Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great value

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast.
Cons: The shower was a bit small, but not worth a remodel.
Location: Walking distance to restaurants, sights, and public transportation. Clean neighborhood.
I had to make a last minute booking, and found this hotel a great value. The room was a bit small, but I understand that to be the norm for many hotels in this area. The included breakfast was very good; there was plenty of food, and it was all tasty. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I would definitely book this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly 'burbs

Very uncomfortable

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was okay.
Cons: This hotel needs to upgrade the mattresses, pillows and towels. The ones they have now are youth hostel-quality.
When we got to the hotel, the desk staff sheepishly and apologetically gave my husband and me a room that I immediately realized was not the room we had booked. When I said so, they confirmed that there was a mix-up or something and had to give us this room instead. It was tiny, crammed with a full-sized bed (not a queen) and a single bed. No room to turn around. There was no closet. There was a tiny, inconvenient window and several large black flies. I made an issue of these facts and they said they would give us a different room, the "best room" in the hotel. This other room was a two-story room with about 7 beds in it. All the beds were uncomfortable (and none was queen-sized). The towels were like sandpaper. This room had a bathroom with a sink in an alcove, and someone had thought it was a good idea to put a glass shelf above the sink positioned so stupidly so that when I bent toward the sink to wash my face, I hit my forehead on the glass shelf. We removed the shelf. Overall, the hotel was crammed with oddities. There was a bulletin board in the front hallway with photos and thank you letters from previous guests who I guess had better experiences than us.
4 out of 5
by David

Wonderful Service

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely location and the friendliest service you will ever get. If you can eat all the food they bring you at breakfast you have a bigger appetite than most.
3 out of 5
by JEFFREY

Needs a lot of updating

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was on the bottom floor, half the room below street level. With the window open, you could almost touch the tire of a car that was parked right there. The see-through glass above the entry door and above the bathroom door was creepy. Bathroom itself was tiny and taking a shower soaked the whole floor. It makes me think the 3 rooms on the bottom are converted offices. The owners were very friendly and I would hope that they would focus on one room at a time and update each one. Wi-fi was spotty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Two-star, five-star

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location Price Friendliness Breakfasts!
Cons: That OTHER two-star hotels could be as good!
Location: Gloucester Road station got me to places I needed. I knew of no "activities" nearby.
The location is fabulous, a few minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station. The street is lined with grand residences, some, St Simeon included, now hotels. W.S.Gilbert lived across the street and along a bit. I was greeted by a iVan, a beautiful, sweet-voiced young man, who helped me with my main baggage as far as my room on the fourth floor. He joked about the weight of my bag. Next morning, I met the owner. Born in Sarajevo, "Johnnie" ( they all seemed to call him Johnnie), spent some years in Sydney. He has a good story about Palmer Street! The staff were always happy. Smiles and laughter abounded. At breakfast, every guest was served what they wanted... full English breakfast, just fruit and coffee, or any combination. The room was serviced regularly... every day WiFi, hot water and a comfy bed! What else could you want? Thank you Wotif!
3 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Debra A

family run hotel in great location

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
A family run hotel very friendly and eager to help. Great location near earls court station and good breakfast they work so hard to make sure you have what you need. My room could hVe been cleaner but I did sleep well. New bed covers would be good.
3 out of 5
by mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Duncan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels