Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Jennifer

Disappointed for being a Holiday Inn

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointed in the pool area. Water had green tint, hot tub had what appeared to have a shaved hair ring around it. When asked how Often they clean the pool area the Manager said weekly. Seemed surprised by the filth in the hottub and said well we had a wedding party in here...i would think with busy weekend activity they would have stayed on top of cleaning. large bubbled area above pool from what seems to be a leak. Lobby area was nice though. Pancake machine didn't work. Hot food was less then desirable but they had several other options. Bed was comfy and bedding was clean. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Towels had ragged stringy ends. And blow dryer sounded as if it was gong to explode. I'm not normally one to complain but for a $100+ room with this discounted pricing and being a Holiday Inn we expected much more!, building needs internal attention for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from urbana, il

Kind of grubby hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: It was quite.
Cons: Needs new carpet and two servings of coffee per room.
Location: We were there for an event 15 miles away and it was the closest hotel near us.
We've stayed at much worse, don't get me wrong, but the carpet was incredibly stained, the bedding and bed slightly used. They only provide one decaf and one regular coffee pod in each room, if you want more it's a dollar each. Not cool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Clean room, helpful and friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet. Quick check-in and check-out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Smell of smoke!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff!!! Very helpful and friendly
Cons: SMELL OF SMOKE - Needs to be updated
The room smelled of smoke!!!! The room was not as cleaned as it should have been, the rooms were cleaned late in the day after 3:00pm sometimes I interrupted the cleaning staff and they left.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brimley

clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
They couldn't find our reservation because my name was misspelled. Luckily, the second front desk guy figured it out, but one of our party waited two hours to check in. After that everything was smooth and pleasant. The room was quite comfortable. The breakfast was uninspiring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff again was excellent - breakfast was very nice with lots of variety.
Location: St. James restaurant was excellent referral from staff. Food was excellent and there was a large variety of choices available.
Staff was very polite and friendly. Quick to answer questions and solve a minor issue when we arrived. Room was clean but had a slight musty smell - not enough to be an issue just slightly noticeable. Bed was comfortable and no road noise for as close as facility is located.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping needs improvement

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Housekeeping could be better. When I got to my room there was a vacuum in the middle of the room that was left by the cleaning staff. The waste baskets were not emptied and the ice bucket bag was not replaced.
5 out of 5
by Brittany

Clean and affordable

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and affordable. Decorated fairly modern with comfortable beds. Overall a good option!
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from SE Michigan

Great place to stay in Kendallville

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
We came to celebrate a family wedding. This hotel was convenient to the event location and we appreciated the quiet area. Breakfast area was good, with a reasonable variety of foods. It was the first time I ever saw an automatic pancake maker. It works well (except that it ran out of batter rather quickly.) There is also a great park with a beach at the lake a mile away in Kendallville. All the family kids loved it.
3 out of 5
by KUANG HSIUNG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels