Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy cabin with everything you need.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Everything was there if you needed it.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Fishing and hiking trails
Cabin had everything you needed a bathroom with a shower, kitchen area with a microwave,and a heater. The snow started falling and we were warm and comfortable. There is also a bar and food service if you don't want to fix anything in your cabin. The food was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location but not clean

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Close to many fishing and hiking spots. However, room is not clean. Floor and bathroom are dirty. There are scraps of used paper napkins on the floor in the bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great Cabin and Restaurant....

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, restaurant on site....
Cons: Weather, but that is a little out of their control....
Location: Drift fishing with Kenai River Fly Fishing.
We spent a couple days drift fishing the Kenai. Had a lot of fun at Gwins Cabins. Friendly staff, we built a camp fire every night. The people were awesome. The owner was extremely helpful, loaned us a cooler and booked our fishing. Great place....Excellent Food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pine Cabin

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Not exactly what was expected. The Pine Cabin had no running water and a port-a-potty out back that was not clean. The cabin itself was nice but did not have Internet or tv. The only thing in the cabin was 2 bunk beds, nightstand, a half table and 1 chair. Be prepared to entertain yourself and plan on just using it for sleeping. The owner was really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Nice little cabin in the woods...

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Clean and neat close to the diner & store
Cons: The light in the bedroom didn't work.
Location: Only about a half hour from Seward AK
Nice little cabin in the woods... actually nicer than I had expected. clean neat with accommodations... very pleasantly surprised.
1 out of 5
by Nova from Livonia

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
When booking this room, I was aware there was no bath or kitchen. What I did not know was that there was NO WATER! Camping in state and national parks one usually has access to water some way. There was nothing available for the cabin. We were directed to a porta-potty which did not even provide hand sanitizer and was not cleaned in the two days we were there. We were also told at this time there would be an outdoor concert going to midnight both nights we were there. In the restaurant the sign telling of a 3.5% service charge on the use of credit or debit cards was not readable because of a reflection so the addition to the bill was a surprise. Of course, it was on the cabin bill too. The person who checked us in was not helpful and he was belligerent when I said that I was amazed there was no water available. He then said I should have asked him and he would have given me a couple of bottles of water. Too late. And I doubt he would have GIVEN me the bottles. I assured him the place would be receiving a bad review from me. In the cabin there was an envelope for "TIPS." Really? I cannot imagine whatever I should be tipping when nothing was done in the room and, as previously stated, the porta-potty was not cleaned. I took this place because it was the only "affordable" place as close to Seward as I could find. Truly, I have never felt I have gotten less for $100.
3 out of 5
by James

Gwin's special spot

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived after a long flight and several hour drive. the room we had booked, the only one they had at the time, was a dry cabin. Nice, functional, very good beds. Customer service was...functional...it's a fishing camp...people are their to fish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Shore, MA

Rustic log cabins near Kenai River

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Authentic log cabins
Cons: restaurant only fair
Location: Close to fishing
Just slept there to be near Soldotna for a trip the following morning. Took a short walk to the nearby river but did not fish.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get a cabin with a bath

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Was in the Kenai peninsula over the July 4th weekend and all accommodations in Seward were long sold out. Found this place in Cooper Landing about 1 h drive away and tried it out. The only option was a cabin with no bath. I had assumed that meant there was a common bath but it turned out no bath really meant no bath. I can't blame the lodge for this since it was my own mistake. In the end I made friends with a guy who was there to fish and was in a cabin with a bath and he was nice enough to allow me to use it to shower. The cabin with bath was really nice and cosy and I would have loved to stay in one of those if they had been available. Overall my own cabin was clean and comfortable. Wifi for the place is spotty at best and often unusable. But overall not a bad place to put up for the night.