Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 23, 2017
I had fantastic time: the hotel was excellent, best location in town. Nothing negative that I can think of at all , only praise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from london

Not if it's hot

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Peacefull
Cons: Couldn't use safe as it was on floor - no use to elderly
Location: Good bus services
Two hot days causing air con to be used. Went to toilet where there was a large puddle of water, sat on the loo and had water dripping on head. Reported twice that day but nothing was due to be done 'till the day I left. Disappointing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Brilliant hotel and brilliant location

Posted May 17, 2017
Cons: This is an old building, renovated to a high standard however, sound-proofing is non existent - be prepared to hear the doors and the room adjacent.
I am always careful when choosing a suitable get away and did my research on this hotel too, but was pleasantly surprised when it all came to fruition - on all fronts. The hotel reception staff were very helpful and remembered which room we were staying in. Parking is reasonable considering it's private to the hotel and therefore more secure than public car parks (which are a stones throw should their's be full). Lovely communal relaxing sofa areas to enjoy deciding where to eat or simply a drink to unwind after a busy sight-seeing day. Leave the front doors and you're bang in the middle of the pedestrianised center ready to explore the best of Canterbury from a gentle punt on the river to the cathedral, which is free after 5pm on most days. Fab hotel and would return or recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Overview

Posted May 17, 2017
Cons: Coat hooks in room
Location: This is Canterbury???
A great location, did not use my car for 4 days. Staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

A Classic Refined Pleasure

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Staff was wonderful, always accommodating and friendly.
Cons: Cold breakfast was alright, very minimal, more focused on quality rather than quantity and variety of selections.
Location: Explore the history and beauty of the capital of the garden that is Kent. Wander the high street shops. Visit Dover castle overlooking the channel.
After spending 6 years living in Canterbury through multiple degree programs I opted to stay at the Abode for a total of 7 nights over two separate trips in two weeks. The hotels stands on Canterbury's high street which is incredible for experiencing the city and acts as a perfect base for everything the city and Kent has to offer. The hotels rustic charm adds to it's elegance as the standout luxury hotel in the city. The staff was incredible, always helpful and accommodating. I had paid the 10GBP for the breakfast on the first night to see what was offered but the selection of finer foods is more tailored for the individual business traveler and wasn't anything to write home about. It must be said that you must be prepared for the potential noise from the street particularly if you have a room overlooking the high street. Canterbury is primarily a student town with an active nightlife for tourists and locals. For some travelers it may be a nuisance, however regardless of where you stay in the city, you will experience this. Outside of that, it was wonderful all around. I would stay here again based on the location, the staff, and the beauty of Canterbury's finest hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex . England.

Nice Hotel in a great location.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Its location and cleanliness.
Cons: The bedding seemed too small for the bed, Only just making it to the edges of the bed. And the hot water was a bit hit and miss.
A nice hotel in the middle of the High Street, very pleasant staff. We used the restaurant for breakfast only, and was very pleased with it,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u. s.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The best - walking out the front door into the charm of the town. Parking behind the hotel. Clean. Wonderful staff.
Cons: It would have been great if there was counter space in the bathroom for toiletries etc. all hairstyling, makeup etc in the bedroom at a desk
Location: Perfect location B for roaming the town and visiting the cathedral.
The hotel was a quiet oasis of comfort and rest from the high energy and charm of the village. We visited mainly to see and experience the cathedral which is brimming with history and beauty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Luxurious, peaceful hotel. Excellent restaurant

Posted May 7, 2017
Cons: At checkout we were charged for the whole stay until I pointed out we paid in full through Expedia. The apology was a bit slow in coming.Disappointing
High quality rooms, staff and restaurant. Very friendly and helpful staff from arrival to departure. Discreet service and really excellent food - with great offers for residents. The main street in Canterbury that the hotel is on is busy and noisy but the hotel is an oasis of calm in which to recover before setting out again into this ancient and beautiful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bank holiday weekend in Canterbury

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Room was great, the restaurant, professionalism of staff, location on the High Street
Cons: Nothing really
Fantastic hotel. Very curtious staff. Clean room with HUGE bed. Superb restaurant (County) in house with fine dining that pushes the boundaries. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Perfect location for Canterbury!

Posted May 2, 2017
We had a great girly trip in Canterbury, afternoon tea, cocktails, shopping and chilling at this hotel! The staff were amazing especially Ricky who couldn't recommend places enough, be helpful and provide an amazing level of customer service!