Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Central location

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location, nice decor, good restaurant - the steak I had for dinner was perfectly medium-rare and the carrot soup was delicious!
Location: ~10 min from Earls Court tube station, ~ 20 min walk from the Natural History Museum, ~30 min walk to Harrods and Kensington neighbourhood if you are
The staff were nice and the room was quiet despite looking over the main road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Well situated for South Kensington museums

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We stayed one night on trip to visit Royal Academy and V & A. Staff were polite and welcoming, allowed us to leave bag before check in. Easy walking distance to South Kensington museums and plenty of places to eat. Hotel room spacious and comfortable. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Concert and catch up days

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Booked Rhe Rockwell due to location to The Royal Albert Hall and close location to Earls Court Tube. Great choice on both counts. Upgraded to a huge room on arrival (LG5). This was more like a suite! Very clean and just below street level which was fine really as I spent only the evenings in the hotel. I read lots of reviews about how noisy the location is. Well I was very close to the Crimwell Road but slept like a baby. No noise at all. I read the reviews about poor water pressure and tiny showers. Well mine was huge and plenty of hot water. Lovely White Shop toiletries in the bathroom and lots of clean linen too. I had a massive bed with lots of feather pillows. Very clean room and bathroom and loads of closet space and refreshingly enough hangers too!! Didn't eat at the hotel as I was up and out really early and had been recommended some good places close by for breakfast any how. Brilliant location to tube, literally give minutes walk .On the Piccadilly Line so fab access to City. Would definitely stay here again. If you are travelling with children though, do get to the lovellsidnout chocolates before they do as £3 for a small bar which is laid temptingly next to the kettle and tea making facilities is a complete rip off....only saying
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Overrated

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The hotel is well situated with regards to transit, restaurants and shops. Kensington Palace is a 15 minute walk away. The hotel is housed within two converted white faced row mansions. There are a few steps leading up to the door if you're carrying luggage. We were impressed when we walked into the modern, renovated lobby. However as soon as we reached the elevator, we started to sense we'd be disappointed. Old, beige carpeting runs throughout the corridors and in rooms. The joints are noticeable and there are some visible spots. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable but the decor was dated and the upholstered chairs worn. The bathroom was a nice size and clean but the shower is small. Fortunately, the staff is overwhelmingly service oriented and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location and staff kindness and efficiency.
Cons: Faster reaction to solve problems such as ours with the air conditioning.
Location: Just walk a few meters next to the hotel and turn into a street to Earls Court station where you will find many eating and shopping choices
This is a nice hotel with a great location with access to buses and underground transportation. Restaurants are available within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and fast during check in and check out process. In our particular case, we had a bad experience because the air conditioning in our room did not work. Even though the outside temperature was nice, we could not open the window because it is partially locked and also because of noise in the street. The first day in the morning, we requested te main desk to check it and when we returned at night, it was the same. This really affected our comfort. We understand that these things may happen, but must be resolved. We did not push to hard to get another room because we only stayed for 2 nights and did not want to go thru the hassle of moving our stuff. Our daughter was staying at a room in the second floor and they did not have this problem so their stay was pleasant. Other than that, the hotel is nice, but because of our particular experience, I would have to reconsider stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Close to transport links

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Despite having booked a deluxe room, we were given a dark room LG which was very noisy with staff going back and forth early in the morning. We complained and they changed room for next night and they didn't look surprised so why put people in this room? We ere paying more than the rate if you booked for that night on the day. So very disappointed next room was better no generator noise! Felt they could have offered something due to this. Breakfast choice was very good and nicely cooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Small and friendly. Good breakfast. Safe location and close to underground. Can walk to restaurants and amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tayport . Fife. Scotland

Rockwell Hotel. Cromwell Road. London

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Nicely decorated and clean
Cons: Bar open till midnight at least.
Location: Good area. Near Earls Court tube.
The Hotel is well decorated and staff are very friendly. However the breakfast was not up to the standard I would expect. Two hot plates with the usual bacon, sausage etc. which was not particularly hot. There was not a big selection of continental meats and the cheese was small processed packages. Crusty rolls were good as was the fruit and yogurt. Only one member of staff serving at breakfast and the poor girl was get busy to say the least supplying tea and coffee. Very disappointing that the bar closed at 11.00p.m. to residents. Was advised to use mini bar in room which did not have the selection I wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Good room for sleeping in after spending all day exploring the city. You aren't paying the price for the fancy amenities of a large brand so don't expect them. Room was clean, comfortable, freshly painted, and we appreciated the breakfast provided in the morning. Definitely recommend for travelers on a budget not looking to spend the money for a luxury hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Front desk staff are wonderful.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location and staff . Good value.
I have stayed at the Rockwell on 4 other occasions. When I arrived, the staff remembered me and greeted me warmly. The breakfast buffet is very nice and the young lady who works there is pleasant. I love the location... a 5 minute walk from Earls Court tube station. There are several pubs, eating places and shops near the station. If you turn right after exiting hotel, and go along Cromwell road, there are lots of eating places as well. You are just a 15-20 easy walk from V&A, Albert hall, Hyde Park, Natural History museum etc. My room looked out over the back patio and was on the 5th floor. Bed was comfortable. My only complaint, and I have had this before in other rooms, is that you can hear the hum of the elevator in some of the rooms. Other rooms I have stayed in , depending on their location, are quiet.