Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice on the outside, not so nice on the inside

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Beautiful on the outside. Really nice looking. Very pleasant and courteous staff. Great location within 10 mins walking distance of the city center.
Cons: We stayed in suite 106. The mattress was horrible, very uncomfortable, as was the sofa. The room is directly above the reception desk is very noisy.
Checked in and the suite we had booked was not available, so we were given the "second best suite in the hotel" which left a lot to be desired. Room 106 is noisy (directly above reception), dark, very cold (we were there at christmas and the windows did not close properly) and uncomfortable with ugly views of the car park. The hotel staff were very nice and there is an ample breakfast with plenty of seating. Expedia gave us a small refund and comped breakfast as our room was not as described on the reservation, so we made do with the situation but I doubt we would ever return, unless the hotel underwent a complete reno, or at the very least they put new mattresses on the beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

remarkably average and very expensive.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Its location to its downstairs function room
Cons: the cost of the room vs the quality of the room
Location: n/a
Felt like we were some what exploited as it was a last minute booking due to an invitation we received late for a function at their hotel. This is a 3 star hotel that charges in line with a London 5* (not joking) £160 for an over night 3* outside of London is very steep and was definitely not worth the money....... at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Friendly, helpful staff

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Tea tastes better with fresh milk and the friendly staff were only to happy to let us have a small jug to take to our room :)
Cons: Lovely room and lovely staff so no improvements required.
Location: Leave your car, walk in, explore then enjoy a meal and couple of drinks. We ate at the seafood restaurent Chapmans which was delicious.
A good location to leave the car and walk in and explore the centre of Canterbury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

What a Gem, Great place to stay and eat.

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Everything: its situation, beautiful grounds, the atmosphere in the hotel, the welcoming attituide of all the staff. The quality of the food served.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Only 15 mins from the city centre. beautiful Canterbury Cathedral, lots of museums, very pretty old centre with special shops.
From the moment we drove into the beautiful private grounds of the hotel we knew we had made the right choice. Only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Canterbury on a busy road, so central, yet the hotel was very quiet. On entering reception we were greeted with smiling faces from all of the staff. This friendliness continued throughout the whole of our stay and created a special ambience that was palpable. The hotel was immaculately clean, our rooms were very warm, with an extra large bed, and a comfortable mattress. The bathroom was sparkling, lots of really hot water, and big fluffy towels, who could ask for more? We had both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. Breakfast buffet was delicious, with everything you could ask for. The croissants and fresh loaves were simply wonderful. Dinner was equally good and delicious. It was the birthday of one of our party, out they came with a bithday card signed by all the staff, and a box of Chocolates. This is what makes this hotel so special. We had such a wonderful time here, that we will definately be coming back again and again. Thanks to all the staff who worked so hard to make our visit so special. Belle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ines from Bad Rothenfelde

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Wir habe meine Tochter in Canterbury besucht ( mit Hund). Das Hotel war toll und die Mitarbeiter sehr, sehr freundlich!!Beim nächsten Besuch würde ich wieder dort buchen. Für unseren Hund waren im Zimmer 2 Näpfe und ein dickes Kissen vorbereitet. Sehr angenehm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton, UK

Good location

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Only stayed one night, but nearly everything about this hotel was very good. The room was spacious and clean, the staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was good, although a little expensive.The only downside was that everywhere in the hotel was very warm. Being only a 10 minute walk into Canterbury, the location could not be faulted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CHarlotte from Berkshire

Not the best choice in Canterbury

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Bed uncomfy. Like a trampoline. Our room was in roof and Pigeons on roof made noise all night. Extractor fan near window meant couldn't sleep with window open due to food smells. Free wifi was cloud which requires login. Decor very old fashioned. Not cool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Very tired hotel. Room did not appear decorated since the 80's. Mattresse worn out. All area were heated to exceptionality high temperature and room air conditioning did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Nice hotel biiiiiig issue with parking, was lucky to get the last space and the only other parking was paid for! Other than that very comfortable, nice and clean, possibly a little old fashioned but very happy to stay again. Only a 15 minute walk into town.