Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy cabin with everything you need.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Everything was there if you needed it.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Fishing and hiking trails
Cabin had everything you needed a bathroom with a shower, kitchen area with a microwave,and a heater. The snow started falling and we were warm and comfortable. There is also a bar and food service if you don't want to fix anything in your cabin. The food was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location but not clean

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Close to many fishing and hiking spots. However, room is not clean. Floor and bathroom are dirty. There are scraps of used paper napkins on the floor in the bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great Cabin and Restaurant....

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, restaurant on site....
Cons: Weather, but that is a little out of their control....
Location: Drift fishing with Kenai River Fly Fishing.
We spent a couple days drift fishing the Kenai. Had a lot of fun at Gwins Cabins. Friendly staff, we built a camp fire every night. The people were awesome. The owner was extremely helpful, loaned us a cooler and booked our fishing. Great place....Excellent Food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Nice little cabin in the woods...

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Clean and neat close to the diner & store
Cons: The light in the bedroom didn't work.
Location: Only about a half hour from Seward AK
Nice little cabin in the woods... actually nicer than I had expected. clean neat with accommodations... very pleasantly surprised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Shore, MA

Rustic log cabins near Kenai River

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Authentic log cabins
Cons: restaurant only fair
Location: Close to fishing
Just slept there to be near Soldotna for a trip the following morning. Took a short walk to the nearby river but did not fish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get a cabin with a bath

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Was in the Kenai peninsula over the July 4th weekend and all accommodations in Seward were long sold out. Found this place in Cooper Landing about 1 h drive away and tried it out. The only option was a cabin with no bath. I had assumed that meant there was a common bath but it turned out no bath really meant no bath. I can't blame the lodge for this since it was my own mistake. In the end I made friends with a guy who was there to fish and was in a cabin with a bath and he was nice enough to allow me to use it to shower. The cabin with bath was really nice and cosy and I would have loved to stay in one of those if they had been available. Overall my own cabin was clean and comfortable. Wifi for the place is spotty at best and often unusable. But overall not a bad place to put up for the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

cabin along the hi way

Posted May 9, 2016
It was early may when we spent the night,the cabin was simple clean and quiet.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
We stayed in one of the chalets, and it was alright. We know about about "roughing it" and certainly didn't expect anything fancy- which it wasn't. However, I did expect it to be warmer inside than outside- giving it was in the 40's when we arrived. However, the heat had not been turned on in the cabin. It took about 8 hours for the cabin to warm up enough for us to take off our jackets, but then it was alright. I also expected there to be a full sized fridge with a freezer since these cabins are for the fishermen. The fridge was very small, but luckily it was cold enough outside to keep our fish in the cooler on the deck. :) This was the most expensive place we stayed the 10 days we were in Alaska, yet it was the smallest cabin and had the least to offer us. There wasn't anything in the cabin for breakfast, but the information about the cabin said some breakfast items were provided. There weren't even any coffee filters. I would recommend this place to a group of fishermen because of it's close proximity to good fishing. It was definitely a clean, dry place to sleep. Otherwise, you don't get much for what pay to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Nice cottage near the river

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Great shape and location.
Cons: River could be a little warmer.....!
Location: Golden eagle, red salmon leaping, bear, good music in the restaurant bar.
Booked this "chalet" cottage to take a raft trip on the Kenai River. Small cottage, with queen bed bedroom (takes most of the room), loft with two twins and small living with couch. Also has kitchen. Very clean and everything worked. Beautiful location. Most folks in other units were there for fishing. Nice people.
3 out of 5
by pilotwife from Arkansas

Fooled again by the pictures

Posted Jun 21, 2014
We originally booked the room for 3 nights with vacationing in Alaska and stayed 1 night. The pictures show a lodge-like hotel by the Kenai river. What the reality is it's an old motor-Inn motel right by the highway with very old and outdated rooms. The motel room was clean. Thats all I can say about it.