Ratings based on 2,045 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Beautiful older building Great location with access to Underground to central London
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Steps away from the Piccadilly and City/District Underground lines so you can be in central London in just a few minutes.
After staying at this location twice in the last month, both times have fallen below my expectations for the both the quality I expect for Radisson Blu properties and the price I paid. My first stay, I quite enjoyed the room but the ceiling leaked from the AC vent and I woke up to the noise of dripping and a wet carpet. I did not receive any cups to use with the tea kettle nor water for the bathroom. The second stay, my room was tiny and you had to sit on the toilet sideways because of the sink. Shortly after check in I tried to take a nap and found management just walking into my room. The fire alarm went off multiple times and I went down to ask the desk what in the world was going on and the staff told me there was nothing they could do. The first time the alarm went off because of someones shower and the second was because of someone smoking in their room. I can understand the smoking one, but a shower should not set off a fire alarm. It made me weary to take a shower as I didn't want to set off the alarm again and inconvenience the other guests again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location-close to tube

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: great location
Location: heaps close by
I stayed a few nights at this hotel and have no faults. The staff are very kind and friendly. The rooms are great size and clean. Its a 2min walk to the tube and around 10min walk to Hyde park. This is where I will stay each time i come back to London!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, close to London underground

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel is perfectly located for London sightseeing, and the nearby Glouster Road tube station, directly accessible from Heathrow. Walking distance to Vic & Al Museum and Kensington Palace.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI - USA

Teeny Room: Big Expense

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The breakfast that was included at 20 pounds per person, was very well done, lots of choices and was quite tasty and comfortable.
Cons: The price lowered and the room for a family of 4 looked nothing like your picture, it was ridiculously tiny and quite claustrophobic for a family of 4
Location: Short walk to the Gloucster Tube station, Waitrose grocery, and Pizza Express next door. Nice neighborhood. Easy Piccadilly tube ride to Heathrow.
We stayed here as a family of 4 on our last night in London. I thought it would be a nice treat for my family to stay at this "luxury" hotel. For the price, and the pictures shown I thought this hotel would be nice. First impression was our room was not ready, which was surprising to me since it was after check in. Ok I can handle that, we went to the business center to kill some time and they offered to take our bags up. They said it would be only about 20 minutes, we checked after 20 minutes still not ready, but it would be in 5 minutes. So its finally ready, and we arrive, it the teeny tiny elevator that can barely hold all 4 of us - luckily we didn't have our bags, because they wouldn't have made it up with us, The hallway was barely as wide, and the room, was soooooo disappointing, We had a king bed and 2 twins. There was only 1 chair at the desk to sit at and you couldn't really sit there because no one could get around you because the room was barely big enough for the beds. Not worth the price at all, would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Nice hotel in an interesting part of town.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: We were comfortable there. We especially liked that there was room in the lobby for us to meet with our family with the prospect of also ordering cof
Location: Near the underground, Museum of Natural History and Science Museum. We walked to Leister Square and Soho Square. Near Hyde Park also.
We could use the hotel as a home base for walks to Hyde Park, Soho Square and Leicester Square. We could get meals at the hotel if we wished, but there were also places to eat and get coffee close by/
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Close to Gloucester Road tube station

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Cons: I wish they had a mirror near the power point where I plugged in my hairdryer.
The hotel is conveniently located to Gloucester Road tube station and buses, and has supermarkets and restaurants very closeby. My single room was small, but clean. I was upgraded to a superior room. The hotel appears to have been remodeled recently. Buffet breakfast was very good, with fresh squeezed orange juice and even coconut water. Wi fi had strong signal. They even provided free shoe polishing service. My only disappointment was there was no mirror near the power point where I used my hair dryer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Perfect Location!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This is our second time staying at this hotel. The rooms have been clean and beds very comfortable. There is an electric tea kettle with tea and instant coffee available as well as an espresso maker in the room. It is convenient to the Gloucester Road tube station as well as many wonderful restaurants. It is just down the street from the Natural History Museum and Victoria and Albert Museum.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Handy location, tiny room!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, receptionist, breakfast
Cons: Size and facilities of single rooms
Location: Close to the natural history museum, V&A, Royal Albert Hall
The hotel itself is in a great location, just over the road from Gloucester Road tube and 5 minutes walk from the natural history museum and the V&A. The receptionist was amazing, actually walking me through to the lift not just pointing where to go. But my room - a single - was pretty outdated decoration wise, not what I'd expect from a radisson, and it was tiny!!!!! Barely 2ft of space around the bed. There was also no mirror in the room - just the bathroom, and no visible plug socket nearby to see while I dried and straightened my hair. Or so I thought - just pull the solid wooden base bed away from the wall, and you'll be grand. Breakfast was lovely, nice choice and really tasty. Just refurb the single rooms!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This was my second time staying at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt. The staff was very accommodating, helping with directions, reservations and calling cars for us to the airport. My only complaint was that the air conditioning was not working properly & it was exceptionally warm last week. The maintenance worker tried to fix it but ended up bringing us a fan (which was fine because we were only in the room to shower, change and sleep). I would stay at this hotel again & I would recommend it to others as it's in a great neighborhood, close to many attractions & the subway/train/tube is 1 block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Well positioned hotel on Cromwell Road

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Nice hotel - comfortable and good value food. Friendly, attentive staff.