Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Euless, TX

Know before you go

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The accommodations allowed us to fully relax and save some money with the full kitchen.
Cons: Advertisement of the rooms. Expedia did not make it clear which rooms we were booking and it seems the pricing was not correct for the rooms booked.
Location: The Pratt Museum is a must, very informative. A beautiful day trip to Seldovia and roaming the city for the perfect pictures kept us busy.
If you are planning on staying in one of their "Larger Motel/Hotel Rooms" that are advertised to fit 5 people comfortably, do not plan on staying in the room for long periods of time. The room was very nice and tidy but extremely small. When you add the two bunk beds each with a Double bed on the bottom and a twin on top the room becomes almost claustrophobic. We were lucky to be traveling in the low season and were able to upgrade to the Oldtowne Studio Apartments. These accommodations seemed to be brand new with a complete kitchen including a Washer and Coin Operated Dryer. The rooms were oversized with large closets and comfortable beds. Overall we were extremely happy with our stay and were able to fully relax once we found comfortable accommodations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Great adventure!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Description of room!
The little room was cozy. The staff very helpful and informative. Close to beach, restaurants and not far from the "spit". Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Sheryl from Grand Rapids

Seaside charm

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Driftwood is a lovely place to stay in Homer. The staff was friendly, and the bed was very comfortable. It has the seaside charm, complete with colorful arrangements of flowers on the porch. I would love to go back someday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BISMARCK, ND

QUAINT AND HISTORICAL

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: THE STAFF - FRIENDLY, WELCOMING, AND HELPFUL. THE LOCATION - VERY CLOSE TO THE BEACH THE FACILITY - UNIQUE AND FULL OF CHARACTER
Cons: IF ONE IS EXPECTING A MARRIOT, THEY WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. IF ONE WANTS A TASTE OF ALASKA, THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY.
Location: ACROSS THE ROAD FROM A DELI AND A STEAK HOUSE; 2 BLOCKS FROM 2 SISTERS BAKERY(GOOD BREAKFAST); EASY DRIVE TO THE "SPIT" AND TO THE BELUGA WETLANDS.
THE ROOMS ARE SMALL BUT VERY CLEAN. IT HAD A TV (CABLE) WHICH MANY HOTELS IN ALASKA DO NOT.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
TINY TINY room. very very friendly host. but I got bed bugs bites!! cannot believe that I will get that in Alaska. :(
1 out of 5
by James from California

Beware.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
I consider this to be a bait and switch. We were drawn in by the photos of an amazing looking lodge, but the Driftwood turned out to be something very different. Small room, particle board walls, rickety building with lots of noise from the street, no view, and the "beach" was half mile walk away. The man who showed us to our room must have picked up on our disappointment and commented "at least you have a bathroom in your room. Most guest have to share a community bathroom. Wow. We had reserved for two nights and were stuck with it. They never cleaned our room.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Right on Kachemak Bay, good restaurant right across the street, other shops in Old Homer nearby.
4 out of 5
by Heath

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage

It's good for a couple and close to the beach.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
I didn't sleep really good coz there was mosquitos flying around!