Ratings based on 1,531 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great+location%2C+wonderful+place+and+people%21

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Just+back+form+an+amazing+stay+at+the+Cliff+Lodge%21++Couldn%27t+be+happier+with+the+room%2C+comfort%2C+Cindy+who+was+lovely+and+so+accommodating%2C+and+the+owners%21++Truly+felt+welcome+and+a+part+of+this+beautiful+property.++Love+the+outside+seating+area%2C+rocking+chairs+on+the+front+porch%2C+a+true+B%26B+experience%21%0D%0A%0D%0ALocation+couldn%27t+be+better%21++Walk+to%2Ffrom+the+ferry%2C+minutes+from+the+heart+of+town%2C+yet+quiet+for+sleeping+and+relaxing.++I+highly+recommend+the+Cliff+Lodge%2C+and+we+will+be+back%21
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Convenient Hotel near Fenway

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: More family oriented dining?
Location: Close to Fenway Park; entrance to the "T" is next door; near Newberry Street shopping; near Boston University.
Very accommodating and helpful staff made our stay at the Commonwealth a good experience; convenient to Fenway Park for a Sox game and to the "T" for our trip downtown and experience some of the Freedom Trail sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Birthday visit to the Hotel Commonwealth.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: we liked how close to the "T" and Fenway park the Hotel was.
Cons: There are only two issues that we would change, the plumbing needs to be fixed and the Baseball elevator had an off putting odour inside of it.
Location: The location was amazing, Cask and Flaggon was close, Fenway Park, Barnes and Nobles, Starbucks, 7-11. The "T" station. Location was great.
We recently had a four day stay in Boston, and decided to stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. Upon our arrival the staff was friendly and knowledge. The location of the hotel was extremely convenient, the front entrance of the hotel was steps away from the T (Kenmore station) and seeing that the purpose of our trip was to watch our home team play the Boston RedSox at Fenway park, the Hotel Commonwealth could not have been any closer. Nick the head concierge informed us that the hotel was the official hotel of the RedSox, which as baseball fans we thought was an interesting bit of information to know. We had booked a junior suite and upon entering our suite we were extremely surprised with our accommodations. The room was very large, extremely clean, and well decorated. Our room faced Commonwealth Ave, overlooking Barnes and Nobel, the room was quiet and a great value for the money. We will be recommending the Hotel Commonwealth to anyone who asks us about our visit to Boston and we will be making sure that the next time we travel to Boston, that we book there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great neighborhood

Posted Jul 31, 2017
This was a great stay. Very good hotel y a top neighborhood. No need to have a car, subway and bus station by the hotel. Very nice staff helpful and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent hotel close to Fenway Park

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Great location, attractive decor, clean.
Location: Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Gardiner Museum are close to the hotel. Duck Boat Tours and a Skywalk are nearby at the Prudential Centre.
Had a great stay at Hotel Commonwealth. Rooms have been refurbished recently and are comfortable and attractive. The hotel is a short walk from Fenway Park, so an excellent choice if attending a game there, and it is located in a nice walkable area of Boston. A trolley station is next door, so it's easy to hop on the trolley and get to North or South Boston and Cambridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Great hotel close to Fenway

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Our stay was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Concierge available to help plan activities. Walking distance from Fenway which was a huge plus for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great hotel for Red Sox fans!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Conveniently located, if you plan to attend ballgames while in Boston (we attended 3) this hotel is most definitely for you! A short walk to the ballpark for the games you see in person and a great view of the ballpark for if you need to catch the game from your room! Hotel staff was accommodating, helpful, and always kind. Rooms were always cleaned even when we left the room at off times, spacious facilities, and room service was outstanding. With excellent restaurants surrounding it, Starbucks and Dunkin literally a few steps away, and the Train just below it, this hotel couldn't have been anymore what we needed for our trip to see Boston and the Red Sox!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainville, CT

Fenway Park favorite

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Very knowledgeable and helpful front desk. Beautiful and clean rooms. Quiet-you wouldn't know you're in the middle of town. A 5 minute walk to Fenway Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to Fenway park for games.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Close to Fenway Park parking was easy.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Different places to eat gave many choices.
Was our first time going to Boston. They made everything easy from parking to check in and out. Nice area to walk around to see the sites and game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Boston trip 2017

Posted Jul 17, 2017
This place was great and walking distance to Fenway. Our view from our room was awesome. Staff our very friendly. Great place to stay!