Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful location

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Cons: The only difficulty was that again there was a wedding and it was rather noisy in the morning but besides that it was Wonderful
Location: The location is great it's very close to Kennebunkport you're also right on the edge of the water so you can go for a great walks
when we arrived staff was very nice and accommodating. At the same time there was a wedding going on. The room was beautiful and just the right size. The morning was a bit noisy when the wedding party left but the most perfect continental breakfast . It had bacon sausage banana pancakes fruit oatmeal pastries you name it it was there it was a fantastic set up. And the staff was wonderful. I would highly recommend it for another visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Nice place, poor housekeeping

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Beautiful resort on the water with very nice fall decorations. Room was small and tub was too dirty to use. Bedspread smelled of urine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Very beautiful location - comfortable suite upgrade. Kayaks for the river, bikes for the walking village - gorgeous setting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Excellent hotel,staff and amenities. Beautiful surroundings and well maintained. Pleasurable experience during our one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The hotel sits right on the water's edge which was lovely however there was a wedding every night we were there which took up the whole lawn. This made it awkward for other guests to swim in the pool or sit out by the water at night. We had a corner room in the main building. The hotel itself is fairly old--noted mostly in the plumbing and the stair wells. The common areas are updated but the rooms are fairly basic. The location is great. A short walk to dock square and if walking isn't your speed--bicycles are on the property for rent. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the wrap around porch and having a drink or two. It would have been even better if we could have done this looking out at the water. But again, weddings. Every. Night. Overall I would book here again if the price was right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Very old hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Bathroom is tiny with step in tub shower. Room and bed are comfy. Staff is outstanding, very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Good quality all round

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The hotel has more character than a lot of places; and the staff are visibly motivated and work well together.
Cons: Some of the equipment in the main building is looking a bit dated. A face-lift would be relatively easy to do. Rental bikes likewise.
Location: The trolley (operated by a separate organisation) runs by the front door every hour; but it goes away from the centre of town first - disconcerting.
We spent two nights here at the end of a New England tour. The location is good; and the staff make it an easy stay. We were in the main building which might have differences from the large newer building. The room we were allocated at first had a noisy pair of fans beneath -- probably extractor fans from the kitchen: however, upon request, we were moved to another room, two floors higher and further away from those fans. We enjoyed the live music on the Monday evening we were there. Breakfast was going to be expensive for our (very moderate) needs; but the hostess graciously re-categorised us as children, which we appreciated a lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice location but rooms are extremely small

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Its not a bad hotel, but I wouldn't exactly call it a resort as the name implies. Everything is an extra charge. Our room was listed as Queen, yet the bed was definitely a full size. Our room was on 2nd floor and must have been over the bar area on ground floor. Heard noise from this area till around 11pm. Location is very good though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem, NC

A slice of heaven

Posted Aug 23, 2017
After an exhausting 10 hour drive (and flat tire!) we were completely delighted with Nonantum! Our room was so comfortable and the view was like a watercolor painting....just a beautiful setting by the water! Our brunch the next morning was wonderful in taste and variety! The staff was super friendly. We loved visiting Kennebunkport, just five minutes away. We would love to go back and stay longer!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The restaurant was decent.
Cons: We were in the main building. Room was small. The carpet was old and threadbare. The furniture was old and is past due for replacement.
The hotel seems well suited for families with young children but I wouldn't recommend it for couples on their own.