Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Charming & History

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: I do like the look and feel of the hotel.
Cons: The wallpaper in my room was falling off.
Location: I loved this location because it was close to a lot of attractions and the underground station.
Staying at the Cranley is like stepping back in time. You're in for the charm and experience of a bouquet hotel. I loved the little details of the charming hotel but I was not totally happy with my long-term stay. I stayed at the Cranley for about two weeks. Before coming to the hotel, I read reviews just to see what I should expect. Previous guests complained about the AC and the noise level being that the hotel is next to a hostel, and the promised complimentary welcome drinks are not always offered. I didn't care about the drinks, but I was worried about the AC, so naturally that I was the first thing I checked. The AC worked, but it was so weak for a such a decent sized room. The other thing that was so annoying was that every morning you are awakened by what seems like bowling balls being dropped on the floor. I don't know if it's the doors from the other rooms closing or if it was the staffing cleaning. So either way, you get a wake-up all around early in the morning whether you want it or not. Lastly, when I asked for my room to be serviced I was not given fresh sheets nor shampoo and conditioner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

The Cranley, South Kensington

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Charm. Helpfulness of staff.The ability to have breakfast in our room.
Location: See above.
The hotel was charming and in a very good location. There are many nice restaurants and shops in the area. The hotel has a very good dining room...Persian . We enjoyed a meal there one night. The room was very spacious...unusual for London hotel rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Comfortable, welcoming small hotel in convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location with helpful staff

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location and helpful staff.
Cons: Rooms should have better quality carpet and drapes to be in line with the rates charged at this hotel. Lobby needs different furnishings.
Location: Great location in Kensington. Steps away from good restaurants. Close to the tube and museums.
The best aspects of this hotel are the location and staff. Located in a great area of London. All staff I interacted with went well out of their way to be helpful in any way possible. The hotel has a lot of character which they have maintained. However, while my room was clean, the carpet was worn to threads in several places. The drapes had burn holes and water stains and the fabric on the headboard of the bed was very faded. I felt that for the price I was paying for this room that it should have been better maintained. The hotel does have a lift but due to the location of my room, I had to walk up a flight of stairs. Not a problem for me but again given the cost of the room, I did not expect to have to do a flight of stairs. The photograph of the lobby is now out of date and inaccurate. The lobby is jammed with tables and chairs that do not fit in with the decor. It looks as if this was once a very elegant hotel that is now looking tired and not as well maintained as it may have been in the past. The photographs should be updates to better represent the current appearance of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Our stay at the Cranley

Posted Oct 1, 2017
This hotel has a lovely English feel, many friendly staff and loads of potential. Unfortunately, our stay was disappointing for several reasons. Our room was very small and hot and the air conditioning was broken. They gave us a portable A/C unit but this didn't work either and consumed more of our small space. The second portable unit worked but was very noisy. We looked online and noticed other people complaining about the air conditioning failure a year ago! Whole place really needs a good make over.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la

Nice looking, but old and rooms are tiny

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The hotel lools very nice and classic from the outside, but the rooms are tiny and need refurbishing. The carpet was worn out, all the door knobbs were falling off, and the sink barely worked!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Bad

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Small rooms.. slow elevator.. AC doesnt work.. wifi doesnt work.. small bathroom.. no hot water in sink.. slow service.. ...……………
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Good location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Close to a circle line station, so a lot of central London sites were easy to reach but very quiet. We walked to the V&A and went to The Tower via Tube. Nice Pubs and restaurants nearby too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Great location, good service

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel was aesthetically wonderful on arrival and easy to reach from the tube station. Greeted pleasantly by reception staff. Our room was not yet ready but we were offered fresh coffee whilst we waited and offered a room upgrade by way of replacement. Unfortunately, the upgraded room was next door to the kitchen (which we could hear through the walls) and had a view only of the smoking area. It also contained two seperate single beds which, alas, did not satisfy the requirements for our romantic city break. We were happy to try our original room which was now ready, and found it to be far more pleasant. Beautiful bed, thoughtful layout, plenty of space. The only unusual aspect was the large air conditioning unit next to the window, but in the height of summer, we gratefully found this to be of huge benefit! Check out was quick and easy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

sad hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The Cranley needs a good refurbishment to bring it up to standard. Stained furnishings and air conditioning need sorting.