Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old style

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
old style hotel. Provably a little refurbished could be good enough to make it look fine.
5 out of 5
by Irene

A Wonderful Grant Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Stunning Art Deco Hotel, central to transport, walking distance to the sea, close to amenities. It you appreciate historical architecture you will love this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was not only delicious and a wonderful variety, it was served in the Grand Ballroom which was an amazing room to enjoy.
4 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ka Yan

a hotel not expensive to stay

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
good location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nostalgic or old-fashioned - your choice!

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a time-warp place - back 50 years in style, decor, rooms, building! It is a matter of taste if you like it or not. The place certainly needs an upgrade, but it will be difficult to change the rooms. They are small, especially the bathroom is dismally tiny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Interesting Older Hotel

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: The old architecture of the building was interesting and the furnishings gave it the feel of a James Bond movie set from the '60's
Cons: It could be updated and the internet connection is rather weak and slow.
Location: I didn't see too much to do nearby - though there is a Subway sandwich place withing walking distance.
This is an older hotel in Kemi Finland. It has something of a '50's feel to it. That is not a negative comment, it is very well maintained, and the people on the staff were friendly and professional. It was clean and the free breakfast was excellent. I noticed that the local policemen also stop in for breakfast sometimes. The price for a night was fair, and I would stay there again if I was in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Old fashsion hotel, but I like it

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: nice staff, enough room facilities, and nice restaurant
Cons: almost no spare electric socket for my electrical devices
Location: I saw aurora in the park just 2 blocks outside the hotel. Shuttle bus pick up at hotel to Sampo Icebreaker
It is a very old fashion hotel with long long history. However, the service provided was out of my expentation. The staff are nice, the room provide everything you need, and the food of restaurant is also nice. Highly recommend for everyone who need to stay in Kemi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a decent choice. Nice staff and restaurant

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
To be fair, I don't believe there were a lot of options in this small town. The main attraction was the Ice Castle. If you aren't going to stay there for the novelty of it, overall this hotel was nice enough and the staff were really lovely. It was convienient for a one night stay and only about 10-15 minute walk from the Ice Castle. Another plus was that some of the tours had a standard pickup from here as well. As most of the hotels in the town, they were just older and few amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville ON Canada

Read the Fine Print

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: Check In.
Should have made arrangements with the property for the access code at the time of booking as I could not rouse anyone using the keypad on the outside. Ended up going to another hotel and have them contact the hotel so I could get in. A bit odd not to have staff at least into early hours of the evening to manage check-ins.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels