B&B in Capt. Cook.

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
The Hale Ho'ola is a B&B, not a hotel, run by Bob and Mary. We stayed in the Plumeria Suite which had its own bathroom and lanai, looking west for perfect sunset viewing over the ocean. The lanai has a small refrigerator, perfect for holding waters, beers, soft drinks etc. The room was spotless and also had a large closet with a hangers and a dresser. All 3 rooms share a living room that has a love seat and chairs, lots of books and magazines and a microwave, if you're in need of a hot cup of tea or want to warm up a snack. Mary prepares a lovely breakfast every morning with juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit and home baked specialties. The 3 mornings we were there she prepared a frittata, French toast and quiche, all quite delicious. Bob has lots of local info on what to do, where to go and where to eat. They were the perfect hosts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Two Night Stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Location and warm friendly owners
Location: We enjoyed two days at the beach at Ho'okena where the snorkeling was good and there is a pod of dolphins that frequent the bay.
We had a couple of days to explore the Captain Cook area Hale Ho'ola was,perfect.The rooms were,quiet and clean. We really enjoyed our host and hostess as they where full of helpful tips on sightseeing and dining.
4 out of 5
by Carol from St. Louis

Paradise

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable B & B. Host are full of information and are happy to share it. If you have an early day, they will provide a breakfast to go that was delicious. Otherwise enjoy a relaxing morning on the lanai with Bob and Mary.
4 out of 5
by Saeid&Pat from Boulder

Home sweet home

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
Mary and Bob were wonderful hosts. They provided perfect breakfast and guided us to the right places to go. They were very informative of the area and very easy to talk to. We will recommend this place and we would definitely return.