Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, in good area, thoughtful touches.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Loved the bed.
Cons: Food in restaurant is fine - could be improved. Tea is great though.
Location: In great area - very convenient to V&A museum and Natural History museum.
We stayed here for three nights. Our bed was very comfy, sheets were great, and the decor is stylish. Staff is thoughtful and attentive, and location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM, USA

Hotel in South Kensington

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location, service.
Location: The Victoria and Albert Museum and the Museum of Natural History are very close to the hotel. From the Metro Station we can reach any place in London.
Ampersand is a beautiful boutique hotel conveniently situated very close to the Metro station. The service is friendly and efficient, the neighborhood is very safe with good restaurants close by. The restaurant of the hotel is good too both for breakfast (we used the "a la carte" service instead of the buffet) and for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review, I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LAGOS, NIGERIA

LOVE LOVE LOVED MY STAY

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: THE UNIQUE DESIGN
Cons: LATE CHECK OUT- I WOKE UP LATE AND HAD TO RUSH BECAUSE THERE WAS NO LATE CHECK OUT!!
Location: LOVE THE CONVENIENT LOCATION
AMPERSAND WAS A GREAT HOTEL STAY!!! I REALLY LOVED IT AND LOVED THAT IT WAS IN A GREAT CENTRAL LOCATION!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Good location and good room. Clean, comfortable and close to tube.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans area

Lovely facility and staff fitting the area

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Can't say enough about the hotel itself or the staff. If you need Kensington/Chelsea area, this hotel provides a great choice at a reasonable cost. Walking distance to many sights including the Natural History Museum
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for you fantastic review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Perfect location for a weekend in London!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The location is wonderful!
Cons: The bathroom sink was too small. Every time I washed my face it was impossible to not get water on the floor.
Location: Hyde Park, Albert and Victoria Museum, the foreign diplomatic houses, The Queen's Arm, Muriel's Kitchen, Thai Square
This was our second time visiting London and we were super happy with the location of this hotel! The tube station is very close and there are a lot of good restaurants, shops, and museums very close by. We really enjoyed how close it was to Hyde Park, in particular; it made going for a run in the mornings really convenient. Our room was really well appointed with coffee, tea, biscuits, water, fruit and lovely bathroom toiletries. We loved having the loofah in the shower! And the room staff were great! They did a great job keeping our small space tidy and freshened up! The room technology was great too, as you're able to control the temp, lights, do not disturb sign, etc from the TV. Our room was really quiet, located away from the elevator and staircase as we requested. The young ladies that checked us in were very nice and super efficient. We didn't visit the hotel breakfast or dinner restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Beautiful Hotel close to public transit

Posted Sep 19, 2017
I was immediately greeted by a bellhop that grabbed my bags from the rain. I was not very prepared getting off of the tube to what seemed like a mini storm at the time. Check in was a breeze and I was escorted to my room with a introduction to figuring out how all the high-tech electronic things worked in the room. I was also given a Google phone that had internet access and a city guide built in. Too bad I didn't know how to really use a Google phone and I had already had a data plan on my phone activated prior to coming so I didn't use it outside the room. A few of the things that stood out to me were the free access and free refills to water/soft drinks in the mini fridge and heated bathroom floors and a extra large shower head. I also buried myself in the soft comfortable bed I had all to myself every night. The South Kensington tube was right across the street and many bus stops close in proximity. I had no problem getting around London. There were plenty of food shops nearby and I thought it was very safe to even walk late at night. It's not filled with tourists everywhere and I thought a little quieter of a neighborhood which I was fine with. Early in the morning I saw school children being walked to school by their parents so the vibe was more local than tourist trap. It was a tad pricey for one person but I splurged since it was my vacation and I have no regrets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

A bit of Luxury in a Perfect Location

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and really helpful and the location was perfect for exploring London.
Location: The Natural History Museum ,Albert and Victoria Museum and the Science Museum are a 5 minute walk away. The underground is a 2 minute walk away.
We stayed in a Deluxe Double Room for 5 nights. The room was large and looked lovely. The bed was really comfy. It even had a TV in the bath. We will stay here next visit to London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had a perfect stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas,TX

Nice, quiet hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Nice hotel, close to the tube. Easy to navigate to the local tourist sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Horribly mean staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not have a good experience and would appreciate any details you may wish to provide to enable me to investigate your feedback. Kind regards, Tracey