Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples florida

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: good location
Cons: friendlier, helpful staff
had to go to desk to get clean towels extra shampoo or anything needed. no amenities at all slow wifi
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Linda, thank you for staying with us. We are glad your overall visit was pleasant and that you liked our location. Since our suites are designed for guests desiring home-like living, these guests often bring their own bath amenities. These items are available and complimentary at the front desk at any time. Please accept our apologies if we did not communicate this to you at check-in. We hope you will give us another chance so we can serve you much better. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I was really disappointed because I need to cancel a night due to a emergency and I wasn't able to do it. The room had the trash can filled up the shower was dirty and the ac wasn't working property..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my personal apology as well every assurance we will be working to address the concerns you experienced in your room. I have shared your feedback with my housekeeping and maintenance teams to take the corrective actions. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to better meet your expectations in the near future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gainesville fl

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Was ok. No pool and I could have sworn there was a pool advertised. No ice machine. U had to ask for a hair dryer and clerk had to pick hairs out of one before giving it to me. Room was clean. Pillows were awful thin. Soaps were not pleasant smelling. Refrigerator make an awful noise. Location was good. Had to ask for cookware It was not in your room and then u had to carry it up yourself. Room was nicely renovated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit. Although you liked our convenient location and your room, we are sorry for the issues you experienced and regret the inconvenience it caused. I will be sure to share your concerns with the management to see where we can make improvements. Please be informed, to ensure cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites. Please give us another chance to make a better impression on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Good location bad facility

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The good thing is the hotel is located in a nice area. The bad part is that the hotel is older and needs updating. The first floor, where our room was located smelled like a pet shop or veterinarian's office due to all the dogs and pets. I would not stay here again. There is also no daily maid service and you have to bring towels and linens to the front desk and exchange for clean items.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Although you liked our location, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We work hard to provide the best and cleanest environment for all of our guests. We will revisit our deep cleaning program to see where we can make improvements so future guests are not similarly impacted. Please know, our housekeeping is done on a weekly basis to respect the privacy of our guests and offer minimal intrusion. We invite you to come back and validate the changes we will be implementing and to experience the stay you expect and deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for our needs

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Located in a very nice area. About everything you would need is close without the hotel being in a crowded/busy area. Breakfast was sufficient. Place was clean and quiet. I don't think there was a pool. We are staying again at the end of the month.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Kennesaw Town Center. We are delighted to know you were comfortable here and that our location close to various attractions of the city was ideal for your visit. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: very quiet.
Cons: plates and forks and cups for the kitchen.
Location: everything is within driving distance.
great staff. The hotel is very clean. i would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone i know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for including Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Kennesaw Town Center in your travel plans. We are delighted to read our location was ideal for your needs and that you enjoyed our clean facilities and courteous service. Please know, to ensure cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk. We will remind our team to communicate this more clearly going forward. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

NO ICE?

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: GET AN ICE MACHINE.
The best thing I can say about this hotel is it was clean. However, the front desk staff member didn't seem to know her job. We held the room with one credit card but wanted to pay with another. She said it would charge the second card but it charged the original card. When we asked for a receipt she said she could not give us a printed receipt but we could to get in online. There was no ice machine available for guests. When we asked at the front desk she said she was told to say ice machines are unsanitary. How is an ice dispensing machine unsanitary? Every self serve restaurant in America uses one. She then told us there were ice trays in the freezer in our room. Thanks! That's perfect for tomorrow. Except we are only staying one night. Sheesh! The complimentary breakfast consisted of coffee, muffins and granola bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Gina, thank you for your constructive review. Our top priority is to deliver an exceptional customer service to each guest, but we are sorry to read this was not your experience. Your comments have initiated additional training for our team as we continuously improve. On a positive note, we are glad you liked our well-kept property. We hope to have another opportunity to make a favorable impression of our hotel. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by James G

Extended Stay Kennesaw

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Wish I had known the hotel was across the street from 5th 3rd Stadium, then I would not have had to buy a parking pass for the game. The desk and housekeeping staff were quite helpful and provided outstanding customer service. The breakfast the next morning was a little underwhelming but since I saw the room had a kitchen understandable. I will definitely stay here the next time a USA Rugby Match is scheduled and when I have business in the Kennesaw area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
James, thanks so much for the nice review of Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Kennesaw Town Center. We are very happy to know you had a comfortable experience with us and our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible.

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was rude. Tori checked us in and she wasn't nice at all. Wouldn't recommend staying here. The toilet seat was nasty, the sheets has hairs on it and a few stains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We can assure you that what you experienced at our front desk and in your room is not acceptable, and we will be reviewing and altering our guidelines within the respective departments to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Sonja

Kind Clerk

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful late night clerk. We arrived after the front desk closed. Had to call them to open the door for us. Clerk couldn't have been nicer. We apologized that weather and accidents delayed our arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sonja, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Atlanta - Kennesaw Town Center. We are delighted to know you loved the excellent service provided by our front desk associates and they made you feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager