Ratings based on 6,325 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Ideal to go walking in Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park etc
This hotel is large, and busy. Service was generally professional and good. If you want to be close to parks, shops and transportation it is perfect. Breakfast was excellent and bar service, friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Handy hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Although a bit dated, this hotel is convenient for transport and shops. The restaurant serves good Asian food. Cons- housekeeping knocked on door at 0800 first day and second day knocked at 0900 and just came into room whilst my husband was still in bed . We had forgotten to put 'do not disturb ' sign on door. Advice to housekeeping- do not walk into the room that early in the morning!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet, location
Cons: Updated rooms.
This hotel is in a great location (close to high street kensington underground station). Very quiet area. Hotel is a little dated, but clean. Good breakfast buffet options, worth the money for the convenience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of renovation

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Breakfast staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Renovation of the rooms and stop the receptionist staff pressuring guests for upgrades to rooms.
Location: Good location
We were staying at the hotel for 4 nights which cost nearly $900.00 upon arrival the receptionist offered an upgrade of the room, it was suppose to be much nicer along with breakfast. I would hate to see what the first hotel room was like if this room was an upgrade. It cost us another £120.00 ($300.00) which we should have said no. The rooms definitely need renovating. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast were extremely nice and were always willing to help, they were the saving grace during our stay. We had looked at the Holiday Inn opposite but chose the Corpothorne hotel on the recommendation of a friend, we will be choosing the Holiday Inn before future stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rarotonga

Hotel in convenient location

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: its OK
Location: See above
We usually select this hotel because of its proximity to the Circle Line tube and a handy shopping centre. it continued to fulfil this requirement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcester

great hotel...great food and convenient location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: tv didnt work for a while. This was sorted out.
Location: Came to sing at st Cuthberts.....10 minute walk
Excellent reception staff......odd lift experience...excellent room comfort. Breakfast amazing and it was great to have lunch and evening meal at the hotel with a beautiful cocktail. Will certainly stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big Room by European Standard

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Breakfast menu and large room.
Cons: Air conditioning in the summer.
Location: Easy walk to Albert and Victoria museum as well as Kensington Palace/Park.
Dated but clean. Large room. Large towels. Breakfast excellent. Room warm in spite of air conditioning. Beds not comfortable. Not all lights worked in the room. Lots of hot water with nice tub and shower. You need to make transport arrangements back to the airport on your own unless you don't mind paying the high price of a cab which is all the concierge will arrange for you. Concierge was very useful in giving maps and direction for tours on your own. Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great Location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Nice location close to Kensington palace and gardens. Convenient to underground for sightseeing. Rooms are average. Fitness center is very small. Restaurant/pub has decent food for a quick meal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Donna Thank you for taking the time post a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Tara. We appreciate your feedback and I have shared with the team. I hope to have the pleasure of your visit again soon. Kind regards Neil General manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Hotel however position excellent

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I was shocked when I arrived as the property from the outside looked terrible. It's old but not nice old. The inside foyer etc was ok. I arrived early and was given a room to use until mine was ready which was very nice of them however the room was terrible. My room wasn't much better as it was windy outside and it was whistling through the gap in the window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your stay was not completely satisfactory and that you felt disappointed with the overall experience. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and restore your faith in our hotel, standards and services. Kind regards Neil Braude General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KSA

wonderful

Posted Aug 21, 2017
evry thing was nice and great just do not order food in the room i dod not like it
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Amna Thank you for your positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the standards and facilities. I am sorry that your meal was not to your liking. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Neil General manager