Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Brilliant location for W. London visit.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Very tastefully renovated hotel. The floors still squeak a bit which can be a pain if the room upstairs gets up early. Otherwise everything was good. In particular the staff quite clearly do everything they can to please. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will come back sometime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

London Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Absolutely love the Ampersand! From the moment you are greeted to the following morning gym and breakfast! Not to mention the fantastic location! We love you Ampersand Hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful boutique hotel. Proximity to everything was a great plus. I also enjoyed having breakfast at the Apero restaurant.
Cons: I wished they had a concierge though. Brighter lighting in the bathroom would be great as well.
Location: Tube, eating, banking, and museums
I enjoyed the location and my overall experience. It is close to restaurants, ATMs, currency exchange and the tube. The tube was super easy to understand and get around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. The front desk team also act as the concierge and are happy to assist with any restaurant recommendations, theatre tickets, transportation or any other requests. We are in the process of improving the lighting within the rooms following guest feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great value, great location.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Design, location, price.
Cons: Some rooms have better showers than others. The double rooms are small, but have a nice design.
Location: Very near to many museums, across the street from South Kensington tube station.
Our third time staying at The Ampersand and we are returning again next week. It is a wonderfully priced hotel in a great location with a friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Would like to have had more adapters. Brighter lighting in the bathroom.
Location: Hop on Hop off bus stop is right outside the hotel, Restaurants, tube, close to the museums and great stops like Piccadilly circus.
I enjoyed the hotel and its staff. The hotel is situated in a great location, across the street from the tube. Lots of restaurants around. I loved the English breakfast I had at Muriel's and the avocado with poached eggs at the hotel. I never had a hotel provide a cell phone and free water, juice and soft drinks in the room's refrigerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Lovely hotel in Kensington.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, however the rooms are TINY. As in not large enough for one, much less two suitcases, or a chair larger than a card table chair. Great neighborhood, lots of cafes and the Tube is just around the corner (as is Starbucks).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suburb of Chicago, IL

We would definitely return.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: All of the above items, including your mobile phone to use during our visit.
Cons: Our laundry was almost $50 for 7 sets of mens' underwear; this was unreasonable! We didn't need a garment bag with teeshirts hung up for that price.
Location: Excellent & safe location - the tube & good restaurants close by was pleasantly accomodating.
All staff were very attentive & helpful; all had a positive, professional attitude as they carried out their jobs. The receptionists were all helpful in getting us where we wanted to go. They also made some suggestions & a few arrangements which made our holiday even more enjoyable. The food was very good in the ground floor restaurant & my husband went to the breakfast buffets & was very impressed with the selections. All of what we saw was clean & well taken care of. Our room portable phone was not working when we arrived; the receptionist was conscientious with his follow-up to send someone to our room to assess if there was a problem or us just not knowing how to use the phone. The next morning, a repair person arrived to fix the problem. We had some laundry done & it was back in our room when it was supposed to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great hotel. Wonderful staff and service. Right by the tube. Would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, I look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stonehaven

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Everything about this hotel is great. Room, service, location, staff. From the moment we entered the hotel, we were made welcome. The staff were all so nice & did it with a smile. Loved this hotel so much, we will definitely return. Location is great. Less than one minute to the underground.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsay, Thank you for your great review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful

Posted Jun 29, 2017
I will definitely being staying here the next time I visit London. Extremely convenient location- right across the street from South Kensington station, walking distance to museums and delicious restaurants, and taxi stand next to hotel. Although the room is small, it is clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey