Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Beautiful "old-style" hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, lovely rooms with comfortable bed and pillows. Loved the pool and the views from the dining room as we had breakfast.
Cons: It would be nice to have tv in room. There is a tv in a lounge downstairs, but we like to watch tv in the evening before going to sleep.
Location: Kennebunkport is charming with fun shops, art galleries, and excellent restaurants. "Mable's Lobster Claw" is a walk down the hill, excellent.
The Colony is an elegant hotel in the style of the grand hotels of earlier times. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is delightful and helpful. The hotel is pet-friendly, which I enjoyed, as we could visit with beautiful dogs who were all so well behaved. The swimming pool is comfortably heated and large enough to do laps, and the breakfasts were delicious. Grounds are beautifully kept, and a short walk to the beach and surf.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not return

Posted Jun 1, 2015
We had a horrible experience at this hotel. We knew it was an older hotel, but it was awful. No tv in the room is fine,but a comfortable chair to relax in would have been nice. And our room was adjacent to the Ball Room, which had to be set up early in the mornng with no regard for the sleeping guests. We told the staff and were shown another room, but it had only one chair and less room. We choose to check out and went to another hotel. would not return or recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old fashioned hotel by the sea

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: No tv. No ac. Open windows and a breeze from the sea.
Cons: Room service would be nice.
We come here time and time again to relax and recoup from the busy pace of our life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful historic hotel on the beach

Posted May 31, 2015
What a lovely place. We arrived at The Colony after spending 10 days in NYC, Upstate NY, and Boston. Upon pulling up to the hotel you appreciate the majesty of the place and the historical significance. Guests are greeted by friendly staff and offered champagne as you check in. The rooms are lovely and every but what you would expect in New England; chastening wallpaper and furnishings and a bathroom which exceed any expectations. There's a lovely ocean view whether you're in your room, the pool, the bar or walking around the beaches. We played shuffleboard, listens to the live music, collected seashells at the beach and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The hotel offers trolly servixe which takes you directly to Dock Square and all the restaurants and shops. You can also bring your dog, many guests did. We can't wait to return and will stay time and time again at The Colony. What a fantastic experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Past its prime, but delightful all the same.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned style and ambience.
Cons: In-room facilities could be improved considerably, but other rooms may have been better equipped.
Location: Location is great, overlooking the estuary and the grounds are delightful. Kennybunkport is a lovely little town and well worth a visit.
We booked here because of the position and history of the place. Whilst the room that we had was not well-equipped by today's standards it was clean, comfortable and had a nice view over the water. The overall experience was good and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Classic hotel, felt like stepping back in time

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The beautiful grounds and gardens and fabulous ocean views were fantastic. The service from the reception desk, bellman, and all waitstaff was very p
Location: The location was perfect, remote enough to be quiet, but close enough to walk to. Shopping and restaurants. St Anthony Monastery, St Anne church, Sn
We had a wonderful restful time. We were supposed to be in Portland for two nights, but after passing through Kennebunkport and seeing the Colony, we decided to cancel our reservations when I found rooms available on Expedia for the Colony. We are so happy we did! The staff was attentive and the breakfast buffet that came with the room was great with lots of choices and a great selection of fresh fruits and berries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Beautiful old style hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Beautiful old world charm and class. Service was excellent. Would love to return here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful classic hotel overlooking the ocean

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful location overlooking the ocean and close to kennebunkport. We got a free upgrade to an oceanview room which was great, but it also happened to be located right above a function room where there were three weddings that weekend. Although we could pretty much hear everything that was being said, the music thankfully stopped at a reasonable time in the evening. Breakfast was delicious and the view was lovely. Would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long Island, new york

Very good location with very nice facilities.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We found the main buildings great but the Carriage house was a bit shabby and run down. The staff was wonderful at every encounter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

wedding weekend

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Old world charm but with modern customer service standards.
Cons: n/a
Location: Trolley bus trip that took approx 40 mins and took you to the coast, past the Bush residence, around port Arundal and town area. Lovely gardens.
We stayed for 2 nights and were delighted with our stay. We were located in east house and although initially disappointed, the rooms we had were large light and airy and had large tv and nice bathrooms. We also had air conditioning which proved exceptionally useful on such a hot weekend. Guests that were staying in the main hotel were surprised at our facilities. Breakfast was very good and the wedding fayre exceptional. Location is superb and next time we are in the area we will stay at the Colony - just loved it.