Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from huddersfield, uk

Convenient location for Cape Town attractions

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Decor in bathroom in room 8!
Location: Great location. Close to so many things ... V&A waterfront, table mountain, kirstenbosch botanical gardens, wine region, cape point. Very safe too.
Extremely welcoming staff who can't do enough for you. Our room, room 8, was very big, as was the en suite bathroom, but the bathroom in particular could have done with a bit of attention; it also overlooks the road which we would ask to avoid if visiting again. Overall, the excellent staff and location way outweighed the relatively minor concerns we had with the room, and we would stay again for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on outskirts of Cape Town

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Wifi bad, but we were put on the Hotel's network, so huge improvement. Lack of air conditioning a disappointment, the fans helped. Loose taps were fixed and missing hook behind bathroom door fixed. Otherwise the room was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Tina from durban

the fairy godmothet

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
Nice garden and pool. Interiour has seen better days. Decor from 80ies. Would really need some TLC and a good decorator as it is a fantastic building with huge potential. Great staff!
5 out of 5
by Serge from Sainte Pazanne (44)

A la découverte d'une terre inconnue

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
Ce séjour a été très agréable et surprenant à la fois pour les occidentaux que nous sommes. L'accueil nous a pleinement satisfait,le personnel, surtout Matu à la grille, était très disponible, souriant et agréable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite fancy but strange service & expensive

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
We did arrive relatively late a Sunday night and the poor gentleman in the reception had to do a lot of things for a lot of guests (checking in, showing the grounds, carrying luggage, taking dinner orders and room service orders etc). Meanwhile the owners were around, did not help and overall gave off a strange feeling, almost making us feel uncomfortable. The place is nice but I feel it is too expensive in comparison to many similar and more charming places.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cant complain about anything

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great open grounds, good all round.
5 out of 5
by José Manuel from La Coruña

As in good old times

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely hotel. A pity we could not enjoy more.
2 out of 5
by gill

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels
I was given the last available room on arrival, which was awful; small, furnished about 15 years ago by my rating, and with cold water for the first day. I complained on arrival. The receptionist on duty was very responsive (as were all the reception staff) but I never heard from a member of management throughout my stay. After 2 nights I was allocated a more acceptable room. Although the staff one actually meets were helpful, the guest house is tired, needs a complete overhaul, and needs a general manager who is willing to engage with the customer when there is a problem. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Steve from Isle of Wight UK

Another wonderful stay

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Great location for me with a hire car. Peaceful, great gardens and facilities. A real 'home from home'.
Cons: Very difficult to say anything warrants improving.............!!
Location: The Palm House is a perfect location to be a tourist who is mobile or on business to reach meeting destinations in a reasonable time scale. I had meet
I stayed here by choice 5-12 November 2013 on business. I have stayed before.The Palm House offers everything that I needed, good internet, peaceful and great food to order. I will stay again when I visit Cape Town.
4 out of 5
by Cecilia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels