Ratings based on 1,621 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location Quiet on 2nd floor

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Terrible tv Chanel options (couldn't watch the Major League Baseball game for example!) Too warm in evening with air on lowest setting; loose and leaky shower head
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful hotel, close to Fenway

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for one night on business. The staff were friendly and the room was spacious and clean. Nice large bathroom. The hotel is located a very short walk away from Fenway Park and there are numerous bars and restaurant in the area. I would stay there again when I return to Boston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Shower drain was clogged, scale didn’t work. Left standing in dirty puddles of cold water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ny

Great hotel, super convenient location.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Bathroom was updated and very clean. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Dimmers next to bed. Pillows too squishy.
Very clean, comfortable beds, basic amenities. Staff was helpful and efficient. Super close to subway ( T). Room was quiet. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Perfect hotel!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Just had an amazing time here! 10/10 would recommend to everyone I know!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Hotel Commonwealth

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: easy check in, Hotel common areas seemed nice.
Cons: Cleanliness of room, Advertising of rooms.
Check in was fine. Was able to check in an hour earlier then scheduled. Pillows on bed were small queen sized pillows on a king sized bed and very soft. We stayed in a suite and on the cushioned bench in front of the window there was Trash and Wrappers under and on the cushions. No Coffee pot. The Hotel is advertised as having Smart TV's and tablets. The TV's are not actual smart TV's. There's no apps on them like one would think. The in room tablet that was advertised had a password and was locked. When I approached the front desk staff about this they told me that they were smart tvs but didn't have apps. (not sure what a smart TV is in there mind then) and when I told them about the tablet they said they didn't know and didn't offer to fix it or switch it out. Overall for the price of the room it wasn't worth it in my mind. Have stayed in other area hotels where you got more bang for your buck and had nicer amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel, parking too expensive

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking
Location: 10 minutes walk to Newbury street where you find many nice dinning places and shops; close to both BU and Northeastern,
This is a very nice hotel situated close to BU and Northeastern. At $56/night, valet parking is too expensive. And if you want your car back for rides during your stay, you have to keep tipping the valet. Next time I would look into a more parking-friendly hotel first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upscale accommodations

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Upscale hotel with multiple quality restaurants / bars. Was able to get free upgrade to junior suite and room was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, CT

perfect location for red sox fan and college visit

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located near Fenway park. There a showcases for Red Sox memorabilias and one elevator has a baseball design with Red Sox player autographs. It's a fun hotel for Red Sox fans. Also we were in Boston visiting colleges and the location was perfect. Very close to Boston University and also convenient for Boston College, MIT, Harvard, etc. Rooms look recently renovated and very stylish and clean. The restaurant downstairs, Eastern Standards have great food as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Staff polite, cheerful, helpful Rooms large, clean Very secure, you need a room key to operate elevators In a GREAT area of Boston