Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired worn hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Tired worn hotel where nothing works. Terrible experience for one night. Would not stay again. Considering this hotel chain is one of the biggest you would think you could expect an overnight stay to be a pleasant experience. Not enough staff and certain staff rude. Pool is tiny - not as the pictures. Rate for room totally not worth it. Would not stay at Marriott hotel again. Worst experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping and train.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Close to shopping, reasonable rates.
Location: Good location, 35 minutes cab from Gatwick, walking distance to shopping mall.
Hotel and staff friendly. Late arrival and missed ordering dinner by one minute, kitchen would not accommodate. Had to pick from limited room service menu, however manager waived room service charge...little disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The rooms are quite outdated.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The room is quite outdated,though well maintained and comfortable. Nothing fantastic and have to pay £7 for parking,that is outrageous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Gareth Marsh, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that your stay did not quite meet your expectations, as this is always our goal. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Gareth Marsh General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Friendly team, good selection for breakfast. Parking was fairly expensive considering location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Good spot for the neighborhood

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Clean hotel with friendly staff. Food was great! I will definitely stay here again (as long as price doesn't go crazy)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North America

North America > England

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Staff and the room
Cons: Noise outside the room (particularly near the elevator)
Location: Bexleyheath...EVERYTHING is close by! If you want it, you can get it without a problem (bus, car, train).
Hotel staff are extremely pleasant people! Once you speak to them and they notice that you are naturally very pleasant...they feel 'at ease' to open up too. The staff, throughout the hotel, can be extremely nice! They will update you on England and show an interest in where you are from. They like information too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

Visiting family living close to hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Facilities and location.
Cons: Nothing sprigs to mind.
Location: Hall Place within walking distance, easy access to trains and buses for all london attractions.
We have stayed here before and have been more than pleased. The rooms are well presented, clean, not cramped and tastefully decorated. The range of toiletries provided is excellent and replaced each day. The idea of providing a small fridge is also excellent. The spa facilities are a big plus for me. Location of the hotel gives easy access to shopping area, buses, trains, and with Hall Place within walking distance, a few hours spent there is really relaxing. I can't fault either the hotel facilities or the location and will definitely return and recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants

Good hotel for our purpose

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Location, exactly what we were looking for.
Cons: Overall the room was clean, especially the bathroom but just double check the bedroom carpets and around the curtains and under the beds.
Location: Location, easy walking distance to small shopping centre, cinema and eateries.
We chose the hotel as it was close to a wedding we attended and it was ideally located. No faults, apart from the cleanliness of our bedroom, hair and potato chips found on the carpet, but the bathroom and everywhere else was clean. The room staff were all very pleasant and greeted you when you passed them which was good. We had a fire alarm at 3am which obviously disturbed us, but it was a false alarm and switched off before we'd even left the room. By the time we woke up in the morning, there was a letter of apology for the false alarm which was a nice touch.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Deported to another hotel!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: I am unable to comment on the hotel i booked, as we were deported to another hotel due to a system error!
Cons: If i book and pay for a room in a hotel i do not expect to be deported to another hotel. Maybe contacting the customer would have helped?
Location: As we were deported to another hotel i am unable to comment!
We arrived at the hotel late in the evening to be told that there was no room for us, even though i had booked and paid for the room two months ago. We were to be deported to another hotel that was a 20 min drive away. I was extremely unhappy with this as it was very late and my 9 yr daughter wanted to go to bed, but there was nothing i could do. When pressed as to why this had happened i was told that it was due to a system error! Completely unacceptable. I was promised a refund but twelve days later, none has materialized. Please avoid!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Gareth Marsh, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am so sorry for the situation you were faced with and the inconvenience this must have caused. We would never wish to have any guest be in this situation and I can only apologise that it happened to you. I will ensure your refund is processed as quickly as possible and hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Gareth Marsh General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Noisy

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Really comfortable beds and nice rooms but don't expect much sleep if they have a wedding on or if you are put in a room overlooking the courtyard. We heard a constant humming all night and when there was a wedding I could hear the music until past midnight
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Gareth Marsh, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you for your comments and I sincerely apologise that your sleep was disturbed by outside noise and other guests during your stay. We endeavour to ensure all guests have the most peaceful stay possible. I do hope we can welcome you back in future. Sincerely, Gareth Marsh General Manager