Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The bedroom was very inviting and modern, the facilities were comfortable and clean (only two long paths to get to the rooms)
Cons: You seem to provide excellent opportunities for recycling, and yet the slippers at the spa seemed to go all to waste. Is there an alternative?
Location: It would not be a hotel for me to go on foot and choose if I want to leave the car at home....
I visited the hotel for a course and took the opportunity to stay and enjoy the spa. The bar downstairs is an excellent and inviting place to socialise (great for lone workers that many times have to stay overnight), the restaurant provided great food and great service (both my paid dinner and the food paid by the course provider for the attendees were enjoyable) The spa is small but perfect for a relaxing time when there is not many people (specially shouting children who leave the plastic cups left for drinking water all around the place... I wonder where the supervisor adult was!) A separate room for the saunas and jacuzzi would have been a great idea. The experience was overall really good, except for the cleaning person in the morning who open my bedroom at 8.30 uninvited (don't they have a record of who has checked out to organize their shift?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WGC

Fab hotel!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Fab stay!! Will be going again soon!! Spacious rooms and wonderful staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Cluster General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Jo. Many thanks for your 5 star review of Ashford International Hotel. It's great to hear your stay was so enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Good breakfast selection, big queues for single toaster, cooked food "luke warm" at best, both b/fast & evening meal expensive bar. Staff friendly & accommodating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Cluster General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the staff were friendly. Rest assured we regularly review our bar prices to ensure we are competitive with other hotels in the area. We hope you will choose to stay again in the near future. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very convenient.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Easy to find. Plenty of parking
Cons: Plenty of lights in the room but we're not bright. Lights around the back of the hotel going down the steps to the car park could be improved
Location: Very near the train station and also near the outlet shopping centre. Sainsbury's was in walking distance which had a petrol station.
My daughter and I came all the way from North Wales for a funeral and the family were having the funeral tea at the hotel so we booked straight away which was so easy on the internet. We met up with all our family there. We also had friends in and had a meal in the restaurant the first night and drinks in the bar with others the next night. Everything was nice and clean and the staff were really good. The hotel is just off of the M20 - so easy to find and really convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Cluster General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jean. Thank you for your comprehensive review and I’m sure all your tips will be helpful to other readers. I’m pleased you found our location convenient and the staff were helpful. We have a programme of car park lighting improvements starting this week and this will involve installing brighter LED lights. I do hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Highly efficient and helpful staff
Cons: Dinner tables for two could be a little larger
Location: Sainsbury supermarket is extremely handy for buying food/drink items to take abroad!
Ideal overnight for an early start to the tunnel. The desk staff managed to change our dates for that night without additional costs. Superb service, that saved any problems with our trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Cluster General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Roy. Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Ashford International Hotel with 5 stars. I’m pleased the staff were helpful and that our location is convenient for your trip to the continent. Your constructive feedback regarding the dinner tables is appreciated and has been noted. Thanks again and kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They over book and put you in a holiday inn

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing never got to stay there was booked into this hotel because being part of the wedding party so upset to be moved out to a holiday in. Ruined my weekend felt like a outsider at the wedding as didn't get to have a swim or breakfast with my friends and family
Cons: The way the decided to cancele my booking less than 24 hrs before my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Cluster General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies once again. Booking a guest out is always a last resort for us and is thankfully very rare. I’m aware my Sales Office Manager has been in contact with you to resolve the matter and at the time she offered you complimentary use of the leisure facilities and breakfast with the wedding party. A deeply regrettable situation and we look forward to restoring your confidence in the future. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bexley

Large hotel, small pool, not close to the shops.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very expensive. Room had stains on carpet and ceiling was peeling. Small bathroom, dusty. Walls very thin, bed uncomfortable. Unfortunately there was some selfish guest staying who kept banging their doors and talking very loudly at 3am, which obviously woke us up. I called security and was told the matter was already being dealt with ie. other guests had already complained. At 7.25am same happened, lots of door banging etc. As it was my birthday I was hoping for a lie-in!! Breakfast was terrible, tea was stewed, cooked food was cold & pastry was stale. A receipt was pushed under our door telling us we could use the express check out, but when we got to reception there was NO key drop box. We had to wait 10 minutes to find someone to ask and when she said it's on the left hand side of reception, we told her no it wasn't as we've been looking for it. She offered no help so in the end we just left the key behind reception, as a lady was serving someone else. Terrible customer service!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Cluster General Manager , Hotel Management
Gear Guest. Thank you for your review and for bringing these matters to my attention. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment particularly as it was your birthday. If you would like to get in touch to discuss these issues further I would like to investigate with my team and restore your confidence. Customer feedback is very important to me and my apologies again that we didn’t deliver on this occasion. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient for the chunnel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We have used the hotel a few times. It's an ideal overnight for us heading onto France.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Cluster General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear D. Many thanks for your review and it’s great to hear you find our location convenient when travelling to France. We also offer some great attractions packages or spa breaks? Thanks again and kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

It was a good standard hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We had a problem when checking in. We had booked for a twin room but on arrival it had been made up as a double. We had to wait the for the room to be changed. We waited about 15 minutes but then had to go to visit our daughter. The receptionist said that she would ensure our case and bag would be put into our room when it was ready. When we got back, this had not been done. I had to go back to reception and say that it hadn't been done. It was then rectified.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Val. Thank you for your constructive review and I have discussed it with the Reception team to ensure they follow up any issues promptly with both Housekeeping and guests. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope it won’t put you off staying with us in the future. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to euro tunnel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Over night stay before going on euro tunnel, very easy to find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your 5* review of Ashford International Hotel. I’m pleased you found our location convenient for the Euro Tunnel. I trust you had a pleasant holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager