Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Accommodation good for families

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Easy walking into the City centre
Cons: The very creaky floorboards on the top floor woke others. I found the meal prices to be very expensive for family dining and chose to eat out.
This is a friendly hotel that I am guessing has relatively recently had a make over; both our family room on the top floor and the public areas were clean and well decorated, albeit the bathroom was dated. All staff seen were friendly and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Period property

Posted May 23, 2017
Building a little old but they've got planning permission to extend and upgrade. If you want a traditional decor in the heart of Canterbury, this is for you. I'm looking forward to visiting again when they've done all that they plan to do. Apparently, there will be a leisure facility including a spa... love.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice setting, disappointing room

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Beautiful old abbey converted to a modern hotel, but with some unpleasant quirks, for example, a suite with only a hand-held shower, worn furniture and furnishings. Only its location, a five minute walk from the center of Canterbury, makes itvOK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

2 Night Stay

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The Hotel was on a busy road but, laying back in its own grounds, there were no noise issues. The grounds looked well kept & were pleasing to the eye.
Cons: On our short stay we could find nothing to be improved.
Location: Location was fine for us as we could walk everywhere.
We were in Canterbury on a short visit & this Hotel suited us perfectly. Nice decor & everywhere looked clean Walked to town centre leaving the car in the Hotel car park. Breakfast was extra cost but a good variety Staff were friendly & helpful. Would stay again if in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cathedral pilgrimage

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Staff very good
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Good location
Hotel in need of renovation. We were told. Building outside our window. Noisy creaking floor boards keeping us awake. We came to enjoy beautiful cathedral. Should have known about building works.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly staff and close to town

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very friendly staff on reception and a short walk to Canterbury Centre so ideal location. Bed was comfy and room was decent size. Homely feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Old-school, decent hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Via Expedia search
This is a clean, functional hotel, well priced. My single room was small(ish) but absolutely fine for my purposes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for walking into Canterbury

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Bathroom layout - could not open the bathroom door properly as the basin was behind it, swapping the radiator and basin positions would solve this.
Location: As above
An easy walking distance into Canterbury but quiet at night made this a good place to stay, and the on-site parking was good. The room was due for refurbishment which we did not know until we arrived, but was clean and comfortable. Noise from adjacent bathrooms disturbed us early in the mornings, and the room doors 'banged' when closed - we were told this would be addressed when the refurbishment took place. Being able to have an evening meal when we arrived was helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Incredibly noisy room due to being able to hear everything from the room above and next to us. Restaurant staff were helpful and very lovely but reception staff were rude. Very dated decor in the room but was comfortable and had basic facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, can walk to town

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient and good prospects.
Location: Great city and walkable from hotel. Cathedral a must. Numerous restaurants. New theatre.
Convenient hotel. Clean and room good and comfortable. Bar food ok but soggy chips!