Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great location and excellent staff. The views are spectacular. Happy hour by the pool with live music an added bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by The Colony Hotel Staff , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place and great service

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Great service and scenery
Cons: nothing
Location: go to downtown kennebunkport
This is a beautiful place. Staff are excellent. Pool is overlooking the ocean landscape is breathtaking. The Food is excellent and less then a mile to downtown Kennebunkport short walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga springs

very noisy!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
We just stayed there last week.Took the in laws there for a treat.Not a good bang for the big bucks we put out for the room. There was no TV in the room and children were left to cause a roucus in the hallways(Their parents were obnoxious as well). Also, they had wedding party which would be fine had it not been carried on to the wee hours of the next morning. The people congregated in the pool area which our room looked over.The noise kept us from sleeping all night. The hotel itself was quaint and staff was great. Nice breakfast served but tips are expected for coffee refills and the like.Bike rentals available. I would choose a standard hotel next time as we just didn't get anything special with the money spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: The service
Cons: Expedia did not follow-up on booking. We were lucky that they had rooms available.
The hotel is beautiful. Views of the ocean are exquisite. Great location close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Old with elegant bones.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: walking distance to town and beach. Amazing pool and lot's to do.
Cons: Was fine for 2 nights but might wish a TV if staying longer or bad weather.
Location: close to town. Plenty to do close by and at the hotel.
Wanted a different experience than the normal beach hotel. Fascinating to see the beautiful old construction. Very elegant though slightly past it's prime. Fantastic saltwater pool, attentive staff and excellent breakfast buffet and service.. Stayed 2 nights which was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice location. Beautiful views

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Very relaxing atmosphere. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Great ocean setting. We'll return when possible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Hotel is beautiful from the moment you walk in the front door and see the ocean! Grounds are gorgeous, staff is wonderful and the rooms are updated and current! Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Beautiful view. Nice grounds. But spotty Internet. Definitely worth going back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Telford PA

Great Way To Experience Kennebunkport

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This hotel is beautiful and comfortable. Easy walk into the town. Food in the restaurant was very good, especially breakfast. Despite being pet friendly, it is very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Beautiful "old-style" hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, lovely rooms with comfortable bed and pillows. Loved the pool and the views from the dining room as we had breakfast.
Cons: It would be nice to have tv in room. There is a tv in a lounge downstairs, but we like to watch tv in the evening before going to sleep.
Location: Kennebunkport is charming with fun shops, art galleries, and excellent restaurants. "Mable's Lobster Claw" is a walk down the hill, excellent.
The Colony is an elegant hotel in the style of the grand hotels of earlier times. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is delightful and helpful. The hotel is pet-friendly, which I enjoyed, as we could visit with beautiful dogs who were all so well behaved. The swimming pool is comfortably heated and large enough to do laps, and the breakfasts were delicious. Grounds are beautifully kept, and a short walk to the beach and surf.