Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden

Gutes Hotel vor der Fährüberfahrt

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Wer mit der Fähre übersetzen möchte, liegt mit dem Hotel in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Fährhafen gut. Die Zimmer sind in Ordnung und sauber, erschienen uns aber schon etwas abgewohnt. Das Hotel hat zwar fünf Sterne, ist aber eher solide Mittelklasse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location but facility needs updating

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Needs to be updated and air conditioned.
Location: The downtown area and castle are within walking distance and the ferry and cruise ship docks are nearby. il Rustico is a very good restaurant.
The lacation, views, and proximity to attractions is great. However, the hotel is very old and in need of updating and upgrading. There is no air conditioning which means that we had to leave the outside patio door open to let some cool air in. This made the room very noisy to street and sidewalk noise, and the room was still to hot to sleep well. Also, the rooms are extremely small as other reviewers have noted. The staff was friendly and efficient and went out of their way to help in any way they could.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall great

Posted Jul 10, 2016
While it was a little pricey, the location is right on the water and they have a cab company on call to all the sights which was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach front Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Staff very friendly.
Cons: Mattress and room cleaning between guest leaving and new guest arriving
Location: Walked to Dover Castle, town centre, painted house.
One night stay. Wanted to see Dover Castle which was in walking distance. Breakfast was excellent. The mattress was tired and the room cleaning was not great. Staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing setting

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Right down in the harbor with views of the white cliffs and the castle. Staff is wonderful. We rented a Superior room with a balcony. The room was just big enough for a small double bed which was not comfortable. The shower is tiny. We were told other rooms were larger so avoid room 110. Sitting out on the balcony was heavenly. Dinner at the Hythe bay Seafood Restaurant was amazing. We would go back and ask for a larger room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oakville ontario

Nice end to a cruise

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Family room was a nice size and large bathroom. (Room220) It front desk is a small area with small elevator. But the staff were very accomplish with our luggage while we went to the Castle
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Excellent location and very good staff

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Great view of water
Cons: Nothing
Location: Overlooking the water not too far from city center
Easy check-in and very knowledgeable staff plenty to do close by
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Nice hotel opposite beach

Posted May 18, 2016
Had a lovely night stay at the best western Dover, staff friendly, room clean and tidy. Ate in the restaurant really nice food. Good location for the castle, port and white cliffs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Room Not available

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: nothing
Location: Dover Harbour
I didn't get to stay as the hotel was full. When i arrived at check-in, i was informed that the hotel was actually full and although they received the booking from Expedia, they would be unable to give me a room. I subsequently had to leave and find another hotel. I was told they would contact and Expedia and I would be given a full refund, But I guess they didn't. Therefore I would like my refund now please.
2 out of 5
by konstantinos from Danstable

unhappy

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
I wanted my wife to use the spa but it was fully booked. I was very disapointed. You choose a hoter on what is offering.To bad.