Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walton, NY

Wonderful ambiance.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: The warmth and comfort of the inn and the excellent customer service.
Cons: I wish their restaurant was open on Monday and Tuesday. It looked like an interesting menu but unfortunately the days I was there I did not get to it
Location: I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Canterbury.
Absolutely fabulous inn and staff. Warm welcome, very helpful, courteous, caring staff. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I give the place an excellent recommendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old England at its best!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Abbot's Fireside is everything a period hotel should be. Eccentric architecture, sloping floors, exposed beams. It has been modernised where it should be - a pleasing bathroom (separate shower would have been nice), a good bed, and an English breakfast wanting for nothing. The staff are excellent and the food is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Charming Elizabethan period manor

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Great character ,be prepared for low beams , big open fireplaces etc
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Historic charming inn

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
A tenth wedding anniversary get away romantic night was made all the more pleasant by the extremely welcoming attitude of the lovely couple running this charming old historic inn. Very sad to hear that there's a chance it won't be operating again unless someone takes it over . It would be a shame to lose it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very disappointing

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Great potential but closed down.
Cons: Don't advertise the facility of a bar and restaurant when it is closed.
Location: Elham is a beautiful village set in stunning scenery. There is a lot to do in the local area.
When I arrived, I discovered the bar and restaurant was closed, despite the current web-site showing it to be open. Had I known that this was the case I would not have booked. I was informed that dinner would be available across the road in another pub and I would receive a discount on the meal - I did not get the promised discount. The room itself was comfortable, clean and characterful, but I had to make my way through a poorly lit deserted bar area to get to my room later that evening. Instead of staying for the weekend I left the following morning. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Very friendly host, who explained they had just taken over the hotel. Breakfast huge and freshly prepared. Beautiful bedroom and bathroom. No complaints at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Very good hotel.

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Needs some tlc but very clean and tidy. Staff vey helpful and polite. A little expensive but it was a busy weekend in and around Canterbury due to the university arrivals.
4 out of 5
by Giulia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Lovely old building, comfortable room.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The late medieval building, well kept up.
Cons: The catering: it would be good to have cooked breakfast available, and a working restaurant (presently open only for Sunday lunch, I believe).
Comfortable stay in an ancient building with splendid medieval carving and other features. Sadly, no food served during the week, other than a rather spartan cereal-toast-and-beverage breakfast.