Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent customer service

Posted Nov 25, 2016
It was a 2 days trip. I am very glad that I chose this hotel. The staff welcomed us and next day it was my friends birthday. They decorated the room and gave is cake, which was free. The staff extremely friendly and very responsive. Great job guys!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Convenient close to road network

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Good hotel with nice breakfast for my wife lazing while waiting for me to finish work
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Great for a get away

Posted Nov 19, 2016
If you fancy a get away weekend, then this could be for you. helpful staff and a good gym which you get free membership free Wifi and parking, if you dont fancy the breakfast at the Hotel then weatherpersons is just 5 minutes walk, but I would recommend breakfast at the Hotel as its well worth the £11. Only down side is alot of road works going on in the town at the moment which makes it a little hard to get around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Historic Location, Great Channel View, Fair Room.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The location of this hotel was just amazing. There was a view of Dover Castle from the hotel's front steps, and could see the French coastline across the English Channel from the room.
Cons: The rooms were reasonable in their size and furnishings. The rooms felt more old, that being historic or classic.
Location: The Dover Castle and White Cliffs were both within walking distance. They were truly historic and impressive in their significance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the beach. Great Victorian Hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Got breakfast for free. Glad really because my wife n I are not keen on buffet. As building work in progress were offered free breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Familienzimmer sehr 'old style'

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Eher wenig Lage am Meer Was soll das? Weshalb kann ich nur eine Bewertung abgeben wenn ich ausführlich die Vorzüge beschreiben soll?
Cons: Mit viel gutem Willen könnte man sagen, dass das Familienzimmer Charme hat, wir empfanden es nur als abgewohnt und schmuddelig. Und die bei der Buchung genannte Auswahl 'Zimmer mit Aussicht' ist Definitionssache. Unsere 'Aussicht' war dem Meer abgewendet auf ein wenig ansehnliches kleines Einkaufszentrum.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel handy for visiting Dover Castle

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Old style sea-front hotel with bags of charisma!
Cons: Unfortunately the Spa was shut due to some problem the day before we arrived - disappointing as it had been on our list of wanted things at a hotel
Location: Lovely walks on harbour front. Great views all round. A short drive from Dover Castle Shops within walking distance
A lovely welcome from staff, quickly checked in. Room was a superior double with a sea view, positioned right over reception area. Great view of the harbour but couldn't use the balcony due to H&S issues. Clean and spacious room. We ate in the restaurant which had some really pleasant staff who went over an above to make it a lovely experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Seaside charm

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We stayed overnight for a quick getaway to the white cliffs. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, with great views of the sea and just over from the main pebble beach. The condition of the hotel was good, with a classic British seaside feel. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Unfortunately we were sold a room with a balcony (paid a higher price) but had no idea it's locked off and you couldn't go out onto it for safety reasons. An updated website or Expedia note on this fact would have been appreciated. Otherwise - highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The hotel is located on the waterfront with nothing else open nearby in the evening. There was a cafe next door but it closed at 5pm and that was it. So unless you want to drive somewhere to eat you have to dine in the hotel bar. The food was good though. But the place was packed as it was Friday night and they had a 2 for 1 martini night. It was standing room only. It was hard to even find a table to sit so we could eat but we finally did. You have to go to the bar yourself to order food or drinks so that took some time as everybody else was trying to do the same thing while standing at the bar. Even after you have a table don't leave your table alone because it won't be there when you get back. As a matter of fact when we got up to order a specialty coffee at the bar someone cleared off our table and sat there. So we ended up standing to finish our night cap. But I guess that's not the hotel staff's fault. The rooms themselves were very clean and comfortable but very old fashioned and small. Even the floors were slanted which they claimed at he front desk "added charm to the hotel". The bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southend on Sea

Great Location

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location , free parking available with hotel pass just one minute away
Cons: jacuzzi, swimming pool, sauna all rooms with option of bath new elevator installation
Location: Walk along the beach, white cliff of dover walk
Booked two rooms to stay there with my mother and my partner. The rooms were on different floors and when asking for rooms adjacent to each other, unfortunately none were available. It would have been great to have been given the option. My mothers room was very small, I assume because they knew only one person would be within it, however the price was the same for both of our rooms. Our room did not have a bath. Seeing as there was no swimming pool or jacuzzi as part of the Spa, I would have hoped for at least a nice hot bath at the end of the day. The hotel only has one small elevator that serves the whole building, so be careful if you have big luggage. We ate at the restaurant for dinner. It is quite expensive. We had a fish main, which was completely dry, both starters were very small and overpriced. I would recommend eating out in the town centre for better quality of food and value.