Ratings based on 1,536 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Fenway Park

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Great hotel for a game at Fenway Parking is a little pricey, $53 per night 😩
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
My husband and I booked this hotel last minute after winning tickets to a Red Sox game. The location is perfect; literally a 5 minute walk to Fenway. The staff is excellent. The minute we pulled up we were greeted by the valet and bellhop. Check-in was seamless. Another great feature was that there are 2 different restraints/ bars literally within the hotel. It was pouring rain the night we went so it was lovely to have a cocktail nice and close. I will definitely be staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could walk to Fenway Park.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Went on trip to see Fenway Park. Walking distance to ballpark and also nice walking in surrounding neighborhoods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The hotel staff was very nice specifically the person who receive us at the front desk! We were given an unsolicited room upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great location, wonderful place and people!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Just back form an amazing stay at the Cliff Lodge! Couldn't be happier with the room, comfort, Cindy who was lovely and so accommodating, and the owners! Truly felt welcome and a part of this beautiful property. Love the outside seating area, rocking chairs on the front porch, a true B&B experience! Location couldn't be better! Walk to/from the ferry, minutes from the heart of town, yet quiet for sleeping and relaxing. I highly recommend the Cliff Lodge, and we will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Convenient Hotel near Fenway

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: More family oriented dining?
Location: Close to Fenway Park; entrance to the "T" is next door; near Newberry Street shopping; near Boston University.
Very accommodating and helpful staff made our stay at the Commonwealth a good experience; convenient to Fenway Park for a Sox game and to the "T" for our trip downtown and experience some of the Freedom Trail sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Birthday visit to the Hotel Commonwealth.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: we liked how close to the "T" and Fenway park the Hotel was.
Cons: There are only two issues that we would change, the plumbing needs to be fixed and the Baseball elevator had an off putting odour inside of it.
Location: The location was amazing, Cask and Flaggon was close, Fenway Park, Barnes and Nobles, Starbucks, 7-11. The "T" station. Location was great.
We recently had a four day stay in Boston, and decided to stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. Upon our arrival the staff was friendly and knowledge. The location of the hotel was extremely convenient, the front entrance of the hotel was steps away from the T (Kenmore station) and seeing that the purpose of our trip was to watch our home team play the Boston RedSox at Fenway park, the Hotel Commonwealth could not have been any closer. Nick the head concierge informed us that the hotel was the official hotel of the RedSox, which as baseball fans we thought was an interesting bit of information to know. We had booked a junior suite and upon entering our suite we were extremely surprised with our accommodations. The room was very large, extremely clean, and well decorated. Our room faced Commonwealth Ave, overlooking Barnes and Nobel, the room was quiet and a great value for the money. We will be recommending the Hotel Commonwealth to anyone who asks us about our visit to Boston and we will be making sure that the next time we travel to Boston, that we book there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great neighborhood

Posted Jul 31, 2017
This was a great stay. Very good hotel y a top neighborhood. No need to have a car, subway and bus station by the hotel. Very nice staff helpful and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent hotel close to Fenway Park

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Great location, attractive decor, clean.
Location: Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Gardiner Museum are close to the hotel. Duck Boat Tours and a Skywalk are nearby at the Prudential Centre.
Had a great stay at Hotel Commonwealth. Rooms have been refurbished recently and are comfortable and attractive. The hotel is a short walk from Fenway Park, so an excellent choice if attending a game there, and it is located in a nice walkable area of Boston. A trolley station is next door, so it's easy to hop on the trolley and get to North or South Boston and Cambridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Great hotel close to Fenway

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Our stay was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Concierge available to help plan activities. Walking distance from Fenway which was a huge plus for us.