Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Attitude is the key to good service

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: near KEF international airport.
This hotel is well located though street may be very noisy specially on weekends. Despite the convenient distance to the airport, hotel suffers exponentially from the many problems Iceland now faces. The country is literally unprepared to the scope of tourism they receive. Lack of facilities is flagrant. Locals seem to be reacting with the wrong attitude to the influx of visitors. Strange, because this money is what's saving the country from collapse. The staff in the hotel is unwelcoming. On the day we arrived, we showed at 10am. Check in is stated to be at 14:00. However, many times, when possible, intelligent hotels do provide an early check in. This is both welcomed and reciprocated with loyalty and praise. The lady, a local *for there's hundreds of foreign and unprepared workers in Iceland hotels nowadays* was angry because we "dared" to imagine a room may be free or ready. I suggested she kept a nice tone as it was all good. I then requested to store luggage while we waited to what she said: NO! services start no earlier than 14:00, don't you read English? Wow.... So we left... Back at 14:45, same lady, worst mood. I think she hates her job or considers herself above mere tourists from strange lands as ourselves... She asked a credit card deposit of 500U$ for one night stay, prepaid through Expedia. To what I said : Please call the manager. To what she answered : you will never get a room here. I we never did. We left...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Hotel Keilir, Hotel Management
This is all not right, and we have your name. The hotel had to call the police for help but this person did not stop there he threaten both the police and the hotel staff. He did never stay at hotel the staff was not feeling well to accept this guest and he left screaming and shaming the police .Hope you are feeling better to day and in balance. The Expedia people now about this matter and all things were done with there help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
A bit old hotel, but it was warm and we got good sleep. At breakfast there was crowdy and full hall. Very welcome staff. Easy to get from and to Keflavik airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Hotel Keilir, Hotel Management
Hello, thanks for the feedback and kind words, hope we see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Money for old rope

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice bed and view out to the bed. But no elevator (for elderly gent with much baggage). No 24 hour airport shuttle until 05:00 and then hourly. Internet did not work at my room on the top storey. No food or minibar let alone 24-hour room service. No plug on the basin. The main light without bulb and cover. No safe. No glasses for water (for medication). The facilities listed in Hotels.com did not exist in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017
Dear guest, it is strange that nothing did work the night you staid here, the internet is highly rated from our guests and there is food service all around the hotel and glasses in each room and you can plug in at the basin. We would have been glad to help when you were here. Have a nice beautiful day. Hotel Keilir
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do better

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Our room overlooked Paddy's bar. It was a Saturday night. People partied in the street until 4 am, when the bar closes. Couldn't get any sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Comfy bed, nice staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very convenient to airport. Check in was easy and staff was friendly. Breakfast was good, although basic, but it was adequate for sure. Room and shower were large and comfortable. Nice view of the sea as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The night staff were very friendly and courteous
Cons: Cleanliness, Friendly staff
When we checked in we were asked to pay approximately $40 extra more than what we paid Expedia. The font desk lady during the day shift was very rude, unhelpful and did not treat us well. I had asked her the name of the Hotel manager to complain and was told to go to the hotel website and send an email and someone will respond. We felt we were treated differently and rude. the night staff however were very friendly and courteous. Overall the cleanliness was very poor as we had to constantly remind every morning to change towels and clean the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Small not clean. Would not stay again

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We paid for the entire trip on Expedia but still got charged extra fees at the time of check in. These were not extra charges after the stay but before we entered our hotel room. We paid more than what was paid thro Expedia. One staff member a lady in the morning shift was very rude and racist and unhelpful. She was very rude to us and friendly to other non colored people. But the night crew staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by David

Convenient location

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here the night because it was close to the airport and closer to the Blue Lagoon.
2 out of 5
by robert

not to good

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
only acknowledged the first night of a 2 night booking,, staff was nice, beds are small, European style, breakfast was minimal,, prices are too high, also to note, all stairs, no elevator, so be ready to carry your bags.
4 out of 5
by karla

Nothing really wrong with Hotel Keiler

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
As with many Euro hotels, you will receive two small beds that are not exactly meant for a honeymoon. The room itself was clean, heated, and had a hot water shower. The hotel is withon walking distance of bars, coffee shops, and restaurants. As there is a bar close by, expect to be woken by loud partyers between 1 and 3 in the morning on the weekends. Not much the hotel can do about it. Probably would not be an issue on the weekdays. If faced with a choice of hotels in the area, I would go with price. On the day I stayed this hotel was 30 euro less than other nearby hotels. On my return, this hotel was more and I stayed elsewhere. If the first rate was offered on the other night I would have stayed here.