Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They over book and put you in a holiday inn

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing never got to stay there was booked into this hotel because being part of the wedding party so upset to be moved out to a holiday in. Ruined my weekend felt like a outsider at the wedding as didn't get to have a swim or breakfast with my friends and family
Cons: The way the decided to cancele my booking less than 24 hrs before my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Cluster General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies once again. Booking a guest out is always a last resort for us and is thankfully very rare. I’m aware my Sales Office Manager has been in contact with you to resolve the matter and at the time she offered you complimentary use of the leisure facilities and breakfast with the wedding party. A deeply regrettable situation and we look forward to restoring your confidence in the future. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bexley

Large hotel, small pool, not close to the shops.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very expensive. Room had stains on carpet and ceiling was peeling. Small bathroom, dusty. Walls very thin, bed uncomfortable. Unfortunately there was some selfish guest staying who kept banging their doors and talking very loudly at 3am, which obviously woke us up. I called security and was told the matter was already being dealt with ie. other guests had already complained. At 7.25am same happened, lots of door banging etc. As it was my birthday I was hoping for a lie-in!! Breakfast was terrible, tea was stewed, cooked food was cold & pastry was stale. A receipt was pushed under our door telling us we could use the express check out, but when we got to reception there was NO key drop box. We had to wait 10 minutes to find someone to ask and when she said it's on the left hand side of reception, we told her no it wasn't as we've been looking for it. She offered no help so in the end we just left the key behind reception, as a lady was serving someone else. Terrible customer service!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Cluster General Manager , Hotel Management
Gear Guest. Thank you for your review and for bringing these matters to my attention. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment particularly as it was your birthday. If you would like to get in touch to discuss these issues further I would like to investigate with my team and restore your confidence. Customer feedback is very important to me and my apologies again that we didn’t deliver on this occasion. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel customers well rough!

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
There were a lot of spa guests and a wedding party and the queues were long and slow at reception. This was quite irritating as we only wanted to get a taxi and the concierge desk was unmanned and there were security guards in reception hanging around. On our floor when we returned there was a domestic where it sounded like a man was getting progressively very aggressive towards his partner. Security did come to deal with the issue but seemed lacking in confidence in handling this situation. I have sympathy though. The hotel seemed nice enough but the area and a lot of the other guests just seemed really rough and I'm pretty common! I'm glad I did not pick this hotel for a holiday/romantic event because it would have just been disappointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review and I have noted your feedback. We are a hotel with 179 rooms and banqueting capacity for 450+ guests and this high season has been particularly busy. My apologies for the wait at check in, the wedding party arrived together to check in to their rooms before the reception and despite 3 Receptionists manning all 3 work stations, regrettable there was a delay. I do hope you will consider a return visit during a quieter season perhaps? Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient for the chunnel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We have used the hotel a few times. It's an ideal overnight for us heading onto France.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Cluster General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear D. Many thanks for your review and it’s great to hear you find our location convenient when travelling to France. We also offer some great attractions packages or spa breaks? Thanks again and kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would book again

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very clean and tidy, almost exactly like the photos and the service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful with any questions at all times of the day. We would definately stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your recent review and it’s great to hear the staff were friendly & helpful. The Maintenance & Housekeeping teams do a great job of keeping the hotel looking lovely. Thanks again and we look forward to your return soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
3 out of 5
by Jasdeep

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your rating Jasdeep. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
by Carl

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Ashford International Hotel to be close to Folkstone and our early morning departure the day after. The staff was really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was one of the better I've had in a large hotel in the UK.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carl. Many thanks for reviewing us with 5 stars! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay despite your early start. We hope to welcome you back again another time. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

It was a good standard hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We had a problem when checking in. We had booked for a twin room but on arrival it had been made up as a double. We had to wait the for the room to be changed. We waited about 15 minutes but then had to go to visit our daughter. The receptionist said that she would ensure our case and bag would be put into our room when it was ready. When we got back, this had not been done. I had to go back to reception and say that it hadn't been done. It was then rectified.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Val. Thank you for your constructive review and I have discussed it with the Reception team to ensure they follow up any issues promptly with both Housekeeping and guests. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope it won’t put you off staying with us in the future. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
3 out of 5
by Neville from Singapore

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Not cheap at 110 pounds/night but no safe box, no fridge and poor wifi reception in the bedroom. Restaurant closed for lunch and at 9.30 pm. Some food in the pub until 10pm only. Loud party in the bar with obscene language but the manager had no interest. We asked reception to call us a taxi and they gave us some cards for us to call
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Neville. Thank you for your review & I’m sorry to hear of your disappointment on this occasion. We have recently upgraded our bandwidth to 90mpbs and our Reception team also have a dedicated support number to assist any guests having trouble. The Quench Bar is open all day for lunch, dinner or a lighter meal. Horizon Restaurant closes at 9.30pm however we also have a 24hour room service menu available. Having spoken with the Duty Manager on the night in question, I am informed that he did have to speak with a group about toning down their language. Our Reception team should always offer to call taxis for our guests and I have addressed this point with them. My apologies once again Neville & I hope you will consider a return stay in the future. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to euro tunnel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Over night stay before going on euro tunnel, very easy to find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your 5* review of Ashford International Hotel. I’m pleased you found our location convenient for the Euro Tunnel. I trust you had a pleasant holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, Cluster General Manager