Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans area

Lovely facility and staff fitting the area

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Can't say enough about the hotel itself or the staff. If you need Kensington/Chelsea area, this hotel provides a great choice at a reasonable cost. Walking distance to many sights including the Natural History Museum
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Perfect location for a weekend in London!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The location is wonderful!
Cons: The bathroom sink was too small. Every time I washed my face it was impossible to not get water on the floor.
Location: Hyde Park, Albert and Victoria Museum, the foreign diplomatic houses, The Queen's Arm, Muriel's Kitchen, Thai Square
This was our second time visiting London and we were super happy with the location of this hotel! The tube station is very close and there are a lot of good restaurants, shops, and museums very close by. We really enjoyed how close it was to Hyde Park, in particular; it made going for a run in the mornings really convenient. Our room was really well appointed with coffee, tea, biscuits, water, fruit and lovely bathroom toiletries. We loved having the loofah in the shower! And the room staff were great! They did a great job keeping our small space tidy and freshened up! The room technology was great too, as you're able to control the temp, lights, do not disturb sign, etc from the TV. Our room was really quiet, located away from the elevator and staircase as we requested. The young ladies that checked us in were very nice and super efficient. We didn't visit the hotel breakfast or dinner restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Beautiful Hotel close to public transit

Posted Sep 19, 2017
I was immediately greeted by a bellhop that grabbed my bags from the rain. I was not very prepared getting off of the tube to what seemed like a mini storm at the time. Check in was a breeze and I was escorted to my room with a introduction to figuring out how all the high-tech electronic things worked in the room. I was also given a Google phone that had internet access and a city guide built in. Too bad I didn't know how to really use a Google phone and I had already had a data plan on my phone activated prior to coming so I didn't use it outside the room. A few of the things that stood out to me were the free access and free refills to water/soft drinks in the mini fridge and heated bathroom floors and a extra large shower head. I also buried myself in the soft comfortable bed I had all to myself every night. The South Kensington tube was right across the street and many bus stops close in proximity. I had no problem getting around London. There were plenty of food shops nearby and I thought it was very safe to even walk late at night. It's not filled with tourists everywhere and I thought a little quieter of a neighborhood which I was fine with. Early in the morning I saw school children being walked to school by their parents so the vibe was more local than tourist trap. It was a tad pricey for one person but I splurged since it was my vacation and I have no regrets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

A bit of Luxury in a Perfect Location

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and really helpful and the location was perfect for exploring London.
Location: The Natural History Museum ,Albert and Victoria Museum and the Science Museum are a 5 minute walk away. The underground is a 2 minute walk away.
We stayed in a Deluxe Double Room for 5 nights. The room was large and looked lovely. The bed was really comfy. It even had a TV in the bath. We will stay here next visit to London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had a perfect stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas,TX

Nice, quiet hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Nice hotel, close to the tube. Easy to navigate to the local tourist sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Horribly mean staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not have a good experience and would appreciate any details you may wish to provide to enable me to investigate your feedback. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: everything! location, staff, room, and food
One of the best places we've stayed. The room was beautiful and very clean, the staff was beyond friendly and helpful and they provided us with a 'Handy' which is a smart phone available to use for the duration of our trip that we can use in and out of the hotel. It saved us by having free internet with us as well as free international calling. Great feature, we would stay here again just for this!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for amazing review. I am delighted you loved staying with us and I have shared you fantastic comments with the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Ampersand is an excellent location for South Kensington tube station and other maneities such as cafes and shops. Its in a beautiful area but the hotel entrance has a fragrance about it that suggests a good quality candle aroma wouldn't go amiss. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was small and had a stain on the ceiling and looked out onto an alleyway of boilers. It was otherwise well furnished. I therefore asked to move as the ceiling was not acceptable. I was given an upgrade to a normal sized room with a view onto the main road which was fine. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again as there are others offering much better only a tube ride away! It's feel was a little impersonal although the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay. The ceiling has been remedied. I have noted your dislike of the original room allocated to ensure we allocate a front facing room. I am unsure of the fragrance you are referring to within the entrance and can assure you this is not longer an issue. I am pleased you enjoyed the service provided by the team and should you choose to return I can assure you, you will have a much more enjoyable experience. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with plenty of amenities!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Comfortable bed Spacious and clean room Complimentary smart phone with data Complimentary mini bar Great location, stones throw to the tube station with access to both the District/Circle and Piccadilly lines. Complimentary umbrella's (we needed them!) Overall great experience, although I could have done without the rain. :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am sorry about the rain and hope next time you stay it will be better weather. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The Ampersand exceeded all my expectations. Boutique style with a wonderful and calm ambience. Excellent location close to the tube. Restaurant was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Tracey