Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Within walking distance to Canterbury Cathedral et

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: It's price and proximity to Canterbury city
Location: As above
Enjoyed our stay even though the weather was ordinary!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Worn - out mattress gave a poor night's sleep made worse by very noisy plumbing. Room seemed to have a 'hum' in the background all night long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Perfect walking distance from City Centre

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Very quiet , a high standard of fixtures and fittings, superb cleanliness , good parking and all within walking distance of the city centre.
Cons: Extractor fan in the bathroom and a small magnifying mirror for putting on make-up.
Location: Within walking distance of the city centre and excellent parking in the hotel grounds. The city is vibrant with shops, cafes and the Cathedral.
The staff were very welcoming. The room was excellent with good facilities and the standard of cleanliness was superb. Being set back from the road in it's own grounds, the rooms were quiet. There was parking available close to the hotel entrance and seating outside to enable you to sit in the sunshine and enjoy the gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Noisy from the generator and the floor vibrated.

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Location, 10 min walk into town
Cons: Never ever put anyone in room 109 or the room next day or anywhere near the kitchen area.
Location: The Cathedral
Terrible. We stayed one night and all because we asked for a double room, we were in a room above the kitchen. The generator or whatever from the Kitchen was so loud in the evening and the morning, the floor vibrated. Being on hols for the weekend and we don't get much chances to go away, we were looking for a peaceful quiet chill out period, but instead i came away with a pounding headache. We complained & they couldn't do anything other than offer a measly £50 compensation. The room was a complete waste of money (and it wasn't cheap!) as have come away more stressed from the noise than before we went. The make matters worse, there was no other room available so couldn't move us, we had to put up with the noise /vibrations in the evening and then again from 8am onwards the next morning. There was no manager on site, we were promised a pcall on Tuesday by the manager and have got nothing so far hence the disappointing score for the hotel staff. I will be writing to the hotel direct and Expedia to complain about this.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benoit from Bruxelles

Beaucoup trop surfait!

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Au premier abord semble tout a fait bucolique, mais notre chambre était au fin fond de l'hotel avec vue sur des travaux (de l'hotel). Chambre agréable mais plancher continu de chambre en chambre. Nous entendions les voisins bruyants marcher sur le sol. L'isolation des chambres n'est pas bonne du tout. D'autres voisins ont du se lever tôt et prendre leur douche, nous pensions qu'ils prenaient leur douche juste à côté de notre lit. Chouette hotel mais pour le prix, nous nous attendions à beaucoup mieux.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by robin from Portsmouth

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I took our daughter and her partner away for the Easter Sunday as a treat. Three of the four of us had a bad meal from the bar (tasteless mini burgers with a rock solid stale bap) but were offered free coffees but non of us wanted them. That night all of us were woken up at 5am by the dozens of pigeons that had occupied part of the unused hotel right outside our windows and my daughters partner had pigeons trying to get in to the window he had slightly opened to provide air in the room! My daughter called reception at 6am to complain about their room and was spoken to in such a rude manner by the night clerk. We checked out early and again complained to the acting manager, who was also rude and not helpful at all. He did say the manager would contact us on the Tuesday regarding our stay and our request for a full refund on both rooms. We are still waiting! I am very dissatisfied and would not recommend this hotel to anyone and am shocked by the total lack of customer care!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Shortage of parking on site when a wedding is on. The booking states FREE Parking but guests are expected to pay for local parking should the hotel ca
Location: Close to Canterbury town centre and transport links.
Well positioned for all things Canterbury. Very helpful staff who forewarned me regarding a possible shortage of parking spaces prior to my arrival.