Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from homer, AK

Good business hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable
Cons: Better handicapped accessibility between office and rooms
Location: Fishing, bird watching, hiking (in summer)
Friendly efficient staff. Clean comfortable room with all amenities. Not very handicapped friendly. Difficult to get to room from office, which are separate buildings. Must traverse gravel and ice to get to room from wheelchair ramp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is terrible.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Paper thin walls with no insulation between rooms. Loud construction noised in the morning right outside our door. Very rude staff.
I had to move to a different hotel after one sleepless night at the Best Western - Bidarka Inn. The room was filthy, the carpet was old and a dingy dark brown. The bathroom was dirty and the coffee pot was broken and the cups had a coating of slime on them. The rooms are much smaller than they appear in the photos and they are run down and outdated. I could not sleep because the walls are paper thin and I could hear literally every word from the room next to me. I have never been in a hotel with such poor insulation between rooms - it was so loud that it was impossible to relax. The next morning, after I finally fell asleep from exhaustion, I was jolted awake by the sound of an extremely loud table saw that the hotel workers set up literally 4 feet from my door (see photos) there was also a lot of loud construction going on in the next room as workers were ripping out the bathroom, toilet and cabinets. This all took place early in the morning. I could not believe how unprofessional the staff was to do this to a paying guest. When I asked the front desk to do something about it, they said they could move me to another room.. they refused to even give me an apology nor would they tell the workers to stop construction. I decided to move to a different hotel because of how nasty the front desk was. They provided me with a fake number to the manager and refused to refund my money from the night before. This was the worst hotel experience ever!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Douglas J , General Manager • 03/23/17 I would like to apologize for your bad nights sleep. Please call the front desk and let us know that the guests around you are being noisy and keeping you from sleeping. We have no way of knowing unless you tell us. We would then contact the guests that are being noisy and/or move you to another room. The maintenance staff started the table saw at 11 a.m. When you brought this to our attention we felt it best for your sake to be moved to a different room away from the room construction where you could rest in peace. We are in the process of improving some rooms to make sure they do not become run down and outdated. We use pre wrapped cups for our in room coffee for sanitary reasons and single use machines as well for the same reason. If it was not working for you we would have gladly brought you another one had we known. I promise I was not avoiding your call. I was on vacation with my family as it was spring break for our kids in Alaska and was not able to respond due to our being in a remote location. I hope that you will give us another chance to make your stay a comfortable one in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Homer, AK

Worst hotel ever! It is filthy and loud

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing this is the worst hotel I have ever seen.
Cons: Do not have ongoing construction around guests. Provide guests with an apology and a refund for unsatisfactory service.
Location: Homer is a nice town with beautiful natural scenery. There are several nice hotels nearby with reasonable rates.
I had to move to a different hotel after one sleepless night at the Best Western - Bidarka Inn. The room was filthy, the carpet was old and a dingy dark brown. The bathroom was dirty and the coffee pot was broken and the cups had a coating of slime on them. The rooms are much smaller than they appear in the photos and they are run down and outdated. I could not sleep because the walls are paper thin and I could hear literally every word from the room next to me. I have never been in a hotel with such poor insulation between rooms - it was so loud that it was impossible to relax. The next morning, after I finally fell asleep from exhaustion, I was jolted awake by the sound of an extremely loud table saw that the hotel workers set up literally 4 feet from my door (see photos) there was also a lot of loud construction going on in the next room as workers were ripping out the bathroom, toilet and cabinets. This all took place early in the morning. I could not believe how unprofessional the staff was to do this to a paying guest. When I asked the front desk to do something about it, they said they could move me to another room.. they refused to even give me an apology nor would they tell the workers to stop construction. I decided to move to a different hotel because of how nasty the front desk was. They provided me with a fake number to the manager and refused to refund my money from the night before. This was the worst hotel experience ever!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Douglas J , General Manager • 03/23/17 I would like to apologize for your bad nights sleep. Please call the front desk and let us know that the guests around you are being noisy and keeping you from sleeping. We have no way of knowing unless you tell us. We would then contact the guests that are being noisy and/or move you to another room. The maintenance staff started the table saw at 11 a.m. When you brought this to our attention we felt it best for your sake to be moved to a different room away from the room construction where you could rest in peace. We are in the process of improving some rooms to make sure they do not become run down and outdated. We use pre wrapped cups for our in room coffee for sanitary reasons and single use machines as well for the same reason. If it was not working for you we would have gladly brought you another one had we known. I promise I was not avoiding your call. I was on vacation with my family as it was spring break for our kids in Alaska and was not able to respond due to our being in a remote location. I hope that you will give us another chance to make your stay a comfortable one in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enough Beds. No privacy.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Had enough beds, but there was no privacy and you could hear the next room over like they were in your room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing! Great space in the room, comfortable for the brief time we weren't adventuring! Will definitely keep coming back when we visit Homer!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Smoking! Yuck!

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Inspected the room, before we unpacked, as the entire hotel vicinity smelled like cigars and cigarettes. We booked a non-smoking room, but the smoke smell in the room was overwhelming. Manager Francis (mean Francis) insisted on charging for one night anyway. We left, stayed in alternate hotel down the street, great service, great people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel we saw in the area

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Probably the best hotel around for the area but that's not saying much