Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Nice Hotel meters from South Kensington Tube Stop

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: location, amenities
Cons: Rooms could be a tad larger but otherwise good.
Location: Tons of shops, restaurants, Harrods's nearby as well as museums and great walking
Looking for a somewhere close to the Tube and in the heart of South Kensington the Ampersand is warm, welcoming and quite quaint to stay at. Staff were friendly courteous and accommodating. Even have heated bathroom floors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. Kind regards Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AR

Great hotel Grest Location

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I loved this hotel. The staff were very accommodating and customer focused. The room was very nice but a little on the small size. I had a difficult time finding a convienent place to put two suitcases that would not get in the way of moving around the room. It was hard to do. The room came with many amenities including the use of a free cell phone with unlimited international calls that I could take with me around London. That was pleasantly over the top.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and taking the time to give us your feedback. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Everything was perfect. They sent a complimentary dessert plate to the room for a birthday!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. Kind regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Cute little hotel in a great location. Free cell phone and free mini bar was amazing!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and great hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: None
No 1 location. From Hearhrow airport to hotel, no need to change tube line. Steps away from tube station and very convenient to everywhere of London. Hotel staff do their best to make guest happy. Front desk Lisa managed early check-in for us, and Sezay, the doorman, brought us the extra plug-in for our electronic appliances. Our London trip was so perfect with staying in the Ampersand. We will stay there again when returning to London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had a fantastic stay and I have shared your compliments with Lisa & Sezay. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Great beds, great service

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location, food, service, rooms, beds!
Cons: Size of some of the rooms cramped and lacking closet space.
Location: South Kensington location - lots to see - shopping, eating, Vic-Albert and Natural museums literally outside the doors!
I've stayed here twice for extended periods of a week or more. Love the hotel, the location and the staff. And the restaurant downstairsn (APERO) is awesome for breakfast lunch and dinner. Great little high tea room - very modern and funky and nice selection of tea snacks! The hotel is a little older and some of the rooms are a little cramped and lack closet space, so ask for the rooms in the corners if you can. Floors are a little creaky too - but thats just the age and charm of the hotel. Would highly recommend this place and - great value for the money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted you had a great stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soo. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Cons: lights switches were a bit of a problem. tough to understand what switch controlled what.
Great stay, great location, staff very helpful. Lights were controlled by 4 different places, tough to know what ones to turn on and off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate you taking the time and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, in good area, thoughtful touches.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Loved the bed.
Cons: Food in restaurant is fine - could be improved. Tea is great though.
Location: In great area - very convenient to V&A museum and Natural History museum.
We stayed here for three nights. Our bed was very comfy, sheets were great, and the decor is stylish. Staff is thoughtful and attentive, and location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM, USA

Hotel in South Kensington

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location, service.
Location: The Victoria and Albert Museum and the Museum of Natural History are very close to the hotel. From the Metro Station we can reach any place in London.
Ampersand is a beautiful boutique hotel conveniently situated very close to the Metro station. The service is friendly and efficient, the neighborhood is very safe with good restaurants close by. The restaurant of the hotel is good too both for breakfast (we used the "a la carte" service instead of the buffet) and for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review, I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LAGOS, NIGERIA

LOVE LOVE LOVED MY STAY

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: THE UNIQUE DESIGN
Cons: LATE CHECK OUT- I WOKE UP LATE AND HAD TO RUSH BECAUSE THERE WAS NO LATE CHECK OUT!!
Location: LOVE THE CONVENIENT LOCATION
AMPERSAND WAS A GREAT HOTEL STAY!!! I REALLY LOVED IT AND LOVED THAT IT WAS IN A GREAT CENTRAL LOCATION!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey